Physical proximity

Design of the future medical campus of the University of Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

The medical campus of the University of Augsburg is being built in the immediate vicinity of the University Hospital in the western part of the city. The reason for the decision not to build the medical campus on the main university campus is the university’s wish to provide optimal study conditions to the students at the Faculty of Medicine. Since the model medical course places great value from the outset on the interlocking of theory and practice as well as on the integration into everyday clinical practice, the Faculty of Medicine must be located near the University Hospital. In the coming decades, the research and teaching buildings of the Medical Faculty of the University will form the medical campus with approximately 37 thousand square metres of floor space. At the same time, a research building is also to be constructed on the university's main campus, which will link the research foci of university medicine with the research of the other seven faculties.

 

Construction of the new medical campus of the university

In June 2020, construction work began on the first two buildings on the medical campus, a teaching building and a research building for the Institute of Theoretical Medicine. A fence surrounds the site: it follows the tram tracks to the west and north, Stenglinstraße and Virchowstraße to the east, and runs south along the future Delbrückstraße. Construction work on the teaching and research building is expected to continue until 2023/24.

 

On-site camera, Medical campus, University of Augsburg

Teaching building and Institute for Theoretical Medicine

Design of the future medical campus of the University of Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

The first two Faculty of Medicine buildings will be a teaching building and the Institute for Theoretical Medicine – they will be the prelude to the Medical Campus and will be ready for occupancy in 2023 and 2024 respectively. Both new buildings will be erected on the site south of the university hospital complex. The space allocation plan for the teaching building amounts to approximately 6,400 square metres of floor space and includes lecture halls, seminar and practical training rooms, the Medical Section of the Augsburg University Library, an interprofessional training centre and the Dean's Office as well as the Department of Medical Education Augsburg (DEMEDA). The Institute for Theoretical Medicine, with around 8,600 square metres of floor space, will house the pre-clinical chairs, as well as laboratories, rooms for practicals and a post-mortem area with facilities for the study of anatomy.

On our future medical campus we will offer our scientists and students the best working conditions.

Dr. Jörn Böke, Managing Director Faculty of Medicine

Excellent interim solutions

Until the completion of the first new two buildings in 2023 and 2024, viable and reliable interim solutions will be used, to enable the start of research and teaching at the new faculty. The former children's hospital adjacent to the University Hospital has been extensively renovated and adapted to the new needs. For the first students in the model medicine course, it is a place where they can meet teachers and patients and learn and practice medical communication and skills. In addition to seminar rooms and small group rooms, there is a laboratory for practicals, microscope rooms, as well as an interprofessional training centre, which has simulation and observation rooms and rooms for learning medical techniques. The building houses a medical library and offers very good working conditions for some of the newly appointed professors and the Dean's Office.

© University of Augsburg

The ZeIT-Building

The ZeIT Centre for Integrated and Translational Research is intended to be a unique and innovative research structure for Augsburg University Medicine. This planned new building is designed to physically reflect the idea of multidisciplinary and interactive cooperation between basic and clinical research: it will contain both research areas and platforms for resources and interaction. So-called ‘Core Facilities’ will, in the future, house large-scale equipment, which will be available for joint use by various research units.

 

A "Science Hub" will serve as a platform for meetings and exchange: It is an overriding goal of ZeIT, with its structural, but also ideal-functional properties, to support researchers and hospital scientists, but also students and doctors involved in research, acting as a kind of “hub”, in order to:

  •     develop interdisciplinary research approaches
  •     turn project ideas into concrete draft proposals for third-party funding
  •     contribute ideas from different perspectives to research projects of other scientists
  •     verify and/or establish the feasibility of a project in cooperation and coordination with other scientists
  •     gain access to important research resources.

A further goal is to enable and facilitate translational research, i.e. the transfer of scientific findings from clinical to laboratory research and vice versa.

According to current plans, the building will have a floor space of around 13,500 square metres, and is expected to be ready by 2027/28.

Design of the ZeIT building © NOVA Michael Beck Architekten GmbH
Design of the Science Hub Nova Beck Architekten München
Design of the future medical campus of the University of Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Design of the future teaching building of the Medical Campus BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Design of the future Institute for Theoretical Medicine BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Design of the future medical campus of the University of Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Design of the ZeIT building © NOVA Michael Beck Architekten GmbH
Design of the Science Hub Nova Beck Architekten München

Search

Räumliche Nähe

Entwurf des zukünftigen Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

Der Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg entsteht in direkter räumlicher Nähe zum Universitätsklinikum Augsburg im Westen der Stadt. Grundlage für die Entscheidung, den Medizincampus nicht auf dem Stammgelände der Universität im Süden Augsburgs aufzubauen, ist der Wunsch der Universität, den Studierenden der Medizinischen Fakultät optimale Studienbedingungen zu bieten. Da im Modellstudiengang Humanmedizin von Beginn an großer Wert auf die Verzahnung von Theorie und Praxis sowie auf die Einbindung in den klinischen Alltag gelegt wird, ist die räumliche Nähe von Medizinischer Fakultät und Universitätsklinikum unverzichtbar. In den nächsten Jahrzehnten werden die Forschungs- und Lehrgebäude der Medizinischen Fakultät der Universität mit rund 37 Tausend Quadratmetern Nutzfläche den Medizincampus bilden. Gleichzeitig soll auch auf dem Stammgelände der Universität ein Forschungsbau entstehen, der die Forschungsschwerpunkte der Universitätsmedizin mit den Forschungen der weiteren sieben Fakultäten verbindet.

