Evaluation of Academic Performance at the University of Augsburg

  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System

The abbreviation “ECTS” stands for European Credit Transfer System. This is a uniform, Europe- wide and therefore transferrable evaluation program for the amount of work involved in individual course units. ECTS credit points indicate the amount of work that is necessary to reach an identified learning goal. This includes the actual lecture/seminar, practical exercises (like lab work, if applicable), and the necessary pre- and post-course work preparation. One ECTS credit point is equal to 25-30 hours of work according to a resolution by the Ministry of Education and the Arts. Students receive a previously agreed upon amount of ECTS credit points for every successfully completed module exam or partial-module exam, all of which are added together throughout the entire course of study.

Important: ECTS credit points have nothing to do with grades/marks!

The number of credits that are given out for a module at the University of Augsburg can be found in the respective module manual (course offerings) of each course of study.

 

  • Duration of Studies

According to the Bologna Reform, students should complete 30 ECTS credit points every semester. In relation to a three-year Bachelor program this means a total of 180 Credits, in a one year Master program 60 Credits, and in a two year Master program 120 credits.

 

  • Credit Points and Grades

The total number of credit points is completely independent from the grade/mark that is awarded. Course work is therefore evaluated irrespectively of the amount of credit points intended to be awarded. The German grading scale is used for this evaluation.

The conventional grading scale in Germany evaluates the actual performance and quality of work completed by the student. Students are not ranked in comparison to others (like with ECTS), but instead graded solely on their individual performance.

 

  • The Grading Scale at the University of Augsburg (excluding Law)

The grading scale was adopted from the traditional German school grading system with grades 1-5. The smaller the number, the better the grade. For a more precise differentiation, every grade can be increased or decreased by a notation of 0.3. The guidelines of the respective examination regulations are in general conclusive.

An exam with the grade of 4.0 is considered to be passing.

Academic Grading Scale

Regular Grading System Grading System in Law

Grading System
(Letter Grades)

1,0 / 1,3 very good 16-18 very good

A+ / A / A- very good

 

1,7 / 2,0 / 2,3 good 13-15 good B+ / B / B- good
2,7 / 3,0/ 3,3 satisfactory 10-12 fully satisfactory C+ / C / C- satisfactory
3,7 / 4,0 sufficient 7-9 satisfactory D+ / D sufficient
4,3 / 4,7 / 5,0 fail 4-6 sufficient F fail
  0-3 fail  

 

Search

Bewertung von Studienleistungen an der Universität Augsburg

  • ECTS – European Credit Transfer System

Die Abkürzung „ECTS“ steht für European Credit Transfer System. Dabei handelt es sich um ein europaweit einheitliches und damit transferfähiges Bewertungssystem für den Arbeitsaufwand in einzelnen Lehreinheiten. ECTS-Punkte geben den zeitlichen Aufwand an, der nötig ist, um ein bestimmtes Lernziel zu erreichen. Dazu gehören die Lehrveranstaltung selbst, ggf. praktische Übungen sowie erforderliche Vor- und Nachbereitungszeit. Ein ECTS-Punkt entspricht dabei gemäß dem Beschluss der Kultusministerkonferenz einem Arbeitsaufwand von 25 bis max. 30 Stunden. Für jede erfolgreich abgeschlossene Modulprüfung bzw. Modulteilprüfung erhalten Studierende eine vorher festgelegte Anzahl an ECTS-Punkten, die im Laufe des Studiums addiert werden.

Wichtig: ECTS-Punkte haben also mit Noten nichts zu tun!

Die Zahl der Credits, die an der Universität Augsburg für ein Modul vergeben werden, ist im jeweiligen Modulhandbuch des Studiengangs festgelegt.

 

  • Studiendauer

Pro Semester sollen gemäß der Bologna-Reform 30 ECTS-Punkte erworben werden. Entsprechend können in einem dreijährigen Bachelor-Studiengang insgesamt 180 Credits erworben werden, in einem einjährigen Masterstudiengang 60 Credits, in einem zweijährigen Masterstudiengang 120 Credits.

 

  • Leistungspunkte und Note

Die Gesamtzahl der Leistungspunkte wird unabhängig von der Note vergeben. Die Bewertung der Leistung besteht davon ungeachtet. Dazu wird weiterhin das deutsche Notensystem verwendet.

 

Die in Deutschland übliche Notenkala gibt die absolute Qualität der Leistung wieder. Sie bildet keine Reihung der an einer Prüfung erfolgreich teilnehmenden Studierenden ab wie die ECTS-Bewertungsskala, die die die Leistung der Studierenden nach statistischen Gesichtspunkten (Performance in Relation zu allen Prüfungsteilnehmern) gliedert.

 

  • Das Notensystem an  der Universität Augsburg (außer Rechtswissenschaft)

Das Notensystem übernimmt die traditionelle deutsch System der Schulnoten von 1-5.  Je kleiner die Zahl, desto besser die Bewertung. Für eine feinere Differenzierung kann jeder Notenschritt um  0.3  gehoben oder gesenkt werden. Grundsätzlich sind allein die Bestimmungen der jeweiligen Prüfungsordnung maßgeblich.

In der Regel gilt eine Prüfung bis zu einer Bewertung von 4.0 als bestanden.

Academic Grading Scale

Regular Grading System Grading System in Law

Grading System
(Letter Grades)

1,0 / 1,3 very good 16-18 very good

A+ / A / A- very good

 

1,7 / 2,0 / 2,3 good 13-15 good B+ / B / B- good
2,7 / 3,0/ 3,3 satisfactory 10-12 fully satisfactory C+ / C / C- satisfactory
3,7 / 4,0 sufficient 7-9 satisfactory D+ / D sufficient
4,3 / 4,7 / 5,0 fail 4-6 sufficient F fail
  0-3 fail  

 

Suche