Search

E-learning in further training for doctors.



E-learning in further training for doctors. The potential of online communities for informal and self-organised learning.

  • Due to the progress in medicine, information technology and communication technology, doctors will increasingly be required to qualify themselves in the years to come. In addition, the structure of patients, due to the demographic change, will undergo great changes. As a consequence, doctors will have to adapt themselves to new professional conditions and require special qualifications.
  • The response of health politics to the qualification requirements has consisted in laying down a statutory regulation (duty for doctors to undergo further training measures). On the other hand, further training measures have always been voluntary and are firmly rooted as a moral obligation in medical ethics and the licence of doctors to practice the medical profession.
  • New media for learning purposes (E-learning) are increasingly being used in further training measures for doctors. Due to the statutory regulations which have recently been introduced, favourable frame conditions have been created for didactically and psychologically rather simple E-learning solutions in the form of web-based trainings (WBT) which are characterised by the term online-CME (Continuing Medical Education).
  • By contrast, there exist innovative E-learning projects in the form of online communities supporting doctors to find solutions to common medical problems. Doctors have often complained about lacking opportunities to meet like-minded or to regularly attend in-class lectures. A solution to these problems may consist in online communities as informal, self-organised learning forms.
  • The project deals with the obligation and/or will to attend further training measures, as well as the comparison of formal and informal learning processes.

Scientists

Suche

E-Learning in der Ärztefortbildung



E-Learning in der Ärztefortbildung. Das Potenzial von Online-Communities für informelles, arbeitsplatznahes und selbstorganisiertes Lernen

  • Aufgrund des Fortschritts in der Medizin und des Fortschritts in der Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologie wird der Qualifizierungsbedarf seitens der Ärzteschaft in den nächsten Jahren enorm ansteigen. Zusätzlich wird sich zukünftig ein stark verändertes Patientenbild zeigen, welches vor allem durch den demographischen Wandel ausgelöst werden wird. Folglich müssen sich Ärzte neuen beruflichen Bedingungen anpassen und qualifizieren.
  • Gesundheitspolitisch wurde auf den Qualifizierungsbedarf mit einer gesetzlichen Regelung (Fortbildungspflicht für Ärzte) für Ärztefortbildung reagiert. Auf der anderen Seite findet Ärztefortbildung seit jeher freiwillig statt und ist als moralische Pflicht bereits in der Medizinethik und der Zulassung zur Ausübung des Arztberufes verankert.
  • In letzter Zeit werden neue Medien zu Lernzwecken (E-Learning) in der Ärztefortbildung verstärkt eingesetzt. Die jüngst eingeführten gesetzlichen Regelungen schufen günstige Rahmenbedingungen für das Aufkommen von didaktisch und lernpsychologisch eher simplen E-Learning-Lösungen in Form von Web-Based-Trainings (WBT), welche in der Ärztefortbildung derzeit durch den Begriff Online-CME (Continuing Medical Education) geprägt sind.
  • Im Gegensatz dazu gibt es in der Ärztefortbildung innovative E-Learning Projekte in Form von Online-Communities, die die Lösung gemeinschaftlicher medizinischer Probleme unterstützen. Ärzte berichten häufig vom fehlenden Kontakt zu Gleichgesinnten und der begrenzten Möglichkeit, regelmäßig an Präsenzveranstaltungen teilzunehmen. Online-Communities als informelle, arbeitsplatznahe und selbstorganisierte Lernformen könnten hierfür ein neuer Lösungsweg sein.
  • Das Projekt befasst sich mit den Gegenpolen Fortbildungspflicht und Fortbildungswille sowie dem Vergleich von formalen und informellen Lernprozessen.

Projektbeteiligte