 

Bau des neuen Medizincampus der Universität

Im Juni 2020 fiel der Startschuss für die Baumaßnahmen der ersten beiden Gebäude auf dem Medizincampus, ein Lehrgebäude sowie ein Forschungsbau für das Institut für Theoretische Medizin. Ein Bauzaun zieht sich rund um das Baufeld: Er folgt im Westen und Norden des Baugeländes dem Verlauf der Tramgleise, liegt im Osten entlang der Stenglin- und Virchowstraße und verläuft im Süden auf Höhe der künftigen Delbrückstraße. Voraussichtlich bis 2023/24 werden die Bauarbeiten an dem Lehr- und dem Forschungsbau andauern.

 

Baustellenkamera des Staatlichen Bauamtes Augsburg mit Blick auf den zukünftigen Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg

Lehrgebäude und Institut für Theoretische Medizin

Entwurf des zukünftigen Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg - Zentralperspektive BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin

Die ersten beiden Gebäude der Medizinischen Fakultät werden ein Lehrgebäude und das Institut für Theoretische Medizin sein - sie bilden den Auftakt des Medizin-Campus und werden 2023 bzw. 2024 bezugsfertig sein. Beide Neubauten werden auf dem Gelände südlich des Universitätsklinikum-Komplexes errichtet. Das Raumprogramm für das Lehrgebäude beläuft sich auf circa 6.400 Quadratmeter Nutzfläche und umfasst Hörsäle, Seminar- und Praktikumsräume, die Medizinische Teilbibliothek der Universitätsbibliothek Augsburg, ein interprofessionelles Trainingszentrum und das Dekanat der Medizinischen Fakultät sowie das Institut für Didaktik und Ausbildungsforschung in der Medizin (DeMEdA). Das Institut für Theoretische Medizin wird mit insgesamt ca. 8.600 Quadratmetern Nutzfläche die vorklinischen Lehrstühle beherbergen, außerdem Labore, Praktikumsräume sowie einen Post-Mortem-Bereich mit Anatomie.

Auf unserem zukünftigen Medizincampus werden wir unseren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftlern sowie unseren Studierenden beste Arbeitsbedingungen bieten.

Dr. Jörn Böke, Geschäftsführer Medizinische Fakultät

Hervorragende Interimslösungen

Bis zur Fertigstellung der ersten beiden Neubauten in den Jahren 2023 und 2024 wird deren Funktion von tragfähigen und soliden Interimslösungen übernommen, die den Start von Forschung und Lehre an der neuen Fakultät unterstützen. Die dem Universitätsklinikum benachbarte ehemalige Kinderklinik wurde umfangreich umgebaut und auf die neuen Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten. Sie ist für die ersten Studierenden im Modellstudiengang Humanmedizin ein Ort der Begegnung mit Lehrenden und Patienten sowie des Lernens und Einübens ärztlicher Kommunikation und Fertigkeiten. Neben Seminar- und Kleingruppenräumen gibt es ein Praktikumslabor und Mikroskopie-Räume sowie ein Interprofessionelles Trainingszentrum, in dem Simulations- und Beobachtungsräume sowie Räume zum Erlernen medizinischer Techniken vorhanden sind. Das Gebäude beherbergt eine medizinische Fachbibliothek und bietet einem Teil der neuberufenen Professoren sowie dem Dekanat der Medizinischen Fakultät sehr gute Arbeitsbedingungen.

© Universität Augsburg

Das ZeIT-Gebäude

Mit dem Zentrum für integrierte und translationale Forschung ZeIT soll eine einzigartige und innovative Forschungsstruktur an der Universitätsmedizin Augsburg entstehen. Die multidisziplinäre und interaktive Zusammenarbeit zwischen Grundlagenforschung und klinischer Forschung soll auch physisch durch einen geplanten Neubau ausgedrückt werden, der sowohl Forschungsflächen bereit hält, als auch Plattformen für Ressourcen und Interaktionen. In sogenannten Core Facilities sollen künftig Großgeräte von unterschiedlichen Forschungseinheiten gemeinsam genutzt werden können.

 

Ein „Science Hub“ dient Begegnung und Austausch: Es ist ein übergeordnetes Ziel von ZeIT, mit seinen baulichen, aber auch idell-funktionellen Eigenschaften Wissenschaftlern aus Klinik und Grundlagenforschung, aber auch Studierenden sowie forschenden Ärzten als eine Art „Drehscheibe“ zu dienen, um

  • interdisziplinäre Forschungsansätze zu entwickeln
  • Projektideen in konkrete Antragsskizzen für die Drittmittelföderung münden zu lassen
  • zu Forschungsprojekten anderer Wissenschaftler Ideen aus unterschiedlichen Blickwinkeln beizusteuern
  • die Machbarkeit eines Projekts in Kooperation und Abstimmung mit anderen Wissenschaftlern zu überprüfen und/oder herzustellen
  • Zugang zu wichtigen Forschungsressourccen zu erlangen.

Ein weiteres Ziel ist die Ermöglichung und Erleichterung von translationaler Forschung, also der Überführung von wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnissen aus der Klinik in die Laborforschung und umgekehrt.

Das Raumprogramm beläuft sich auf circa 13.500m2 Nutzfläche, das Gebäude soll voraussichtlich 2027/28 fertig gestellt werden.

Der Entwurf für das ZeIT-Gebäude © NOVA Michael Beck Architekten GmbH
Entwurf für den Science Hub im ZeIT Gebäude Nova Beck Architekten München
Entwurf des zukünftigen Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Lehrgebäude am Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Institut für Theoretische Medizin am Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Entwurf des zukünftigen Medizincampus der Universität Augsburg - Zentralperspektive BHBVT Gesellschaft von Architekten mbH Berlin
Der Entwurf für das ZeIT-Gebäude © NOVA Michael Beck Architekten GmbH
Entwurf für den Science Hub im ZeIT Gebäude Nova Beck Architekten München

Suche