Research Profile

We pursue research in the following six domains:

Software and Systems Engineering

Software and Systems Engineering investigates processes, methods, techniques, and tools for developing high-quality software systems, spanning the whole development life-cycle, from requirements engineering to system deployment and maintenance.

Formal Methods

The goal of formal methods in software engineering is to provide techniques for developing highly reliable as well as security critical software. Two steps are required to achieve this goal: An unambiguous specification of the system requirements and a mathematical proof (verification) that the implementation adheres to this specification.

Software-driven Robotics and Automation

The institute performs leading edge research in the area of software-driven robotics and automation. The focus lies on transferring software engineering methods and tools to the mechatronics domain, such as using modern programming platforms for industrial robots.

Artificial Intelligence Methods

In artificial intelligence, we design software systems that exhibit some form of "intelligent behavior" -- ranging from perceiving the system's environment to making effective decisions in a rational and autonomous manner without human intervention.

Self-organizing Systems

The complexity of future software systems embedded in a dynamic environment challenges traditional system design. Our focus is the systematic design of reliable autonomous systems incorporating descriptive modeling, testing, and formal verification to ensure their correctness despite autonomy.

Safety and Security

Safety and security are two essential aspects of systems and software. Safety-critical systems may cause serious economic or environmental damage, injuries, or even loss of lives. Further, as our devices become more interconnected, security and privacy continue to play an increasingly larger role in our lives.

Services

In these domains, we offer services that include:

  1. Training for software design and development
  2. Support for software development for robotic systems and automation
  3. Advice for the introduction of new software technologies (innovation management)
  4. Evaluation of software quality
  5. Analysis and design of safety-critical systems
  6. Application-oriented contract research, consulting, and advanced training

For further information, please click on the corresponding domain above.

 

 

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

Forschungsbereiche

Das Institut forscht in folgenden sechs Bereichen:

Software & Systems Engineering

Software und Systems Engineering untersucht Prozesse, Methoden, Techniken und Werkzeuge zur Entwicklung von qualitativ hochwertigen Softwaresystemen, über den gesamten Entwicklungszyklus von der Erhebung von Anforderungen bis hin zu Softwareeinsatz und -wartung.

Formale Methoden

Das Ziel der Formalen Methoden im Software Engineering ist es, Techniken zur Entwicklung von Software mit höchsten Zuverlässigkeits- und Sicherheitsanforderungen bereitzustellen. Dafür sind zwei Schritte notwendig: Eine eindeutige Spezifikation der Systemanforderungen und ein mathematischer Beweis (Verifikation) dass die Implementierung die Spezifikation erfüllt.

Softwaregetriebene Robotik und Automation

Das Institut führt Spitzenforschung im Bereich der softwaregetriebenen Robotik und Automation durch. Der Fokus liegt darauf, Methoden und Werkzeuge des Software Engineering auf die Mechatronik anzuwenden, zum Beispiel durch moderne Programmierplattformen für Industrieroboter.

Methoden der Künstlichen Intelligenz

Künstlichen Intelligenz handelt von Softwaresystemen, die eine Form "intelligenten Verhaltens" zeigen - von der Wahrnehmung der Systemumgebung bis hin zum autonomen Treffen rationaler Entscheidungen ohne menschliche Intervention.

Selbstorganisierende Systeme

Die Komplexität von zukünftigen Softwaresystemen in dynamischen Umgebungen stellt den traditionellen Systementwurf vor Herausforderungen. Unser Fokus liegt im systematischen Entwurf zuverlässiger autonomer Systeme mit anschaulicher Modellierung, Test und formaler Verifikation, um die Korrektheit trotz Autonomie zu gewährleisten.

Safety und Security

Sicherheit und Betriebssicherheit sind zwei essentielle Aspekte von Systemen und Software. Sicherheitskritische Systeme können schwere Schäden für Wirtschaft oder Umwelt, Verletzungen oder sogar den Verlust von Leben verursachen. Weiterhin spielt Sicherheit und Privatsphäre durch die immer größere Anzahl verbundener Geräte eine wachsende Rolle in unserem Leben.

Angebotene Dienstleistungen

In den oben genannten Bereichen bieten wir verschiedene Dienstleistungen, unter anderem:

  1. Schulungen für Softwareentwurf und -entwicklung
  2. Unterstützung bei der Softwareentwicklung für Robotersysteme und Automatisierung
  3. Beratung bei der Einführung von neuen Softwaretechnologien (Innovationsmanagement)
  4. Beurteilung von Softwarequalität
  5. Analyse und Entwurf von sicherheitskritischen Systemen
  6. Anwendungsorientierte Auftragsforschung, Beratung und erweitertes Training

Klicken Sie für weitere Informationen auf einen der Bereiche oben.

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche