Profile

The Institute for Theoretical Medicine is a focal point for systematic basic biomedical research at the University of Augsburg. Through close cooperation between the disciplines, small and large functional systems are to be researched equally with the aim of achieving a comprehensive understanding of the human organism and its diseases. Furthermore, the cooperation with clinical and clinical-theoretical medicine is of great importance. The aim is to transfer new findings from basic research to a clinical setting, and, on the other hand, to take up questions and findings from clinical medicine in basic research. The Institute comprises the Chair of Anatomy and Cell Biology, the Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, the Chair of Physiology and the Chair of Medical Psychology and Sociology.

BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

Chairs

Chair of Anatomy and Cell Biology

One research focus of the chair is "Neurobiology of environmentally induced metabolic diseases": How does the brain control eating behaviour? And why do too many calories damage the brain in the long run? Pathological overweight and chronically elevated blood sugar levels can cause inflammatory processes in the brain and probably lead to the premature death of nerve cells. Artificial additives and harmful substances in food and their effect on the nervous system are also of great interest in this context.

Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Research at the chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology focuses mainly on proteases. These are enzymes that can “cut up” other proteins. They are of crucial importance for the development and diagnosis of numerous diseases, for example diseases of the digestive system. A special group of proteases is active in the membrane of body cells and is involved, for example, in the development of Alzheimer's disease, infection with hepatitis viruses or malaria. The investigation of possible influences of these proteases on tumour development and metastasis as well as on sugar metabolism and thus on possible effects linked to diabetes is a great challenge.

 

 

Chair of Medical Psychology and Sociology

Research at the Chair of Medical Psychology and Sociology is conducted at the interface of medicine and psychology. One focus of research is the vicious circle of cognitive decline and pain in old age. Chronic pain has a negative impact on neuropsychological performance, such as attention, memory, speech or the ability to solve problems. At the same time, cognitive decline in older people is a risk factor for the development of chronic pain.

Chair of Physiology

Research at the chair of Physiology is primarily focused on questions of blood circulation. On the one hand, the focus is on the regulation mechanisms which ensure, for example, that the blood supply to the brain or muscles is increased during thinking or sporting activities. Another focus of research at this chair are the disturbances in the functioning of blood vessels which occur in many diseases, such as high blood pressure and diabetes.

Search

Profil

Das Institut für Theoretische Medizin ist ein Kristallisationspunkt für systematische Grundlagenforschung in der Biomedizin an der Universität Augsburg. Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit der Disziplinen sollen kleine und große Funktionssysteme gleichermaßen erforscht werden mit dem Ziel, zu einem umfassenden Verständnis des menschlichen Organismus und seiner Erkrankungen zu gelangen. Eine große Bedeutung hat darüber hinaus die Kooperation mit der klinischen und klinisch-theoretischen Medizin. Es geht darum, neue Erkenntnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung in die Klinik zu übertragen und auf der anderen Seite Fragen und Erkenntnisse aus der klinischen Medizin auch in der Grundlagenforschung aufzugreifen. Das Institut umfasst den Lehrstuhl für Anatomie und Zellbiologie, den Lehrstuhl für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie, den Lehrstuhl für Physiologie sowie den Lehrstuhl für Medizinische Psychologie und Soziologie.

BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

Lehrstühle

Lehrstuhl für Anatomie und Zellbiologie

Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt des Lehrstuhls lautet„Neurobiologie umweltbedingter Stoffwechselerkrankungen“: Wie steuert das Gehirn das Essverhalten? Und warum schädigen zu viele Kalorien auf Dauer das Gehirn? Krankhaftes Übergewicht und chronisch erhöhte Blutzuckerwerte können entzündliche Prozesse im Gehirn hervorrufen und Nervenzellen wahrscheinlich frühzeitig absterben lassen. Auch künstliche Zusatz- und Schadstoffe in Lebensmitteln und deren Auswirkung auf das Nervensystem sind in diesem Zusammenhang von entscheidendem Interesse.

Lehrstuhl für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie

Die Forschung am Augsburger Lehrstuhl für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie konzentriert sich vor allem auf Proteasen. Das sind Enzyme, die andere Proteine „zerschneiden“ können. Sie sind von entscheidender Bedeutung für die Entstehung und Diagnose von zahlreichen Krankheiten, beispielsweise von Erkrankungen Verdauungssystems. Eine besondere Gruppe von Proteasen ist in der Membran von Körperzellen aktiv und z. B. an der Entstehung der Alzheimer-Erkrankung, der Infektion mit Hepatitis-Viren oder Malaria beteiligt. Die Erforschung möglicher Einflüsse dieser Proteasen auf die Tumorentstehung und -metastasierung sowie auf den Zuckerstoffwechsel und damit auf mögliche Auswirkungen im Rahmen einer Diabetes-Erkrankung ist eine große Herausforderung.

 

 

Lehrstuhl für Medizinische Psychologie und Soziologie

Am Lehrstuhl für Medizinische Psychologie und Soziologie wird an der Schnittstelle von Medizin und Psychologie geforscht. Ein Schwerpunkt der Forschung beschäftigt sich mit dem Teufelskreis von kognitivem Abbau und Schmerz im Alter. Chronische Schmerzen wirken sich negativ auf neuropsychologische Leistungen aus, also etwa auf Aufmerksamkeit, Gedächtnis, Sprache oder auf die Fähigkeit zum Problemlösen. Gleichzeitig ist ein kognitiver Abbau bei älteren Personen ein Risikofaktor für die Entwicklung von chronischen Schmerzen.

Lehrstuhl für Physiologie

Am Augsburger Lehrstuhl für Physiologie wird primär zu Fragen der Durchblutung geforscht. Im Zentrum stehen dabei zum einen die Mechanismen der Regulation, die z. B. dafür sorgen, dass Gehirn oder Muskulatur beim Denken bzw. bei sportlicher Betätigung stärker durchblutet werden. Ein weiteres an diesem Lehrstuhl im Mittelpunkt stehendes Forschungsthema sind Störungen der Funktion von Blutgefäßen, wie sie bei Volkskrankheiten wie Bluthochdruck und Diabetes entstehen.

Suche