Software and Systems Engineering investigates processes, methods, techniques, and tools for developing high-quality software systems, spanning the whole development life-cycle, from requirements engineering to system deployment and maintenance. Software and Systems Engineering is at the heart of our research, teaching and knowledge transfer activities. Our research focuses on safety- and security-critical systems, model-driven development, verification and quality assurance, as well as process development and improvement. Fields of application are, among others, self-organizing (OC-) systems, component-oriented systems, and mechatronics and robotics. We offer courses in Software and Systems Engineering at Augsburg University and especially in the Elite Graduate Program Software Engineering.

Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
  • Room 3013 (Building N)

Hot Topics

Software Visualization

The inner quality of software is critical for its sustainability. Techniques from Software Visualization make it possible to find and display technical debt in a software system.

Agile Development

Time-to-market and the ability to rapidly adapt to a changing economic environment are nowadays important characteristics of software development. Agile Methods help to implement features swiftly and nevertheless provide software of a high quality.

Microservices

For a lot of applications scalability is a key feature. Microservices are an architectural pattern that enables a software design for easy horizontal scaling.

Writing some software which does its job now is quite simple. Writing it in a way that ensures that it can still be enhanced and extended in five years is the real challenge.

Dr. Dominik Haneberg

Software and Systems Engineering

Software and Systems Engineering addresses the central topics of software development and systems design: Methods, processes and practices for a systematic and well-structured development of software systems. The activities of a software engineer range from the first contact with the customer to work out the requirements for the system through requirements analysis, software architecture and object-oriented design to testing and maintenance. A wide variety of process models is available for different types of projects, ranging from agile methods (e.g. Scrum and Kanban) for smaller and more explorative projects to heavy-weight processes like the Unified Process or the V-Model for large and long-term system development efforts. Formulating artifacts in software development requires knowledge and understanding of different specification techniques like use-cases and UML diagrams as well as formal annotations like OCL. Software architecture, design patterns and the principles of object-oriented design are required to turn the customer’s requirements into a reliable, maintainable and sustainable design of the system. Systems engineering focuses on the specifics of analyzing and designing heterogeneous system landscapes. It deals with coupling software with its environment which can be an enterprise application landscape (Enterprise Application Integration) as well as special hardware (Embedded Software, hardware-software-codesign). These integrated systems often have special requirements emerging from the system as a whole. We are dealing with all these aspects of software and systems engineering in our teaching and offer knowledge-transfer and consulting as well as joint research efforts on all these topics. Our research focuses on modeling techniques and languages for security and safety, software development for self-organizing (OC-) systems and component-oriented software development.

The goal of our research is to enhance the state-of-the-art in Software and Systems Engineering to have applications with higher quality in a shorter time.
Our manifold research activities include:

  • SAVE ORCA deals with the systematic design of reliable Organic Computing applications and offers a development guideline for such systems
  • Secure-MDD develops a model-driven method for the design and implementation of security-critical systems
  • GO!Card combined formal and semi-formal methods into a rigorous development process for secure smartcard applications
  • SoftRobot developed a new software architecture for controlling industrial robots

Services

  1. Training in software engineering technologies and methods: modeling, object-oriented analysis and design, classical and agile software engineering processes, requirements engineering, testing

  2. Development and survey of architectures for innovative software projects

  3. Consulting and supervision of software projects and projects for the development of software intensive systems

  4. Evaluation of the quality of the development process of a development team
  5. Investigation of legacy systems with a focus on technical debt and architecture erosion

Team

Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Director
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

Software und Systems Engineering untersucht Prozesse, Methoden, Techniken und Werkzeuge für alle Abschnitte der Entwicklung qualitativ hochwertiger Softwaresysteme, vom Requirements Engineering bis zur Inbetriebnahme und der Wartung. Software und Systems Engineering bildet den Kern unserer Forschung, Lehre und Wissenstransferaktivitäten. Unsere Forschung fokussiert sich auf sicherheitskritische Systeme, modellbasierte Entwicklung, Verifikation und Qualitätssicherung sowie Prozeßentwicklung und -verbesserung. Anwendungsfelder sind unter anderem selbstorganisierende (OC-)Systeme, komponentenorientierte Systeme sowie Mechatronik und Robotik. Wir bieten an der Universität Augsburg und insbesondere im Elitestudiengang Software Engineering Lehrveranstaltungen in Software und Systems Engineering an.

Akademischer Rat
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
  • Raum 3013 (Gebäude N)

Aktuelle Themen

Softwarevisualisierung

Die innere Qualität von Software ist entscheidend für ihre Zukunftsfähigkeit. Mit Techniken der Softwarevisualisierung lassen sich technische Schulden in Softwaresystemen aufspüren und darstellen.

Agile Entwicklung

Time-to-market und die Fähigkeit, schnell auf ein sich änderndes Geschäftsumfeld reagieren zu können sind heute entscheidende Merkmale der Softwareentwicklung. Agile Methoden helfen, Features schnell umzusetzen und trotzdem eine hohe Qualität der Software zu gewährleisten.

Microservices

Skalierbarkeit spielt für viele Anwendungen eine große Rolle. Mit Microservices als Architekturmuster kann Software so gestaltet werden, dass eine horizontale Skalierung einfach möglich ist.

Ein Stück Software zu schreiben, das jetzt sein Aufgabe erfüllt, ist einfach. Die Software so zu schreiben, dass sie in fünf Jahren noch weiterentwickelt werden kann, ist die eigentliche Herausforderung.

Dr. Dominik Haneberg

Software und Systems Engineering

Software und Systems Engineering adressiert die zentralen Themen von Softwareentwicklung und Systemdesign: Methoden, Prozesse und Techniken für eine systematische und strukturierte Entwicklung von Softwaresystemen. Die Aufgaben eines Softwareentwicklers reichen vom ersten Kontakt mit dem Kunden zur Findung der Requirements über die Analyse der Requirements, Softwarearchitektur und objektorientiertes Design bis zum Testen und der Wartung.

 

Eine Vielzahl von Entwicklungsprozessen ist für unterschiedliche Arten von Projekten verfügbar, von agilen Methoden (z.B. Scrum und Kanban) für explorative Projekte bis hin zu schwergewichtigen Prozessen wie dem Unified Process oder dem V-Modell für große und langwierige Entwicklungsvorhaben. Das Erstellen von Entwicklungsartefakten erfordert Kenntnis von unterschiedlichen Spezifikationstechniken wie Use-Cases und UML-Diagrammen sowie formalen Notationen wie OCL. Softwarearchitektur, Designpatterns und die Prinzipien objektorientierten Design sind ebenso nötig, um Kundenanforderungen in ein verlässliches, wartbares und nachhaltiges Systemdesign zu übertragen. Das Systems Engineering fokussiert speziell auf die Analyse und das Design von heterogenen Anwendungslandschaften. Es beschäftigt sich der Einbettung einer Software in ihre Umgebung, die eine unternehmensweite IT-Landschaft sein kann (Enterprise Application Integration) aber auch besondere Hardware im Falle eingebetteter Systeme (Hardware-Software-Codesign). Solch integrierte Systeme haben oft spezielle Anforderungen, die sich aus dem System als Ganzes ergeben. Wir beschäftigen uns mit all diesen Aspekten des Software und Systems Engineering in unseren Lehrveranstaltungen, Wissenstransferaktivitäten und im Consulting sowie in gemeinsamen Forschungsaktivitäten zu all diesen Themen. In der Forschung beschäftigen wir uns besonders mit Modellierungstechniken und Sprachen für Safety und Security, Softwareentwicklung für selbstorganisierende Systeme und komponentenorientierte Entwicklung. Das Ziel unserer Forschung sind Fortschritte im Software und Systems Engineering, um Anwendungen von höchster Qualität in kürzerer Zeit entwickeln zu können. Unsere Forschungsaktivitäten umfassen unter anderem:

  • SAVE ORCA beschäftigt sich mit verlässlichen Organic Computing Anwendungen
  • Secure-MDD entwickelt ein modellbasiertes Vorgehen für die Entwicklung sicherheitskritischer Systeme
  • GO!Card kombiniert formale und semiformale Methoden zu einem Entwicklungsprozess für sichere Smartcard-Anwendungen
  • SoftRobot entwickelte eine Softwarearchitektur zur Programmierung von Industrierobotern in modernen Programmiersprachen

Dienstleistungen

  1. Schulung, Beratung und Vorträge zu softwaretechnischen Methoden und Technologien: Modellierung, objektorientierte Analyse und Design, klassische und agile Vorgehensweisen, Requirements Engineering und Testen
  2. Entwicklung und Beurteilung von Architekturen für innovative Softwareprojekte
  3. Consulting und Begleitung von Softwareprojekten
  4. Beurteilung der Prozessqualität von Entwicklungsteams
  5. Untersuchung von Legacy-Systemen auf technische Schulden und Architekturdefizite

Team

Akademischer Rat
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Institutsdirektor
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche