The Chair of Analytics & Optimization conducts research which deals with decision problems arising in the areas of pricing and revenue management as well as last-mile logistics and can be solved using operations research.
Our goal is to build simple, practical, and realistic models that allow getting model input directly from the data. By designing computationally efficient methods that are both easy and scalable, we strive to generate interesting insights and bring significant value to practice.
 
Regularly, we cooperate with industry partners like, amongst others, GLS, IBM, Sixt, TUI, and ZeppelinRental.

© University of Augsburg

Choice-Based Optimization

Modeling preferences of market participants to capture the effects of choice behavior in various optimization models constitutes the foundation of all research activities at the chair. The actors mainly considered are customers requesting services, e.g., flights or deliveries, but in some settings also service providers like occasional drivers in a crowdshipping system.

 

To segment these actors depending on their choice behavior and to specify mathematical models accordingly, different methods of data mining and machine learning are employed (e.g., clustering or preference learning). Depending on the research question, either static, deterministic or dynamic, stochastic models are developed. In the case standard software cannot be applied efficiently, we also design specialized optimization algorithms. On the one hand, this includes state-of-the-art heuristics, e.g., evolutionary algorithms and adaptive large neighborhood search, on the other hand, algorithms based on approximate dynamic programming. The latter enable real-time decision support using artificial intelligence.

 

 

© University of Augsburg

Key Fields of Application

Pricing & Revenue Management

 

Revenue management comprises concepts and methods for the optimal configuration of sales processes of services and is applied by, e.g., airlines, car rental companies or hotels. Generally, the availability of products defined on services offered is controlled over time, so that demand can be adjusted to match the remaining levels of capacity. In contrast, the closely related concept of dynamic pricing aims to steer demand by varying prices over time.

 

Last-Mile Logistics

 

The number of people who take up residence in cities is rising steadily. In connection with the increasing importance of e-commerce, this leads to an exponential growth of delivery quantities and thereby to a larger environmental impact. In this context, the term last-mile logistics describes the design and optimization of transportation activities of private logistics providers in urban areas. Considering the existing infrastructure, environmental aspects like air and noise pollution, but also the changing consumer behavior is an important part of last-mile logistics.

© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

Research in this application area includes the following questions:

  • When should an airline offer which tickets at which price? How can suitable concepts be transfered to car rental companies, hotels or digital service providers?
  • Should car rental companies and hotels offer upgrades? If so, who should recieve these offers and how does that affect the availability of certain products?
  • How can optimal pricing of (season) tickets for sports events and concerts be achieved?
  • When and to what extent should prices of seasonal goods be reduced? When should additional discount campaigns be launched? How should these campaigns be designed?
  • Is it profitable to offer flexible products, that enable the seller to decide on the exact service provision after the sale has been completed (e.g., the itinerary of a cruise)?
  • How can ancillary services, e.g., internet access during flights, increase profits? When should which customers be offered such services? 

Research in this application area includes the following questions:

  • How can the use of different modes of transportation ranging from vans to cargo bikes or drones contribute to the reduction of damage to the environment?
  • Where should so-called micro-depots be located, in which the transshipment of goods can take place? Which routes should different vehicles be assigned on a certain delivery day?
  • Which opportunities for the generation of revenues or the reduction of costs arise for parcel service providers by offering different delivery options, e.g., home delivery, in-car delivery or delivery to automated parcel terminals?
  • How should time windows chosen by the customer in the field of attended home delivery be priced in order to facilitate the construction of efficient delivery routes?
  • Which opportunities exist to integrate crowd-sourced delivery into a transportation system?

Selected Projects

Lufthansa Systems AG - Forecast of Passenger Flows

In many markets, the liberalization of air transportation has lead to a situation where competitors with greatly differing business models are facing each other. Therefore the development of a tool for forecasting passenger flows, which explicitly accounts for the higher price sensitivity of business and leisure customers, became necessary. Especially endogeneities within the data set had to be addressed. These originate from the influence of the respective competitor's revenue management on the observed prices leading to a mutual interdependency of price and demand.

Sixt AG - Capacity Control in Car Rental Revenue Management

In the course of this project, revenue management methods accounting for specific requirements of the car rental business were developed. These include, e.g., the use of upgrades and the possibility of capacity adjustments at different points in time during the planning horizon. Additionally a simulation environment was implemented, enabling the uniform evaluation of all methods in the specific planning environment of the partner company.

TUI AG, IBM Deutschland GmbH - List Price Optimization in the Tourism Industry

The travel catalogue is still the most important distribution channel for many travel companies. On behalf of IBM, a customer oriented pricing system was developed for the TUI AG, that incorporates preferences of individual customers as well as the specifics of this distribution channel. To conduct a segmentation of customers based on transactional data, methods of data mining were used. The results of this step served as an input for mathematical optimization of prices. In this way, an optimal pricing system considering various constraints could be generated.

