Safety and security are two essential aspects of systems and software.

 

Security and privacy play an increasingly important role in our lives as a growing number of everyday devices becomes interconnected. Information that was previously handled offline is now made accessible to a myriad of devices and web services, thus providing a much larger attack surface and a bigger potential for information leakage than in the past.
One recent development is the digitalization of production, which is reflected in trends such as Industry 4.0 and the Industrial IoT. The core of this development is the connection of classical production facilities with each other and with the Internet to enable remote monitoring and the automation of supply chains. However, interconnecting systems also leads to new problems; in particular, formerly isolated production systems are now also exposed to threats from the Internet. At ISSE, we develop methods and tools to develop secure systems and to check, test and verify their security properties.

 

Safety aims to identify and prevent hazards that may cause economic or ecological damage, injury or even loss of lives. In order to cope with the rising complexity of the development of (software-intensive) safety-critical systems, formal methods of software engineering can be applied to the analysis of safety-critical systems: Based on formal system models, such analysis methods are able to identify all combinations of component failures of a system that may cause the occurrence of a potentially dangerous situation.

 

Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
  • Room 3013 (Building N)

Hot Topics

Cloud Data Security

The current trend to store and analyze large amounts of data in the cloud requires new encryption techniques to protect the confidentiality of the data while working with it.

Verification of Cryptographic Protocols

In a highly distributed digital world, in which most devices communicate with each other, it is essential that the authenticity, integrity and confidentiality of the communication partners is proven.

Privacy Protection

The ever-increasing number of connected devices and their sensors, but also new threats like tracking user behavior on the Web, require advanced techniques to detect and prevent privacy threats.

Security in the Internet of Things

In order to secure low-power devices in the Internet of Things, new lightweight cryptography and physically unclonable functions are necessary. Larger, but previously unconnected devices such as brownfield production plants require new security frameworks for controlling and monitoring.

Security Engineering

Recent malware attacks show that security cannot be achieved if it is not explicitly guaranteed by design. New engineering methods need to be developed to guarantee security in the Internet of Things, especially in the context of Industry 4.0.

Security is essential for developing trust in IT systems. Without security, IoT and Industry 4.0 will fail.

Dr. Dominik Haneberg

Services

  1. Consulting in the introduction of individual security solutions in enterprises
  2. Support in the improvement of the developed software's security (software engineering process, guidelines for users, tools for static analysis, use of cryptography, ...)

Completed Projects

IFlow

IFlow integrates formally verified information flow control (IFC) properties and language based type systems for IFC with a software engineering approach based on model driven development.

SecureMDD

SecureMDD is a model-driven approach to develop security-critical applications that are based on cryptographic protocols. The approach seamlessly integrates the generation of code and formal methods.

Go!Card

The Go!Card project provides methods for the model-based development and verification of secure Java Smart Card applications.

Team

Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Director
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

Safety (Betriebssicherheit) und Security (Informationssicherheit) sind zwei wesentliche Aspekte von Softwaresystemen.

 

Informationssicherheit und Datenschutz spielen eine immer größere Rolle in unserem Leben, da eine stetig wachsende Zahl alltäglicher Geräte miteinander kommunizieren kann. Informationen, die bisher offline verarbeitet wurden, werden nun einer Vielzahl von Geräten und Webservices zugänglich gemacht, was eine viel größere Angriffsfläche und ein größeres Potenzial für Informationslecks bietet als in der Vergangenheit.

Eine aktuelle Entwicklung ist die Digitalisierung der Produktion, welche sich in Trends wie Industrie 4.0 und dem Industrial IoT äußert. Kern dieser Entwicklung ist die Verbindung klassicher Produktionsanlagen untereinander und mit dem Internet, um Fernüberwachung und die Automatisierung von Lieferketten zu ermöglichen. Allerdings führt die Vernetzung der Anlagen auch zu neuen Problemen, insbesondere sind ehemals abgeschottete Produktionsanlagen nun auch Bedrohungen aus dem Internet ausgesetzt. Im ISSE entwickeln wir Methoden und Werkzeuge, um sichere Systeme zu entwickeln und deren Sicherheitseigenschaften zu überprüfen, zu testen und zu verifizieren.

