Evaluation of Academic Performance at the University of Augsburg

  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System

The abbreviation “ECTS” stands for European Credit Transfer System. This is a uniform, Europe- wide and therefore transferrable evaluation program for the amount of work involved in individual course units. ECTS credit points indicate the amount of work that is necessary to reach an identified learning goal. This includes the actual lecture/seminar, practical exercises (like lab work, if applicable), and the necessary pre- and post-course work preparation. One ECTS credit point is equal to 25-30 hours of work according to a resolution by the Ministry of Education and the Arts. Students receive a previously agreed upon amount of ECTS credit points for every successfully completed module exam or partial-module exam, all of which are added together throughout the entire course of study.

Important: ECTS credit points have nothing to do with grades/marks!

The number of credits that are given out for a module at the University of Augsburg can be found in the respective module manual (course offerings) of each course of study.

  • Duration of Studies

According to the Bologna Reform, students should complete 30 ECTS credit points every semester. In relation to a three-year Bachelor program this means a total of 180 Credits, in a one year Master program 60 Credits, and in a two year Master program 120 credits.

  • Credit Points and Grades

The total number of credit points is completely independent from the grade/mark that is awarded. Course work is therefore evaluated irrespectively of the amount of credit points intended to be awarded. The German grading scale is used for this evaluation.

The conventional grading scale in Germany evaluates the actual performance and quality of work completed by the student. Students are not ranked in comparison to others (like with ECTS), but instead graded solely on their individual performance.

  • The Grading Scale at the University of Augsburg

The grading scale was adopted from the traditional German school grading system with grades 1-5. The smaller the number, the better the grade. For a more precise differentiation, every grade can be increased or decreased by a notation of 0.3. The guidelines of the respective examination regulations are in general conclusive.

An exam with the grade of 4.0 is considered to be passing.

Academic Grading Scale

University of Augsburg
Grading System

Grading System
(Letter Grades)

1,0 / 1,3 very good

A+ / A / A- very good

1,7 / 2,0 / 2,3 good B+ / B / B- good
2,7 / 3,0/ 3,3 satisfactory C+ / C / C- satisfactory
3,7 / 4,0 sufficient D+ / D sufficient
4,3 / 4,7 / 5,0 fail F fail