June 5, 2023

Mitarbeiterin / Mitarbeiter (m/w/d), Mathematisch-Naturwissenschaftlich-Technische Fakultät

Institut für Physik / Zentrum für Elektronische Korrelationen und Magnetismus


Bewerbungsschluss: 3. Juli 2023

Read more
May 26, 2023

DFG Collaborative Research Centre for the Investigation of New Quantum Materials

A major new research project led by the University of Augsburg with the Technical Univer-sity Munich (TUM) as partner is dedicated to a key topic of the future: the research and de-velopment of new types of materials whose properties are characterised by quantum ef-fects. In the long term, they could serve as the basis for very powerful computers. The University of Augsburg is involved in another three Collaborative Research Centres.
Read more
atomic force microscope
April 26, 2023

Jobtalks: Berufswege MINT: Mathematik - Informatik - Physik - Material Sc. - Wing

Im SS23 haben wir mehrere Jobtalks für Studierende der MNTF und FAI, die Bewerufswege von Alumni aufzeigen und spannende Einblicke in Tätigkeitsfelder geben. Im Anschluss bietet sich die Möglichkeit in lockerer Runde individuelle Fragen zu klären und sich persönlich auszutauschen.

Mi,  03. Mai 23 (17:30 Uhr) - Frontend-Entwicklung
Do, 11. Mai 23
(17:30 Uhr) - Backend-Entwicklung
Di,  16. Mai 23 (18:00 Uhr) - Berufswege Physik - Material Sc. - Wing

Mo, 22. Mai 23 (18:00 Uhr) - Berufswege Mathematik 

Mo, 15. Mai 23 (17:30 Uhr) - Data Sience
Di,   23. Mai 23
(17:30 Uhr) - Penetration Testing

Nutzen Sie die Abende für Berufsorientierung und Netzwerkbildung.

Feb. 14, 2023

Quantum Technology and Information Processing

The Centre of Advanced Analytics and Predictive Sciences (CAAPS), which brings together data-gathering and data-processing research as part of a new multidisciplinary centre at the University of Augsburg, is hosting a colloquium on the 23rd of February 2023. The colloquium features two internationally renowned guest speakers in the fields of quantum science and quantum computing.

Read more
Building of University of Augsburg
Feb. 6, 2023

Universalities at the glass transition

In a recently published article in the leading physics journal "Nature Physics", a team of researchers with the participation of the University of Augsburg reports about unexpectedly universal correlations between the thermal expansion and the glass-transition temperature of glass-forming materials, providing new insights into the complex nature of the transition from the liquid into the solid glass.

Read more
Glasproduktion: heißes Glas leuchtet orange
Jan. 19, 2023

Prof. Dr Peter Hänggi awarded the 2023 Lars Onsager Prize

As Professor Emeritus of Theoretical Physics at the University of Augsburg, Professor Hänggi has received the award in recognition of his contributions to the development of the Brownian motor and his pioneering contributions to statistical non-equilibrium physics, relativistic thermodynamics, and quantum thermodynamics.

Read more
Porträt von Preisträger Professor Hänggi

Executive Director

Theoretical Physics I

Deputy Executive Director

Experimental Physics VI

Dean of Studies Physics

Prof. Dr. Leo van Wüllen
Chemical Physics and Materials Science

Student advisor

Group Leader Nanoscale Functional Oxides
Experimental Physics IV

Assistant to the Institute

Dr. Tobias Stegmüller
Experimental Physics I

General contact information:

Universität Augsburg
Institut für Physik

Universitätsstraße 1
86159 Augsburg

Telephone: +49 821 598 -3332 (department administration)

Fax: +49 821 598 -3318



Building: R + S

© University of Augsburg