SAVE ORCA

Formal Modeling, Safety Analysis, and Verification of Organic Computing Applications

Overview

The project "Formal Modeling, Safety Analysis, and Verification of Organic Computing Applications (SAVE ORCA)" was part of the DFG - priority programme " Organic Computing".

 

The subject of this project was a method for the systematic, top-down design and construction of highly reliable and adaptive organic computing applications. Reliability here means preservation of functional correctness, safety and security under unexpected disturbances and component failures. Adaptability in the context of this project is related to adaptive system behavior under changing requirements and modified tasks. The aim was to provide a formal framework for descriptive requirements, rigorous modeling and modular design of self-adapting and self-organizing systems. This makes design and construction of future organic systems easier and safer. As an integral part of the framework, formal analysis will improve reliability, stability, and adaptability of such systems.

 

The approach combines formal specification and verification with failure analysis techniques and intelligent re-configuration. For specification standard modeling languages and tools like Cadence SMV, I-Logix Statemate and Esterel Technologies SCADE Suite are used. Verification is done with automatic model checking and interactive verification. Example applications are 'automation engineering' and 'mobile systems'. A formal framework for the analysis of organic computing applications is provided and prototypical tool support implemented. The method was evaluated with substantial case studies.

 

Relevant research can be grouped into three categories:

  • Self-x properties: This category deals with the definition and integration of self-x properties, e.g. self-configuring, self-healing, self-optimizing, self-protecting, self-organization, self-regulation, self-repair, self-maintenance and self-diagonsis.
  • System design and modeling: The benefit and necessity of system engineering approaches have become apparent -- not only for organic computing systems -- during the last years. For organic systems, formal system design and analysis is even more important, as emergence and self-x properties make these systems more complex, challenging to analyze, and system failure often results in great loss. Today no method, language and tool exists which can be used for design, analysis and simulation of embedded systems that have self-x capabilities.
  • Formal safety analysis: The research in this area focused on the modeling and analysis of computer-controlled, technical systems. One approach was to use well-established safety analysis methods from engineering and enhance them with formal semantics. This allows to rigorously prove safety properties.

SAVE ORCA Guideline

One aim of the project was the systematic, top-down design and construction of self-organizing systems. Therefore, we developed a guideline that helps software engineers to design and construct self-organizing resource-flow systems.
The complete SAVE ORCA guideline is modeled with EPF (Eclipse Process Framework Composer) and SPEM (Software Process Engineering Metamodel) respectively UMA (Unified Method Architecture). Additionally, we showed how our guideline can be smoothly integrated in other software engineering process like the OpenUP.

 

Example

An example is a fully automated, self-organizing production cell consisting of multiple robots. Every robot is equipped with e.g. three tools for drilling a hole, tightening a screw and cutting the end of the screw. The workpieces are carried by holonic transport units (carts) between the robots, so that the three tools are performed in the correct order (self-organizing). Switching the tools takes considerably more time than processing the workpiece. So each robot specializes on one tool and carts transport the workpieces from robot to robot (self-optimizing). If any of the robots recognizes a failure in its current tool then the system uses its self-healing capabilities, i.e.

  • the handicapped robot switches to another tool,
  • communicates this to the other robots, so that they also switch there assigned tools, and that
  • the carts modify their itinerary because the pieces must be carried around in a different order.

We implemented the production cell within Jadex, a multi agent platform.

Funded by

 

Key Facts

Start date:
01.07.2005
End date:
30.06.2011
Duration:
6 years

 

 

Videos

Team

Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Director
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

SAVE ORCA

Formale Modellierung, Safety Analyse und Verifikation von Organic Computing Anwendungen

Überblick

Das Projekt "Formale Modellierung, Sicherheitsanalyse und Verifikation von Organic Computing Anwendungen (SAVE ORCA)" war Teil des DFG-Schwerpunktprogramms " Organic Computing".

 

Gegenstand dieses Projekts war die Entwicklung einer Methodik für das systematische, top-down Design und die Konstruktion von hochzuverlässigen und adaptiven Computeranwendungen. Zuverlässigkeit bedeutet hier den Erhalt der funktionalen Korrektheit, der Sicherheit und des Schutzes bei unerwarteten Störungen und Komponentenausfällen. Die Anpassungsfähigkeit im Rahmen dieses Projekts bezieht sich auf das adaptive Systemverhalten bei sich ändernden Anforderungen und veränderten Aufgaben. Ziel war es, einen formalen Rahmen für deskriptive Anforderungen, rigorose Modellierung und modularen Aufbau von selbstanpassenden und selbstorganisierenden Systemen zu schaffen. Dies macht die Planung und den Bau zukünftiger selbstorganisierender Systeme einfacher und sicherer. Als integraler Bestandteil des Rahmens wird die formale Analyse die Zuverlässigkeit, Stabilität und Anpassungsfähigkeit solcher Systeme verbessern.

 

Der Ansatz kombiniert formale Spezifikation und Verifikation mit Fehleranalyseverfahren und intelligenter Rekonfiguration. Für die Spezifikation werden Standard-Modellierungssprachen und Tools wie Cadence SMV, I-Logix Statemate und Esterel Technologies SCADE Suite verwendet. Die Verifikation erfolgt durch automatische Modellprüfung und interaktive Verifikation. Anwendungsbeispiele sind "Automatisierungstechnik" und "Mobile Systeme". Ein formaler Rahmen für die Analyse von Organic Computing Anwendungen wird bereitgestellt und prototypische Werkzeugunterstützung implementiert. Die Methodik wurde mit umfangreichen Fallstudien bewertet.

 

Relevante Forschung kann in drei Kategorien eingeteilt werden:

  • Self-x Eigenschaften: Diese Kategorie beschäftigt sich mit der Definition und Integration von Self-X-Eigenschaften, z.B. selbstkonfigurierend, selbstheilend, selbstoptimierend, selbstschützend, selbstorganisierend, selbstregulierend, selbstreparierend, selbstunterhaltend und selbstdiagnostisch.
  • Systemdesign und Modellierung: Der Nutzen und die Notwendigkeit von System Engineering Ansätzen haben sich in den letzten Jahren - nicht nur für Organic Computing Systeme - gezeigt. Für selbstorganisierende Systeme ist das formale Systemdesign und die Analyse noch wichtiger, da Emergenz und Self-X-Eigenschaften diese Systeme komplexer machen, die Analyse schwierig ist und Systemausfälle oft zu großen Verlusten führen. Bisher gab es keine Methodik, Sprache oder Werkzeug, die für das Design, die Analyse und die Simulation von eingebetteten Systemen mit Self-X-Fähigkeiten verwendet werden konnte.

  • Formale Sicherheitsanalyse: Die Forschung in diesem Bereich konzentrierte sich auf die Modellierung und Analyse computergesteuerter, technischer Systeme. Ein Ansatz bestand darin, etablierte Sicherheitsanalysemethoden aus dem Ingenieurwesen zu verwenden und durch formale Semantik zu ergänzen. Dies ermöglicht den strengen Nachweis von Sicherheitseigenschaften.

SAVE ORCA-Richtlinie

Ein Ziel des Projekts war die systematische, top-down Planung und Konstruktion von selbstorganisierenden Systemen. Deshalb haben wir einen Leitfaden entwickelt, der Softwareentwicklern hilft, selbstorganisierende Ressourcenflusssysteme zu entwerfen und zu konstruieren.
Die vollständige SAVE ORCA-Richtlinie ist mit EPF (Eclipse Process Framework Composer) und SPEM (Software Process Engineering Metamodel) bzw. UMA (Unified Method Architecture) abgebildet. Darüber hinaus haben wir gezeigt, wie sich unser Leitfaden nahtlos in andere Softwareentwicklungsprozesse wie den OpenUP integrieren lässt.

 

Beispiel

Ein Beispiel ist eine vollautomatische, selbstorganisierende Fertigungszelle, die aus mehreren Robotern besteht. Jeder Roboter ist mit z.B. drei Werkzeugen ausgestattet, um ein Loch zu bohren, eine Schraube einzusetzen und die Schraube anzuziehen. Die Werkstücke werden von holonischen Transporteinheiten zwischen den Robotern transportiert, so dass die drei Werkzeuge in der richtigen Reihenfolge ausgeführt werden (selbstorganisierend). Das Wechseln der Werkzeuge dauert wesentlich länger als die Bearbeitung des Werkstücks. So ist jeder Roboter auf ein Werkzeug spezialisiert und die mobilen Einheiten transportieren die Werkstücke von Roboter zu Roboter (selbstoptimierend). Erkennt einer der Roboter einen Fehler in seinem aktuellen Werkzeug, nutzt das System seine Selbstheilungskräfte, d.h.

  • der „defekte“ Roboter wechselt zu einem anderen Werkzeug,
  • kommuniziert dies den anderen Robotern, so dass sie auch ihre zugeteilten Werkzeuge wechseln, und 
  • unterrichtet die Transporteinheiten, dass sie ihre Route ändern, da die Stücke in einer anderen Reihenfolge transportiert werden müssen.

Wir haben die Produktionszelle in Jadex, einer Multiagentenplattform, implementiert.

Förderung

 

Eckdaten

Start:
01.07.2005
Ende:
30.06.2011
Laufzeit:
6 Jahre

 

 

Videos

Team

Akademische Rätin
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Institutsdirektor
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche