About us (The Society)

The “International Society for Historical and Systematic Research On Schoolbooks e.V.” was founded in 1997 under the chairmanship of Prof. Dr. Dr. Werner Wiater (professor for the theory of school education at the University of Augsburg) as a scientific society. Its goal is to further the interdisciplinary, historical and systematic research on textbooks on a large scale and to bring its importance to public attention. By means of regular conferences and publications (see below), the society wants to offers a forum for researchers on textbooks, also for young scientists; it offers the opportunity to apply single investigations more effectively to each other, to link them, and to discuss them in an international context. Theoretical and methodical issues with regard to the research on textbooks are considered, and problems connected with the development and the revision of textbooks are discussed. Furthermore, the society is keen to inspire a dialogue about textbooks between researchers, authors and publishers, teachers, pupils, and the interested public.


In 2013, the society has assumed the name „International Society for the Historical and Systematic Research on Textbooks and Educational Media e.V.“ Thus, it takes account of the fact that teaching and learning media are increasingly available in other than printed versions, especially digitally, and are used likewise. It shall be obvious from the name that researchers of all kinds of educational media are very welcome to take part in the activities of the society.


By the end of 2018, the Society was renamed as "International Society for Research on Textbooks and Educational Media e.V.", in order to emphasize that it is open to all kinds of disciplinary and methodological approaches.


Since the foundation of the society at the “Bavarian School Museum” in Ichenhausen, an annual conference has been held at which – under a conference topic – the results of research on textbooks are presented and discussed. The seat of the society is the University of Augsburg. The conferences take place at various places and in different countries.


The papers of the conferences are published in the series “Contributions to the Historical and Systematic Research On Schoolbooks” (Verlag Julius Klinkhardt), which is edited by Bente Aamotsbakken, Marc Depaepe, Carsten Heinze, Eva Matthes, Sylvia Schütze, and Werner Wiater.


At the moment, the society has about 110 members, most of them from Germany, but also from Albania, Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Great Britain, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, the Netherlands,  Norway, Poland, Russia, Sweden, Switzerland, Serbia, Slovenia, and Spain.



Present members of the managing board:


President: Prof. Dr. Eva Matthes 

(University of Augsburg) 



© University of Augsburg

Vice President: Prof. Dr. Dr. Jan Van Wiele
(Tilburg University, The Netherlands) 


© University of Augsburg

Treasurer: Sylvia Schütze 
(University of Bielefeld) 




The “International Society for Research On Textbooks and Educational Media” is entitled to certify donations which are contributed to her for scientific purposes.


New members are always welcome to the society.


A registration form for the membership can be downloaded .


The membership fee is 30,– € p.a. (reduced fee: 15,– € p.a. for students and low-earners).


Please send your signed registration form per mail, fax or e-mail (as scan) to:


Prof. Dr. Eva Matthes
Universität Augsburg
Lehrstuhl für Pädagogik
Universitätsstr. 10
86159 Augsburg

Fax: 0049–821–5985630