Lab Equipment

The imwk research laboratory brings together five units equipped with cutting-edge technology for researching qualitative and quantitative questions in communication and media science.

 

ExperimentalLab

The imwk research laboratory is equipped with a large monitor and a comfortable armchair to allow for an authentic reception experience. Three different methodological areas can be used in the research: Psychophysiological measurement methods, eye-tracking and computer-supported experiments with hand buttons for RTR measurements.

 

(1) Physiological Measuring Stations

A Biopac MP 150 system with modules for measuring ECG, EMG, EDA and respiration is used to record psychophysiological processes.

 

ECG - Electrocardiogram to record heart activity

The ECG can be used to record cognitive processing. Depending on the research interest, it is possible to examine individual areas, such as attention, orientation reactions or the reception or rejection of information.

 

EMG - Electromyogram to measure muscle activity

In the field of communication science, the EMG is mainly used to measure facial muscle activity. This provides information about the valence (positive - negative) of emotional experience.

 

EDA - Electrodermal activity of the skin

By changing the bioelectric properties of the skin (e.g. conductivity of electrical impulses) it is possible to study the activation state of the human body. The degree of so-called arousal becomes particularly interesting when examining the intensity of the emotional experience during the reception of exciting media content, for instance.

 

Respiration

In addition to measuring bioelectric signals, the respiratory rate can also be recorded. Since emotional and cognitive processing also affect breathing, this method provides a meaningful complement to the other physiological measurements.

 

Eye Tracking

The imwk research laboratory also has an eye-tracking monitor that can be used to examine gaze and reading behaviour, for example when using different websites.

 

Computer Lab with Experimental Software

The programs MediaLab and DirectRT allow for the performance of computer-assisted experiments. Handheld RTR measurement devices can be used to record attention processes.

 

Contact

 

(2) Computer-aided Experiments

20 research notebooks with the MediaLab and DirectRT programs, as well as handheld RTR measurement buttons enable the performance of experimental studies with reaction time or real time response measurements.

 

Contact

 

MediaLab

(3) Cross-media Lab

Equipped with four high-performance computers, the objective behind this laboratory is the development of new cross-media formats that serve convergent journalism and the study of changing patterns of media use under multi-channel conditions (online and mobile).

 

Contact

 

 (4) CATI Studio

The four CATI (Computer Assisted Telephone Interview) workstations are equipped with CATI software and soundproof headsets (headphones and microphones). They are used for telephone interviews.

 

Contact

 

 (5) Stationary and Mobile Eye Tracking

The Eye Tracking Station is equipped with an Eye Tracking Monitor and Eye Tracking Goggles. While the monitor is used to examine the gaze and reading behavior, for example when using different websites, the mobile glasses can be used to examine the gaze behavior when mobile media are used in public spaces.

 

Contact

 

(6) Qualitative Research Stations

Extensive recording and evaluation infrastructures are available to record group discussions etc. and to observe the handling of e.g. media and new formats.  The transcription program "f4 transcript" is also available for use - lecturer and teaching licenses can be purchased. For evaluation, the latest versions of the "MaxQDA" and "IBM SPSS Statistics" programs are also available.

 

Contact

 

VirtuaLab

(7) Virtual and Augmented Reality Technology

The VirtuaLab features state-of-the-art virtual and augmented reality technology that can be used both stationary and mobile. In addition to two sets of VR glasses (HTC Vive) and one set of AR-glasses (Microsoft HoloLens2), the lab is equipped with high-performance computers and laptops to operate the data glasses.

The lab facilities also include software for recording virtual sessions and a 360-degree camera for recording and evaluating the VR/AR use. The VirtuaLab is also equipped with various notebooks, iPhones (8 and X) and iPads to analyse mobile media appropriation and communication practices.

 

Contact

 

GameLab

(8) Gaming Station with PS4 console, High-end Gaming PC and Steam library

The GameLab currently has a high-end gaming PC, a Playstation 4 Pro for 4K recordings and a 55" flat screen TV. The game library (Steam) is continuously updated and provides a wide selection of single and multiplayer games that can be played individually or in groups. The GameLab also features a wide range of hardware and software for recording individual and collective gaming experiences.

 

Contact

 

ObservationLab

(8) Mangold Mobile Observation Lab

The "Mangold Mobil Observation Lab" provides a mobile recording and evaluation laboratory. It can be used for group discussions, interviews with experts and focus groups as well as for participating observations in order to record synchronized video and audio material. With the help of the Mangold Interact evaluation software, facial expressions and gestures can also be evaluated automatically.

 

Contact

 

 

Search

Laborausstattung

Das Forschungslabor des imwk vereint fünf Einheiten, die über moderne Technik zur Erforschung qualitativer und quantitativer Fragestellungen der Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaft verfügen.

 

Experimentallabor

Das imwk-Forschungslabor ist mit einem großen Monitor und einem bequemen Sessel ausgestattet, sodass ein

authentisches Rezeptionserlebnis möglich ist. Im Rahmen der Untersuchung können drei verschiedene Methodenbereiche zum Einsatz kommen: Psychophysiologische Messmethoden, Eye-Tracking und computergestützte Experimente mit Handtastern für RTR-Messungen.

(1) Physiologische Messstationen
Um psychophysiologische Prozesse aufzuzeichnen wird ein Biopac MP 150 System mit Modulen zur Messung von EKG, EMG, EDA und Respiration eingesetzt. 

EKG - Elektrokardiogramm zur Aufzeichnung der Herzaktivität
Das EKG kann dazu eingesetzt werden, kognitive Verarbeitungsprozesse zu erfassen. Je nach Forschungsinteresse ist es möglich, einzelne Bereiche wie Aufmerksamkeit, Orientierungsreaktionen oder auch die Aufnahme bzw. Ablehnung von Informationen zu untersuchen.

EMG - Elektromyogramm zur Messung von Muskelaktivität
Im Bereich der Kommunikationswissenschaft wird das EMG vor allem zur Messung der Gesichtsmuskelaktivität eingesetzt. Diese gibt Auskunft über die Valenz (positiv - negativ) von emotionalem Erleben.

EDA - Elektrodermale Aktivität der Haut
Über die Änderung der bioelektrischen Eigenschaft der Haut (z.B. Leitfähigkeit elektrischer Impulse) ist es möglich, den Aktivierungszustand des menschlichen Körpers zu untersuchen. Der Grad des sogenannten Arousals wird vor allem dann interessant, wenn die Intensität des emotionalen Erlebens während der Rezeption von beispielsweise spannenden Medieninhalten untersucht werden soll.

Respiration
Neben der Messung bioelektrischer Signale kann auch die Atemfrequenz erfasst werden. Da sich emotionale und kognitive Verarbeitungsprozesse auch auf die Atmung auswirken, ergänzt diese Methode die anderen physiologischen Messungen in sinnvoller Weise.

Eyetracking
Das imwk-Forschungslabor verfügt auch über einen Eyetracking-Monitor, mit dem das Blick- und Leseverhalten zum Beispiel bei der Verwendung von unterschiedlichen Webseiten untersucht werden kann.

Computerlabor mit Experimentalsoftware
Die Programme MediaLab und DirectRT ermöglichen die Durchführung computergestützter Experimente. Für die Erfassung von Aufmerksamkeits-prozessen können Handtaster zur RTR-Messung eingesetzt werden.

 

Kontakt


 

 

(2) Computergestützte Experimente
20 Forschungsnotebooks mit den Programmen MediaLab und DirectRT sowie Handtaster zur RTR-Messung ermöglichen die Durchführung experimenteller Studien mit Reaktionszeit- oder Real-Time-Response-Messungen.

 

Kontakt

 

Medialabor

 

(3) Crossmedia-Labor

Das mit vier Hochleistungscomputern ausgestattete Forschungslabor dient der Entwicklung neuer crossmedialer Formate sowie der Erforschung veränderter Mediennutzungsmuster unter Vielkanalbedingungen (v.a. Online und Mobile).

 

Kontakt

 

(4) CATI-Studio

Die vier CATI-Plätze (Computer Assisted Telephone Interview) sind mit CATI-Software sowie schallhemmenden Headsets (Kopfhörer und Mikrophone) ausgestattet. Sie werden für Telefonbefragungen eingesetzt.

 

Kontakt

 

(5) Stationäres und mobiles Eyetracking

Das imwk-Forschungslabor verfügt über einen Eyetracking-Monitor und eine Eyetracking-Brille. Während mit dem Monitor das Blick- und Leseverhalten zum Beispiel bei der Verwendung von unterschiedlichen Webseiten untersucht wird, kann die mobile Brille das Blickverhalten bei der mobilen Mediennutzung im öffentlichen Raum untersuchen.

 

Kontakt

 

(6) Qualitative Forschungsstationen

Um Gruppendiskussionen etc. aufzuzeichnen und den Umgang z.B. mit Medien und neuen Formaten zu beobachten, liegen umfangreiche Aufzeichnungs- und Auswertungsinfrastrukturen vor.  Zurückgegriffen werden kann auf das Transkriptionsprogramm „f4 transkript“ - bei aktuellem Bedarf werden Dozenten- sowie Lehrlizenzen angeschafft. Zur Auswertung stehen die Programme „MaxQDA“ und „IBM SPSS Statistics“ in der jeweils aktuellen Version zur Verfügung.

 

Kontakt

 

VirtuaLab

(7) Virtual und Augmented Reality Technologie

Das VirtuaLab verfügt über hochmoderne Virtual und Augmented Reality Technologie, die sowohl stationär als auch mobil eingesetzt werden kann. Neben zwei VR-Brillen (HTC Vive) und einer AR-Brille (Microsoft HoloLens2) stehen leistungsstarke Computer und Laptops zur Verfügung, mit denen die Datenbrillen betrieben werden können.

 

Das Equipment umfasst außerdem Software zur Aufzeichnung virtueller Sessions und eine 360-Grad-Kamera mit dem die VR-/AR-Nutzung aufgenommen und ausgewertet werden kann. Das VirtuaLab enthält zudem verschiedene Notebooks, iPhones (8 und X) und iPads, um mobile Medienaneignung und Kommunikationspraktiken zu analysieren.

 

Kontakt

 

GameLab

(8) Gamingstation mit PS4-Konsole, High-End-Gaming PC und Steam-Bibliothek

Das GameLab verfügt derzeit über einen High-End-Gaming PC, eine Playstation 4 Pro für Aufnahmen in 4K sowie einen 55‘‘ Flachbildfernseher. Die Spielebibliothek (Steam) wird kontinuierlich aktualisiert und stellt eine große Auswahl von Single und Multiplayer Games bereit, die sowohl einzeln als auch in Gruppen gespielt werden können. Das GameLab enthält zudem ein breites Spektrum an Hard- und Software zur Aufzeichnung individueller und kollektiver Spielerlebnisse.

 

Kontakt

 

ObservationLab
 

(8) Mangold Mobil Observation Lab

Mit dem "Mangold Mobil Observation Lab" steht ein mobiles Aufzeichnungs- und Auswertungslabor zur Verfügung. Dieses kann für Gruppendiskussionen, Interviews mit Expert_innen und Fokusgruppen sowie für teilnehmende Beobachtungen eingesetzt werden um Video- und Audiomaterial synchronisiert aufzunehmen. Mit Hilfe der Mangold Interact Auswertungssoftware können Mimik und Gestik zudem automatisiert ausgewertet werden.

 

Kontakt

 

 

Suche