In Augsburg University Medicine, translation, i.e. the transfer of findings from basic research to clinical application, is an overarching goal. The broad range of clinical research is brought together in three profile centres for allergology, tumour medicine and vascular medicine. These in turn act in close coordination with the other main focuses of research: medical information sciences and environmental sciences.

Allergology

Allergies are the most common chronic disease in industrialized countries, affecting one third of the population. The current research topic of the Clinical Profile Centre for Allergology is, for example, the connection between the human microbiome and the development or even healing of allergies. Particular attention is paid to the effects of climate change on humans and nature. In a systems biology approach, the effects of allergen carriers on humans, the interaction of environmental factors and their consequences for the human organism will be analysed in vitro and in vivo.

Tumour Medicine

The treatment of malignant cancers has reached an unprecedented level of complexity, making interdisciplinary networked research and care structures necessary. The Clinical Profile Centre for Tumour Medicine focuses on chronic tumour diseases, and how exogenous and endogenous factors interact with tumour tissue and with the tumour patient as a whole. The main focus is on adaptation processes: On the one hand, how does the organism react to tumour cells and their spread, on the other hand, how do malignant cells adapt to their environment and therapeutic measures and how can therapies be adapted accordingly. All age groups, from infants upwards, are considered, and receive the best possible treatment.

Vascular Medicine

The Clinical Profile Center for Vascular Medicine covers all the specialties concerned with vascular diseases. The research focus is on the often chronic nature of vascular diseases and on multimorbidity (the accumulation of diseases) in older people. The influence of other diseases e.g. of the lung or diabetes plays an important role in vascular diseases.One future plan is to research key molecular principles of vascular pathobiology, which influence the pathophysiology of various diseases such as arteriosclerosis, inflammation, malignant tumors or degenerative diseases.

Search

In der Augsburger Universitätsmedizin ist die Translation, also die Übertragung von Erkenntnissen aus der Grundlagenforschung in die klinische Anwendung, ein übergreifendes Ziel. Die breit gefächerte klinische Forschung bündelt sich in drei Profilzentren für Allergologie, Tumormedizin und Vaskuläre Medizin, die wiederum in engem Austausch mit den beiden Forschungsschwerpunkten Medical Information Sciences und Environmental Sciences stehen.

Allergologie

Allergien stellen die häufigste chronische Erkrankung in den Industrieländern dar, sie betreffen ein Drittel der Bevölkerung. Aktuelles Forschungsthema des Klinischen Profilzentrums für Allergologie ist zum Beispiel der Zusammenhang zwischen dem Mikrobiom des Menschen und der Entstehung oder auch Ausheilung von Allergien. Ein besonderes Augenmerk liegt dabei auf den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels auf Mensch und Natur. In einem systembiologischen Ansatz sollen die Wirkungen von Allergenträgern auf den Menschen, die Interaktion von Umweltfaktoren und deren Folgen für den menschlichen Organismus in vitro und in vivo analysiert werden.

Tumormedizin

Die Behandlung maligner Krebserkrankungen hat ein nie dagewesenes Maß an Komplexität erreicht, die interdisziplinär vernetzte Forschungs- und Versorgungsstrukturen nötig macht. Im Klinischen Profilzentrum Tumormedizin stehen die Chronizität von Tumorerkrankungen im Vordergrund sowie die Interaktionsmechanismen von exogenen und endogenen Faktoren auf Tumorgewebe und den tumorkranken Patienten insgesamt. Hauptaugenmerk liegt auf Anpassungsprozessen: Wie reagiert einerseits der Organismus auf Tumorzellen und deren Ausbreitung, wie passen sich andererseits maligne Zellen an ihre Umgebung und therapeutische Maßnahmen an und wie können Therapien entsprechend ausgerichtet werden. Hierbei werden alle Altersgruppen ab dem Säuglingsalter aufwärts berücksichtigt und auf höchstem Niveau versorgt.

Vaskuläre Medizin

Das Klinische Profilzentrum für Vaskuläre Medizin umfasst alle mit vaskulären Erkrankungen beschäftigten Fachgebiete. Der thematische Fokus liegt auf der Bedeutung von Chronizität vaskulärer Erkrankungen und der Multimorbidität (Häufung von Krankheiten) bei älteren Menschen. Der Einfluss von weiteren Erkrankungen z.B. der Lunge oder auch Diabetes spielt eine wichtige Rolle bei Gefäßerkrankungen. Eine Vision ist die Erforschung molekularer Schlüsselprinzipien der vaskulären Pathobiologie, welche die Pathophysiologie unterschiedlicher Erkrankungen wie Arteriosklerose, Inflammation, maligne Tumoren oder degenerative Erkrankungen beeinflussen.

Suche