Geography is one of the original subjects to be offered and has thus been represented at the University of Augsburg for almost 50 years (-> Institute history).
Geography has been offered as a course at the University of Augsburg for almost 50 years. Since 2003, the Institute for Geography (IGUA) together with the Institute for Informatics, has formed the Faculty for Applied Informatics, the university’s seventh faculty. In 2004, the content focus of the institute was altered significantly with the main emphasis on climate and environmental research as well as geoinformatics. This led to it having a profile that is still unique in Bavaria to this day. For several years, the focal topic resources have been developed, whereby this term not only includes natural resources (e.g. water, raw materials) but also cultural and social resources (e.g. monuments, family).
Since 2003, the institute has grown continuously: The 3 original chairs (full professors) and a professorship were supplemented with a further professorship (Oct 2008, Professorship for Geoinformatics), a chair set up together with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) (Dec 2009 Regional Climate and Hydrology Chair) as well as two teaching professorships (Oct 2013 Applied Geoinformatics, Resources Geography of Water) added. In total, more than 60 members of staff and more than 45 lecturers research and teach at the institute and thus take care of over 1700 students on 10 courses.

 

Management

 

The institute’s affairs are undertaken by a director, who represents the institute in the faculty as well as vis-à-vis the university management.

Course coordination

 

A course coordinator in the institute takes care of the teaching and course organisational needs.

IT support

 

The institute’s IT is managed by a system administrator, who also forms the interface with the data centre.

STRUCTURE OF THE INSTITUTE

The institute is divided into four chairs, four professorships, several adjunct professorships as well as an honorary professorship. 

 

to the Chairs and Professorships

 

to the Institute Staff

The institute is part of diverse national, European and worldwide networks.

 

to the Networks

 

local Press review

Organigramm

HISTORY OF THE INSTITUTE

© University of Augsburg

Geography is one of the original subjects offered at the University of Augsburg. In 1973, human geography was the first tenured professorship to be occupied. It was followed in 1974 by physical geography as well as geography didactics in 1976. The courses were thus also predetermined; apart from offering “Diplom” degree courses, training future teachers for all types of schools also played a fundamental role on the site. For many decades the chairs existed alongside each other as independent units. It was only their merger in 2002 that finally led to a newly formed institute. Geography at Augsburg University acquired its integrative character. With the introduction of the Bachelor of Science degree courses in geography and geoinformatics as well as the Master of Science degrees in geography, climate and environmental sciences and geoinformatics, the institute now presents itself with four tenured professors, four professorships as well as two adjunct professorships. The number of students in recent years has remained constant at around 1,700. Collaboration in geographical teaching, research and application, including with partners in universities and professional practice, as well as with students and committed staff ensures an interesting future for the Institute for Geography in Augsburg.

(KTh 10/7/2019)

Search

Das Institut

Die Geographie zählt zu den Fächern der ersten Stunde und ist damit seit fast 50 Jahren an der Universität Augsburg vertreten (-> Institutsgeschichte).

Das Fach Geographie an der Universität Augsburg besteht seit fast 50 Jahren. Seit 2003 bildet das Institut für Geographie (IGUA) zusammen mit dem Institut für Informatik die Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik, die siebte Fakultät der Universität. Im Jahr 2004 wurde die inhaltliche Ausrichtung des Instituts mit den Schwerpunkten Klima- und Umweltforschung sowie Geoinformatik stark verändert und führte damit zu einem in Bayern bis heute einmaligen Profil. Seit einigen Jahren ist der Schwerpunkt Ressourcen im Entstehen, wobei unter diesem Begriff sowohl natürliche Ressourcen (z.B. Wasser, Rohstoffe) als auch kulturelle und gesellschaftliche Ressourcen (z.B. Denkmäler, Familie) zusammengefasst sind.
Seit 2003 wächst das Institut stetig: Zu den ursprünglichen 3 Lehrstuhlinhabern und einer Professur kamen eine weitere Professur (Okt 2008 Professur für Geoinformatik), ein mit dem Karlsruher Institute of Technology (KIT) gemeinsam eingerichteter Lehrstuhl (Dez 2009 Lehrstuhl Regionales Klima und Hydrologie) sowie zwei Lehrprofessuren (Okt 2013 Angewandte Geoinformatik, Ressourcengeographie des Wassers) hinzu. Insgesamt über 60 Mitarbeiter sowie über 45 Lehrbeauftragte forschen und lehren am Institut und versorgen damit über 1700 Studierende in 10 Studiengängen.

 

Geschäftsführung

 

Die Geschäfte des Instituts werden von einem/einer DirektorIn wahrgenommen, der/die das Institut gegenüber der Fakultät sowie der Universitätsleitung vertritt.

Studienkoordination

 

Am Institut kümmert sich eine Studienkoordinatorin um die organisatorischen Belange der Lehre und der Studiengänge.

IT-Unterstützung

 

Die IT des Instituts wird von einem Systemadministrator verwaltet, der auch die Schnittstelle zum Rechenzentrum bildet.

Struktur des Instituts

Das Institut ist gegliedert in vier Lehrstühle, vier Professuren, mehrere Apl. Professuren sowie eine Honorarprofessur. 

 

zu den Lehrstühlen und Professuren

 

zum Personal des Instituts

Das Institut ist Teil diverser nationaler, europäischer und weltweiter Netzwerke.

 

zu den Netzwerken

 

lokaler Pressespiegel

Organigramm

Geschichte des Instituts

© Universität Augsburg

Die Geographie zählt zu den Fächern der ersten Stunde an der Augsburger Universität. Im Jahr 1973 wurde als erstes Ordinariat die Humangeographie besetzt, 1974 gefolgt von der Physische Geographie sowie 1976 der Geographie-Didaktik. Somit waren auch die Studiengänge vorgezeichnet; neben der Diplomausbildung spielte die Ausbildung künftiger Lehrer und Lehrerinnen für alle Schultypen eine tragende Rolle am Standort. Über viele Jahrzehnte existierten die Lehrstühle als eigenständige Einheiten parallel nebeneinander. Erst deren Zusammenführung mündete schließlich im Jahr 2002 in ein neu gegründetes Institut. Die Augsburger Geographie erhielt ihren integrativen Charakter. Mit der Einführung der Bachelor Geographie- und Geoinformatikstudiengänge sowie den Masterstudiengängen Geographie, Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften und Geoinformatik präsentiert sich das Institut heute mit vier Ordinarien, vier Professuren sowie zwei apl.-Professuren. Die Zahl der Studierenden bewegt sich über die letzten Jahre bei konstant etwa 1.700. Die Zusammenarbeit in geographischer Lehre, Forschung und Anwendung, auch mit Partnern aus Universität und Praxis, sowie mit den Studierenden und einer engagierten Fachschaft garantiert eine spannende Zukunft für das Institut für Geographie am Standort Augsburg.

(KTh 10.7.2019)

Suche