COMBO

Combination of Planning, Self-Organization and Reconfiguration in a Robot Ensemble for Handling ScORe Missions

Overview

Mobile multi-robot systems gain increasing attention in research and industry. Among others, this development was driven by the fact that controlling these devices had become much easier recently through advanced electronics, miniaturization and thus more powerful onboard control systems, available at affordable prices. While applications in the domain of Search and Rescue (SAR) have profited from this development for years in a multitude of projects from different environments, the potential of multi-robot applications now is recognized in many other domains. These include environmental research, distributed surveillance of critical infrastructure, or dealing with major catastrophes (e.g., chemical accidents, flood, major fires), among others.

 

We identified common steps, relevant in all of these applications, and call them ScORe missions involving Search, continuously Observe and React tasks. Existing approaches have shown that ensembles of aerial robots (UAVs) and ground vehicles are suitable for coping with ScORe missions. However, those approaches often focus on isolated tasks of one ScORe mission or are tailored to particular applications. This specialization is necessary due to specific requirements to the robots’ capabilities in dedicated applications or environments. Besides different task requirements, the ensemble is faced with uncertainties when dealing with ScORe missions. Examples for common uncertainties are defects of robots at run-time, lack of clarity regarding the initial (environmental) setting the ensemble has to work in, and its development during run-time. These uncertainties make it hard to calculate a complete plan (including task scheduling and allocation) for each robot of the ensemble in advance. Complex ScORe missions clearly call for adaptation at run-time.

 

Our project aims at developing a reference system architecture for robot ensembles to handle such missions with focus on aerial robots and mobile ground vehicles. Therefore our project follows the idea of combining classic planning approaches with self-organization mechanisms to enable the robot ensemble to adapt to unforeseen changes in the ensembles as well as in the environment and to react appropriately, without time-intensive re-planning phases, and as autonomous as possible throughout all tasks of a ScORe mission. To equip a robot ensemble with the necessary degree of freedom, we propose to enhance existing modular hardware components with semantic knowledge, to make them self-aware. This allows the ensemble to reason about and optimize the current situation by initiating reconfigurations on the hardware and the software level at run-time.

 

Funded by

 

Key Facts

Start date:
01.07.2019
End date:
30.06.2022
Duration:
3 years

 

 

Videos

Complex robot missions clearly call for adaptation at run-time. Therefore COMBO follows the idea of combining classic planning approaches with self-organization mechanisms to enable the robot ensemble to adapt to unforeseen changes in the ensemble as well as in the environment and to react appropriately, without time-intensive re-planning phases, and as autonomous as possible throughout all tasks of a mission.

Dr. Hella Ponsar, local head of project

Team

Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Director
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

COMBO

Kombination von Planung, Selbstorganisation und Rekonfiguration in einem Roboterensemble zur Ausführung von ScORe-Missionen

Überblick

Mobile Multi-Roboter-Systeme gewinnen in Forschung und Industrie zunehmend an Bedeutung. Diese Entwicklung wurde unter anderem dadurch getrieben, dass die Steuerung dieser Geräte in letzter Zeit durch fortschrittliche Elektronik, Miniaturisierung und damit leistungsfähigere On-Board-Steuerungssysteme, die zu erschwinglichen Preisen erhältlich sind, wesentlich einfacher geworden ist. Während Anwendungen im Bereich Search and Rescue (SAR) seit Jahren in einer Vielzahl von Projekten aus unterschiedlichen Umgebungen von dieser Entwicklung profitieren, wird das Potenzial von Multi-Roboter-Anwendungen heute auch in vielen anderen Bereichen erkannt. Dazu gehören unter anderem Umweltforschung, verteilte Überwachung kritischer Infrastrukturen oder die Bewältigung großer Katastrophen (z.B. Chemieunfälle, Überschwemmungen, Großbrände).

 

Wir haben gemeinsame Schritte identifiziert, die für alle diese Anwendungen relevant sind, und nennen sie ScORe-Missionen. ScORe-Mission enthalten Aufgaben aus den Bereichen Suche (S), kontinuierliche Überwachung (cO) und Reaktionen (Re). Bestehende Ansätze haben gezeigt, dass Ensembles von Flugrobotern (UAVs) und Bodenfahrzeugen für die Bewältigung von ScORe-Missionen gut geeignet sind. Diese Ansätze konzentrieren sich jedoch oft auf Teilaufgaben einer ScORe-Mission oder sind auf bestimmte Anwendungen zugeschnitten. Diese Spezialisierung ist notwendig, da spezifische Anforderungen an die Fähigkeiten der Roboter in speziellen Anwendungen oder Umgebungen gestellt werden. Neben den unterschiedlichen Aufgabenanforderungen ist das Ensemble mit Unsicherheiten im Umgang mit ScORe-Missionen konfrontiert. Beispiele für häufige Unsicherheiten sind Defekte von Robotern zur Laufzeit, Unklarheiten über die anfängliche (Umwelt-)Situation, in der das Ensemble arbeiten muss, und dessen Entwicklung zur Laufzeit. Diese Unsicherheiten erschweren es, einen kompletten Plan (einschließlich Aufgabenplanung und -zuordnung) für jeden Roboter des Ensembles im Voraus zu berechnen. Komplexe ScORe-Missionen erfordern eindeutig eine Anpassung zur Laufzeit.

 

COMBO hat sich als Ziel gesetzt, eine Referenzsystemarchitektur für Roboterensembles, mit Schwerpunkt auf Flug- und Mobilrobotern, zu entwickeln, um solche Missionen zu bewältigen. Daher folgt unser Projekt der Idee, klassische Planungsansätze mit Selbstorganisationsmechanismen zu kombinieren. Damit kann sich das Roboterensemble an unvorhergesehene Veränderungen sowohl in den Ensemblen als auch in der Umgebung anpassen und angemessen, ohne zeitintensive Neuplanungsphasen und so autonom wie möglich über alle Aufgaben einer ScORe-Mission hinweg reagieren. Um ein Roboterensemble mit dem notwendigen Freiheitsgrad auszustatten, schlagen wir vor, bestehende modulare Hardwarekomponenten mit semantischem Wissen zu erweitern. So kann das Ensemble die aktuelle Situation durch Rekonfigurationen auf Hard- und Softwareebene zur Laufzeit analysieren und optimieren.

Förderung 

 

Eckdaten

Start:
01.07.2019
Ende:
30.06.2022
Laufzeit:
3 Jahre

 

 

Videos

Komplexe Robotermissionen erfordern Anpassungen zur Laufzeit. Daher folgt COMBO der Idee, klassische Planungsansätze mit Selbstorganisationsmechanismen zu kombinieren, um Roboterensembles zu befähigen, sich auf unvorhergesehene Veränderungen im Ensemble und in der Umgebung einzustellen und während der Ausführung einer Mission angemessen und möglichst autonom auf diese Veränderungen zu reagieren und dabei zeitintensive Umplanungsphasen zu vermeiden.

Dr. Hella Ponsar, lokale Projekleitung

Team

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Akademischer Rat
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Akademische Rätin
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Institutsdirektor
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche