The University of Augsburg is a comparatively young university. It was founded in 1970 by the Free State of Bavaria as a “Reformuniversität”( Reform university). The university has successfully used the associated opportunities to develop dynamically and orientate its own profile to the challenges of the present and future.
Initially concentrating on law, economics, social sciences and the humanities, the University of Augsburg has continually added and developed promising fields of natural and technical sciences. Since the establishment of its eighth faculty, a medical faculty, the university offers a complete spectrum of subjects and study programmes.

Network University

This expansion was and is accompanied by the university honing its profile in research and teaching. Through interdepartmental and interfaculty areas of focus and networking, the University of Augsburg, with its interdisciplinary research expertise, can today contribute convincingly to answering the big, complex issues of the present and future – on a national and international level.

Wide range of courses

This benefits not least the 20,000 students in approximately 40 undergraduate Bachelor’s and State Examination programmes and 50 Master’s degree programmes. The research-based study programmes open the way to scientific careers as well as providing the best qualifications for entry into professional practice on the academic labour market.

Campus with a park

Research and teaching benefit from the amenities that a campus university entails. Apart from the Medical Faculty, all facilities are in a compact location south of Augsburg city centre, which includes a spacious park landscape including a "Uni-See" (university pond), . Short distances ensure both easy exchanges between researchers, but also good conditions for students.

Attractive region

As a medium-sized city with a meaningful past and a booming present, and as a metropolis of an attractive region in the Alpine foothills, Augsburg itself offers all those who study and work here a particularly high quality of life. In addition to the varied cultural and leisure activities, the region also offers graduates attractive career opportunities.


Image-Flyer of the University of Augsburg

With now eight faculties and a brand new medical centre, the University of Augsburg is striving to deal with the major issues of our time in teaching and science:How can we adapt to climate change? Where does artificial intelligence benefit our society? How must children learn today to be fit for the future?


Learn more about studying, researching and working at the University of Augsburg.


Image-Flyer in German   Image-Flyer in English

Portraitbild der Präsidentin Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering-Manteuffel
To develop solutions to the urgent questions of our time, the University of Augsburg brings together knowledge from different disciplines. Through interdisciplinary exchange, it aims to generate the new impulses and synergies of a network university.

Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering-Manteuffel, Präsidentin der Universität Augsburg


The University of Augsburg was founded in 1970 as a reform university and started its teaching and research work with an Economics and Social Sciences Department. Due to steady growth, the university today includes eight faculties with over 20,000 enrolled students.

Building site of the university campus in 1974/75


With a variety of partnerships and cooperations with more than 80 universities worldwide and about 320 Erasmus exchange agreements, the University of Augsburg has a strong international network in both research and teaching.


Mission statement

The University of Augsburg was founded by the Free State of Bavaria as a reform university. According to its motto "Scientia et Conscientia," its aim is to increase knowledge conscientiously through research, teaching and studies and to take social responsibility for such knowledge.

Siegel der Universität

Honours & Awards

The University of Augsburg honours special achievements in science and society with prizes and honorary titles. Recipients of such prizes and titles are scientists, members of the university and personalities who are associated with it. The faculties reward outstanding academic achievements with an honorary doctorate.