Advisory Board

The Advisory Board advises the Executive Board and management on the scientific direction of the research center. It initiates projects and provides suggestions for the further development of the research center in terms of research, education, and training. Additionally, it supports the identification of future main topics and the long-term strategic orientation of the research center. The Advisory Board convenes regular meetings with the Executive Board and management, establishes connections with the members of the research center, and consists of eight individuals with relevant experience and expertise on politics, science, and society.



Chair of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Joachim-Felix Leonhard - Staatssekretär a.D.

Prof. Dr. Joachim-Felix Leonhard © University of Augsburg

Deputy chair of the Advisory Board

Dr. Birgit Weihrauch - Doctor/ Social medicine,  Staatsrätin a.D.



Dr. Brigit Weihrauch © University of Augsburg

Further members of the Advisoriy Board

Dr. Werner Bartens - Editor Süddeutsche Zeitung & author





Dr. Werner Bartens © Alessandra Schellnegger München

Prof. Dr. Helmut Brand – Professor for European Public Health at Maastricht University





Prof. Dr. Helmut Brand © University of Augsburg

Dr. Rainer Hess - Lawyer for health law





Dr. Rainer Hess © University of Augsburg

Prof. Dr. Ursula Münch - Director at the Akademie für Politische Bildung





Prof. Dr. Ursula Münch © University of Augsburg

Prof. Dr. Herbert Rebscher - Managing director at IGVresearch, Gyhum-Hesedorf & Professor for Health Economics and Health Services Research at University of Bayreuth


Prof. Dr. Herber Rebscher © University of Augsburg

Dr. Dominik Schnichels - Department manager at the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Climate Action




Dr. Dominik Schnichels © University of Augsburg

Former member of the Advisory Board

Prof. Dr. Elke Lütjen-Drecoll - Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur, Mainz & Frierich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Member of the Advisory Board 2014-2017

Prof. Dr. Elke Lütjen-Drecoll © University of Augsburg