Elsevier, Wiley, Springer Nature: Publishing in Open Access

The new DEAL agreements make it possible: researchers at the University of Augsburg can publish Open Access in over 7,200 journals of the three largest academic publishing houses starting from 2024. The fees for publishing in hybrid journals are centrally covered by the university. Additionally, read access is granted to almost all journals of the publishers Springer Nature, Wiley, and Elsevier.

The University of Augsburg joined the DEAL agreement with Elsevier in January 2024. After several years without a contract, all members of the university and the university hospital can now access almost the entire Elsevier journal portfolio again. Furthermore, all university members who serve as corresponding authors can choose between various publication options. The established DEAL agreements with Wiley and Springer Nature have also been renewed.

Publishing in Journals: Hybrid and Gold
University members can now publish Open Access with Wiley, Springer Nature, and Elsevier...

  • in all hybrid journals (incl. Cell Press and The Lancet) without additional costs. The fees are covered centrally by the university / university library.
  • in gold Open Access journals (incl. the fully gold CPTL journals) at discounted rates. These publication costs cannot be covered by the university and must be borne by authors from their own funds.
The Open Access & Publishing team is always available to advise you on your options. It also handles all applications for Open Access publishing within the DEAL agreement.

Applications for Open Access Publishing

Background: DEAL Project
The DEAL project, supported by the Alliance of German Science Organizations (DFG), has been negotiating nationwide license agreements since 2016 with the aim of offering participating institutions permanent full-text access to all journals of the publishers as well as Open Access publishing options.

Further information on the three DEAL agreements can be found on the DEAL Consortium's website.


© Universität Augsburg