Prof. Dr. Regina Fluhrer

Head of chair
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Phone: +49 (0) 821 598-2069
Email:
Room: 1010 Haus 10 F (SHS)
Address: Werner-von-Siemens-Straße 6 (Sigma Technopark), 86159 Augsburg

Vita

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Regina Fluhrer studied food chemistry at Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) and the Technical University of Munich (TUM). As part of her doctorate (2000–2003) at the Institute of Metabolic Biochemistry at the LMU in Munich, she examined the catalytic specificities of the two aspartyl proteases BACE-1 (ß-site APP cleaving enzyme), a key factor in the development of Alzheimer's disease, and BACE-2. As a postdoctoral researcher (2003–2005), Prof. Fluhrer became increasingly interested in intramembrane proteases. She completed her postdoctoral qualification in 2008 and since then headed a research group at the LMU and the German Center for Neurodegenerative Diseases (DZNE) with focus on the function of the signal peptide-peptidase family (SPP / SPPL).

For her research achievements, she received the Böhringer Ingelheim APOPIS Prize for Young Scientists. From 2006 to 2019, Prof. Fluhrer was responsible for the education of medical students in biochemistry and molecular biology at the LMU.

Since April 2019, she holds the Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology at the newly founded Faculty of Medicine at the University of Augsburg. She is involved in numerous committees for the further development of the medical curriculum and was awarded the prize for good teaching by the Bavarian Minister of State in 2012.

Research Focuses

The research of the newly founded chair focuses on proteolytic processes taking place in cellular membranes. Therefore, future research projects will deal with the function of intramembrane proteases in connection with the development of diseases such as Alzheimer, immune disorders or cancer.

Furthermore, the research will focus on how various environmental influences and eating habits affect these proteases.

Search

Prof. Dr. Regina Fluhrer

Lehrstuhlinhaberin
Biochemie und Molekularbiologie
Telefon: +49 (0) 821 598-2069
E-Mail: regina.fluhrer@med.uni-augsburg.de
Raum: 1010 Haus 10 F (SHS)
Adresse: Werner-von-Siemens-Straße 6 (Sigma Technopark), 86159 Augsburg

Vita

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Regina Fluhrer studierte Lebensmittelchemie an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU) und der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Im Rahmen ihrer Promotion (2000–2003) am Institut für Stoffwechselbiochemie der LMU München untersuchte sie die katalytischen Spezifitäten der beiden Aspartylproteasen BACE-1 (ß-site APP cleaving enzyme), einem Schlüsselfaktor bei der Entstehung der Alzheimererkrankung, und BACE-2. Als Postdoktorandin (2003–2005) begann Prof. Fluhrer sich zunehmend für Intramembranproteasen zu interessieren. 2008 schloss sie ihre Habilitationsarbeit ab und leitete bis 2019 eine wissenschaftliche Arbeitsgruppe an der LMU München sowie am Deutschen Zentrum für Neurodegenerative Erkrankungen (DZNE), die sich schwerpunktmäßig mit der Funktion der Signalpeptid-Peptidase-Familie (SPP/SPPL) beschäftigt.

Für ihre Forschungsarbeiten erhielt sie den Böhringer-Ingelheim-APOPIS-Preis für Nachwuchswissenschaftler. Von 2006 bis 2019 leitete Prof. Fluhrer hauptverantwortlich die Seminare der Biochemie/Molekularbiologie für Studierende der Human- und Zahnmedizin an der LMU München.

Seit April 2019 ist sie Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Biochemie und Molekularbiologie an der neu gegründeten medizinischen Fakultät der Universität Augsburg. Sie engagiert sich in zahlreichen Gremien für die Weiterentwicklung des medizinischen Curriculums und wurde dafür 2012 mit dem Preis für gute Lehre des bayerischen Staatsministers ausgezeichnet.

Forschungsschwerpunkte

  • Die Forschung des neu gegründeten Lehrstuhles beschäftigt sich schwerpunktmäßig mit Proteolyse-Vorgängen, die in zellulären Membranen stattfinden. 
  • Künftige Forschungsprojekte werden sich daher u.a. mit der Funktion von Intramembranproteasen im Zusammenhang mit der Entwicklung dieser Erkrankungen beschäftigen.
  • Weiterhin werden wir untersuchen, wie sich verschiedene Umwelteinflüsse und Ernährungsgewohnheiten auf diese Proteasen auswirken.

Suche