The working group is dedicated to a holistic view upon interactions between land use, land management, water and soil resources. Therefore, interdisciplinary research at the intersection between hydrology, soil science, geomorphology, agronomy and biogeochemistry is essential, and is the focus of the working group members.

Special interests within the working group are:

 

  • Surface runoff and soil redistribution as affected by landscape patchiness and connectivity.
  • Sediment-burden carbon redistribution and its effects upon terrestrial and aquatic carbon balance.
  • Pathways of carbon from plants and microorganisms into specific carbon fractions in climatically and geochemically different soils.
  • Microplastic in agricultural soils
  • Sustainable management of water and  soil resources.
  • Land use and land management interactions with regional climate

We use and refine a wide range of conceptual and physically oriented models to analyse different aspects of water, sediment and carbon fluxes on various spatial and temporal scales. Moreover, field as well as laboratory measurements are carried out to improve process understanding, which range from sediment and carbon analyses to continuous monitoring in small catchments. Hosting the project MONSOON the working group is also engagend in large scale vegetation and climate modelling.

Apart from research in Central Europe, the working group is active in the tropical South of India as well as in Central (TropSOC project) and Western Africa (MONSOON project). The research group is part of the faculty of Applied Informatics of University Augsburg and is also involved into the activities of the Environmental Science Centre (WZU).

Working Group News

April 7, 2021

New Publication

Simpson, J.E.; Holman, F.; Nieto, H.; Voelksch, I.; Mauder, M.; Klatt, J.; Fiener, P.; Kaplan, J.O. High Spatial and Temporal Resolution Energy Flux Mapping of Different Land Covers Using an Off-the-Shelf Unmanned Aerial System. Remote Sens. 2021, 13, 1286.
 

Read more
March 19, 2021

New Publication

Pasquale Borrelli et al.(2021): Soil erosion modelling: A global review and statistical analysis

 

 

Read more
March 12, 2021

Microplastics in Soils

Under the direction of the Augsburg geographer Prof. Dr. Peter Fiener, a Europe-wide "EU Innovative Training Network" has been launched to investigate the pollution of agricultural soils with macro- and microplastics. A total of 14 doctoral students at eleven European research institutions are working on the topic. Their expertise gained from research should bring influence to bear with innovative products, services and ideas for the economy and society.

 

Read more

Contact

Professor
Water and Soil Resource Research
Secretary
Physical Geography and Climate Science
Administrative Assistant TropSoc & MONSOON
Water and Soil Resource Research

Search

Die Arbeitsgruppe beschäftigt sich mit einer möglichst holistischen Betrachtung der Wechselwirkungen zwischen Landnutzung, Landmanagement und Wasser- und Bodenressourcen. Dabei steht interdisziplinäre Forschung am Querschnitt von Hydrologie, Bodenkunde, Geomorphologie, Agronomie und Biogeochemie im Vordergrund der Arbeiten.

 

Besonderes wissenschaftliches Interesse der Arbeitsgruppe liegt auf:

 

  • Oberflächenabfluss und Bodenverlagerung im Zusammenhang mit Landschaftsmuster, wobei Aspekte der Konnektivität besonders wichtig sind.
  • Verlagerung von Bodenkohlenstoff durch Wasser- und Bearbeitungserosion und Analyse der Auswirkungen dieser Prozesse auf die terrestrische und aquatische Kohlenstoffbilanz.
  • Bodenkohlenstoffbilanzen in Abhängigkeit von Pflanzenwachstum, Mikroorganismenaktivität und klimatischen und geologischen Faktoren.
  • Mikroplastik in landwirtschaftliche genutzten Böden.
  • Nachhaltiges Management von Wasser und Bodenressourcen.
  • Interaktionen zwischen Landnutzung und -management und regionalem Klima

 

 

Zur Analyse unterschiedlicher Aspekte der Wasser-, Sediment- und Kohlenstoffflüsse werden in der Arbeitsgruppe konzeptionelle und physikalisch basierte Modelle genutzt und weiterentwickelt. Darüber hinaus werden Prozessstudien im Feld und Labor durchgeführt. Die Arbeitsgruppe verfügt über ein modernes Labor zur Analyse von Kohlenstoff, Stickstoff und Phosphor in festen, flüssigen und gasförmigen Proben. Darüber hinaus stehen Geräte zur Mikroplastikanalytik zur Verfügung. 

 

 

Neben der Forschung in Zentraleuropa, ist die Arbeitsgruppe im tropischen Süden Indiens sowie in Zentral- (TropSOC Projekt) und Westafrika (MONSOON Projekt) aktiv.

Working Group News

18. Mai 2020

Covid-19: Bibliothek & Abschlussarbeiten

Die Universitätsbibliothek erweitert die kontaktlose Ausleihe auf Studierende mit Literaturbedarf für den Studienabschluss. Dies zielt auf diejenigen ab, die gerade eine Abschlussarbeit schreiben oder für Staatsexamensprüfungen lernen müssen. Der nächste angestrebte Schritt ist dann die Literaturversorgung für alle Studierenden. Die Campus Card gilt auch ohne Validierung für das SoSe bis auf Weiteres als Fahrschein. Informieren Sie sich bitte regelmäßig auf unserer Corona-Seite.

Weiterlesen
13. Mai 2020

Weiterlesen
15. Februar 2020

New Lab equipment

In the framework of the BMBF project „Microplastic in fresh water systems (MicBin)“ the team acquired a new 3D Laser Scanning Confocal Microscope (Keyence VX1000) which is used to develp new methods to detect microplastic in soil samples.

Weiterlesen

Contact

Studiendekan Geographie
Wasser- und Bodenressourcenforschung
Sekretärin
Physische Geographie mit Schwerpunkt Klimaforschung
Administrative Assistant TropSoc & MONSOON
Wasser- und Bodenressourcenforschung

Suche