 

Betriebssicherheit zielt auf die Identifizierung und Vermeidung von Gefährdungen, die wirtschaftliche oder ökologische Schäden, Verletzungen oder sogar den Verlust von Menschenleben verursachen können. Um der steigenden Komplexität in der Entwicklung von (softwareintensiven) sicherheitskritischen Systemen gerecht zu werden, können formale Methoden des Software-Engineerings auf die Analyse sicherheitskritischer Systeme angewendet werden: Basierend auf formalen Systemmodellen sind solche Analysemethoden in der Lage, alle Kombinationen von Komponentenausfällen eines Systems zu identifizieren, die das Auftreten einer potenziell gefährlichen Situation verursachen können.

Akademischer Rat
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
  • Raum 3013 (Gebäude N)

Aktuelle Themen

Datenschutz in der Cloud

Der aktuelle Trend, große Datenmengen in der Cloud zu speichern und zu analysieren, erfordert neue Verschlüsselungstechniken, um die Vertraulichkeit der Daten auch während der Verarbeitung zu schützen.

Verifikation von kryptographischen Protokollen

In einer hochgradig verteilten digitalen Welt, in der die meisten Geräte miteinander kommunizieren, ist die Beweisbarkeit von Authentizität, Integrität und Vertraulichkeit der Kommunikationspartner unerlässlich.

Schutz der Privatsphäre

Die ständig wachsende Anzahl internetfähiger Geräte und Sensoren, aber auch neue Möglichkeiten zum Tracking im Internet erfordern fortschrittliche Techniken zum Schutz der Privatsphäre, die Bedrohungen frühzeitig erkennen und verhindern.

Sicherheit im Internet of Things

Um leistungsschwache Geräte im Internet der Dinge zu sichern, sind neue, leichtgewichtige Kryptographie und hardwarebasierte Sicherheitsmodule (z.B. Physical unclonable functions, PUF) notwendig. Größere, bisher nicht vernetzte Geräte wie Produktionsanlagen erfordern neue Sicherheits-Frameworks für Steuerung und Überwachung.

Security Engineering

Jüngste Malware-Angriffe zeigen, dass Sicherheit nicht erreichbar ist, wenn sie nicht ausdrücklich schon durch das Design der Software garantiert wird. Insbesondere im Rahmen von Industrie 4.0 müssen neue Entwicklungsmethodiken entwickelt werden, um Sicherheit "by Design" gewährleisten zu können.

Security ist unabdingbar für das Vertrauen in IT-Systeme. Ohne Security haben IoT und Industrie 4.0 keine Zukunft.

Dr. Dominik Haneberg

Dienstleistungen

  1. Beratung bei der Einführung individueller Sicherheitslösungen in Unternehmen
  2. Unterstützung bei der Verbesserung der Sicherheit der entwickelten Software (Software-Engineering-Prozess, Richtlinien für Anwender, Tools zur statischen Analyse, Einsatz von Kryptographie,....)

Abgeschlossene Projekte

IFlow

IFlow integriert formal verifizierte IFC-Eigenschaften (Information Flow Control) und sprachbasierte Typsysteme für IFC mit einem Software-Engineering-Ansatz, der auf modellgetriebener Entwicklung basiert.

SecureMDD

SecureMDDD ist ein modellgetriebener Ansatz zur Entwicklung sicherheitskritischer Anwendungen, die auf kryptographischen Protokollen basieren. Der Ansatz verbindet Codegenerierung und formale Methoden nahezu nahtlos.

Go!Card

Das Go!Card Projekt bietet Methoden zur modellbasierten Entwicklung und Verifikation von sicheren Java Smart Card Anwendungen.

Team

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Akademischer Rat
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Institutsdirektor
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche