#scientistwhoselfie ...

... is now a lively global platform for scientists to draw attention to their academic life in a direct and lively way. The English acronym allows the gender equality we want: it is about people who have dedicated themselves to science. They share this passion with us, talk about their curiosity, but also about disappointments, everyday priorities and questions that accompany them in their everyday research.

 

We picture this action in excerpts with women doing research here, to encourage all female academics to become more visible and to gain even more attention with their professionalism.

A scientific selfie is a short greeting and an invitation ...

We welcome contributions! Contact for posting on this page: konstanze.froelich@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Foto: Katharina Weitz © University of Augsburg

I am sitting over this pile of old books on artificial intelligence and have to smile as I read the following passage in one of the books:
“I should make it clear that very little has actually been modelled with these networks to date   And, in addition, there are already a number of difficult and unsolved problems [...]. The overriding concern, in my opinion, is one of comprehensible. In order to build and use complex computer systems, we must be able to understand, at some level, how they are doing what they are observed to be doing " (P. 64, Partridge, 1990)
These networks that Derek Partridge talks about in his book are known today as "deep neural networks". And they are now being used effectively in our everyday lives. For example, they are used to recognise faces or to learn our preferences for music and films. And in my doctorate I am doing research precisely on Partridge's point of criticism, which he saw as early as 1990: to make these neural networks comprehensible. The German Informatics Society has now recognised me for this work and added me to the ranks of GI Junior Fellows. In my first interview for a daily newspaper, I was not only allowed to answer exciting questions (“Is AI fairer than humans?”, “What innovations are needed in the technology sector?”), but also to tell them something about my major concern: bringing our research closer to people. The results of our studies show that AI is no longer a foreign concept for laypeople as it was a few years ago. But they also show that people often completely overestimate AI and have wrong ideas about it. My current goal is to help people assess the opportunities and risks of AI more realistically and make decisions more easily.

 

Katharina Weitz M.Sc.

Research Assistant at the Chair of Multimodal Human-Technology Interaction

katharina.weitz@informatik.uni-augsburg.de

 

to the price

 

 

Foto: Beate Haugwitz © University of Augsburg

Doctorate, teaching, project work, coordination and organisational work ... as the mother of a lively three-year-old daughter, I am used to multitasking. Even if the challenges (especially in the year of corona) are sometimes very difficult, I enjoy it very much! My PhD project is really picking up speed now. We are researching indicators for therapeutic change processes in music therapy with people suffering from severe mental disorders. It's intense - but also exciting. I can draw on my practical experience as a music therapist. Much of it also comes in handy in my teaching!
 

Beate Haugwitz, graduate music therapist, M.A.

Research assistant in the master's program in music therapy

beate.haugwitz@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Foto: privat, Christina Pauls © University of Augsburg

Between home office and parental responsibilities, the year 2020 is ending for me with a sense of achievement as a young academic: the publication of my first monograph.

The book “Re- storying a past that lies between us: an exploration of the legacies of German - Russian family histories in the Soviet Union”, which emerged from my Master’s thesis in the field of Peace Studies, will be published as part of the 'Masters of Peace' series by Innsbruck University Press. This is my view after I click on the 'Submit' button of my final version: months of revision, editing and layout processes have paid off. While I feel that I have finished with the topic of transgenerational trauma, I have an inkling that my journey has only just begun. Peace is not mastery, but practice.

 

Christina Pauls, M.A. Peace Studies
Chair of Political Science, Peace and Conflict Studies

christina.pauls@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Search

#scientistwhoselfie ...

... ist eine mittlerweile weltweit lebendige Plattform für Wissenschaftler*innen, um auf direkte und lebendige Art auf ihr akademisches Leben aufmerksam zu machen. Das englische Kürzel erlaubt die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter, die wir uns wünschen: Es geht um Menschen, die sich der Wissenschaft verschrieben haben. Sie teilen mit uns diese Leidenschaft, sprechen über ihre Neugier, aber auch über Enttäuschungen, alltägliche Prioritäten und Fragen, die sie in ihrem Forschungsalltag begleiten.

 

Wir bilden diese Aktion in Auszügen mit forschenden Frauen hier ab, um alle Wissenschaftlerinnen zu ermuntern, sichtbarer zu werden und mit ihrer Professio noch mehr Aufmerksamkeit zu bekommen.

Ein scientific selfie ist ein kurzer Gruß und eine Einladung...

 

Wir freuen uns über Beiträge!

Kontakt für die Einstellung auf dieser Seite:  konstanze.froelich@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Foto: Katharina Weitz © Universität Augsburg

Da sitze ich über diesem Stapel alter Bücher über Künstliche Intelligenz und muss grinsen, als ich folgenden Abschnitt in einem der Bücher lese: 
„I should make it clear that very little has actually been modelled with these networks to date. And, in addition, there are already a number of difficult and unsolved problems […]. The overriding concern, in my opinion, is one of comprehensible. In order to build and use complex computer systems, we must be able to understand, at some level, how they are doing what they are observed to be doing.” (S.64, Partridge, 1990)
Diese Netzwerke, von denen Derek Partridge in seinem Buch spricht, sind heute unter dem Namen „Tiefe Neuronale Netze” bekannt. Und sie werden inzwischen wirkungsvoll in unserem Alltag eingesetzt. So werden sie zum Beispiel genutzt, um Gesichter zu erkennen oder unsere Vorlieben bei Musik und Filmen zu lernen. Und ich forsche in meiner Promotion genau zu Partridges Kritikpunkt, den er bereits 1990 sah: diese Neuronalen Netze nachvollziehbar zu gestalten. 
Die Gesellschaft für Informatik e.V. hat mich dafür jetzt ausgezeichnet mich damit in die Riege der GI Junior-Fellows aufgenommen. In meinem ersten Interview für eine Tageszeitung durfte ich nicht nur spannende Fragen beantworten („Ist KI fairer als der Mensch?“, „Welche Innovationen braucht es in der Technologiebranche?“), sondern auch etwas von meinem großen Anliegen erzählen: Unsere Forschung den Menschen näher zu bringen. Die Ergebnisse unserer durchgeführten Studien zeigen, dass KI für Laien kein fremder Begriff mehr ist wie noch vor ein paar Jahren. Sie zeigen aber auch, dass Menschen KI häufig vollkommen überschätzen und falsche Vorstellungen von ihr haben. Mein Ziel ist es derzeit, einen Beitrag zu leisten, dass Menschen die Chancen und die Risiken von KI realistischer einschätzen können und so leichter Entscheidungen treffen können.

 

Katharina Weitz M.Sc.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Lehrstuhl für Multimodale Mensch-Technik Interaktion

katharina.weitz@informatik.uni-augsburg.de

 

Zum Preis

 

 

Foto: Beate Haugwitz © Universität Augsburg

Promotion, Lehre, Projektarbeit, Koordinations- und Organisationsarbeit … als Mutter einer quirligen dreijährigen Tochter bin ich Multitasking gewöhnt. Auch wenn die Herausforderungen (gerade im Corona-Jahr) zuweilen sehr hoch sind, macht es mir großen Spaß! Mein Promotionsprojekt nimmt jetzt richtig Fahrt auf. Wir erforschen Indikatoren für therapeutische Veränderungsprozesse in der Musiktherapie mit Menschen, die an schweren psychischen Störungen leiden. Das ist heftig – aber auch spannend. Ich kann dabei aus meiner praktischen Erfahrung als Musiktherapeutin schöpfen. Vieles davon kommt auch in meiner Lehre gut an!


Beate Haugwitz, Dipl.-Musiktherapeutin, M.A.

Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im Masterstudiengang Musiktherapie

beate.haugwitz@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Foto: privat, Christina Pauls © Universität Augsburg

Zwischen Home Office und elterlichen Verantwortlichkeiten endet für mich das Jahr 2020 mit einem Erfolgserlebnis als Nachwuchswissenschaftlerin: der Publikation meiner ersten Monographie.

Das Buch “Re-storying a past that lies between us: an exploration of the legacies of German-Russian family histories in the Soviet Union”, das aus meiner Masterarbeit im Fachbereich Peace Studies hervorgegangen ist, wird in der Reihe ‘Masters of Peace’ bei innsbruck university press erscheinen. Das ist mein Blick, nachdem ich auf das ‘Absenden’ meiner finalen Version klicke: monatelange Prozesse der Überarbeitung, des Lektorats und des Layoutens haben sich gelohnt. Während ich das Gefühl habe, mit dem Thema transgenerationaler Traumatisierung abgeschlossen zu haben, regt sich mir eine Ahnung, dass mein Weg gerade erst begonnen hat. Peace ist eben nicht mastery, sondern practice.

 

Christina Pauls, M.A. Peace Studies
Lehrstuhl für Politikwissenschaft, Friedens- und Konfliktforschung 
christina.pauls@phil.uni-augsburg.de

Suche