Zeppelin Rental GmbH & Co. KG - Pricing in the Equipment Rental Industry

Dynamic markets like the equipment rental market are highly affected by economic cycles. Therefore besides asset management, dynamic pricing which is adapted to the general market behaviour is key. In the course of this pricing project with Zeppelin Rental, a process was defined which even more places the focus on the customer and aims at finding the best prices for each customer. Customer segments were derived using statistical methods and data mining to be able to analyze their requirements and willingness-to-pay. The results of this study served as a foundation for the enhancement of pricing practices within Zeppelin Rental.

Daimler AG - Modeling of Customer Choice Behaviour

In rapidly changing, highly competitive market environments, the explicit modeling of customer choice behavior to optimize the products and services offered is gaining importance steadily. In this light, different discrete choice models, including logit, (cross-) nested logit, probit and mixed logit, were evaluated. The application in practice, together with the efficient development of suitable model specifications, were at the project's core. Conclusively, possible fields of application within the automotive industry were identified.

GLS Paketdienst GmbH & Co. OHG - Optimal Design of Delivery Options

The amount of packages delivered in Germany is increasing constantly. As a result, home delivery is complemented by additional delivery options, especially in the B2C-sector. These include delivery to parcel shops and automated parcel terminals. Offering these options in the course of a targeted demand management not only leads to a reduction of transportation costs, but also of damage to the environment. The project aims at formulating optimization models for the economical assessment of different delivery options. Additionally, due to the resulting problem complexity, heuristics for their solution are developed.

Search

Die Forschung am Lehrstuhl beschäftigt sich mit der mathematischen Modellierung und Lösung betriebswirtschaftlicher Entscheidungsprobleme mit Methoden des Operations Research. Die untersuchten Probleme stammen in der Regel aus den Bereichen Pricing & Revenue Management oder Last Mile-Logistics.

 

Das Ziel ist es, handhabbare und zugleich realistische Modelle zu entwickeln, welche die im Rahmen der Digitalisierung verfügbar werdenden Daten bestmöglich nutzen. Die Entwicklung effizienter und skalierbarer Methoden und ihre Anwendung auf aktuelle Fragestellungen soll es ermöglichen, Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen, welche nicht nur aus theoretischer Sicht von Interesse sind, sondern auch Werte für die Praxis schaffen.

 

Regelmäßig werden entsprechende Fragestellungen mit Kooperationspartnern aus der Industrie bearbeitet. Dazu zählten und zählen u. a. GLS, IBM, Sixt, TUI sowie ZeppelinRental.  

© Universität Augsburg

Choice-Based Optimization

Die Modellierung von Präferenzen und des Wahlverhaltens von Akteuren in Märkten und die darauf basierende Formulierung von Optimierungsmodellen bilden das Fundament der Forschung am Lehrstuhl. Die betrachteten Akteure sind in der Regel Nachfrager von Dienstleistungen (z. B. Flüge oder Belieferungen), es kann sich aber auch um Anbieter (etwa selbständige Fahrer im Rahmen des Crowdshipping) handeln.

 

Zur Segmentierung der Akteure entsprechend ihres Wahlverhaltens und zur Kalibrierung der darauf aufbauenden Erklärungsmodelle kommen unterschiedliche Methoden der Datenanalyse und des maschinellen Lernens zum Einsatz (z. B. Clustering und Preference Learning). Je nach betrachteter Fragestellung können im Rahmen der eigentlichen Entscheidungsunterstützung statische, deterministische oder dynamische, stochastische Optimierungs­modelle entstehen. Für den Fall, dass sich die resultierenden Optimierungsmodelle unter Verwendung von Standardsoftware nicht effizient lösen lassen, werden spezialisierte Lösungsverfahren entwickelt. Zum einen handelt es sich dabei um moderne Heuristiken (z. B. evolutionäre Algorithmen und adaptive lokale Suche), zum anderen um Verfahren der approximativen, dynamischen Optimierung. Letztere ermöglichen unter Rückgriff auf Methoden der künstlichen Intelligenz, Entscheidungen in Echtzeit zu unterstützen.
 

© Universität Augsburg

Wichtigste Anwendungsfelder

Pricing & Revenue Management

 

Das Revenue Management befasst sich mit Konzepten und Methoden zur optimalen Gestaltung von Absatzprozessen für Dienstleistungen und kommt z. B. bei Fluggesellschaften, Automobilvermietungen oder Hotels zum Einsatz. Dabei wird in der Regel die Verfügbarkeit von auf den angebotenen Dienstleistungen definierten Produkten über die Zeit gesteuert, um eine bestmögliche Anpassung der Nachfrage an die verfügbare Kapazität zu erreichen. Im Gegensatz dazu erfolgt im eng verwandten Dynamic Pricing die Steuerung der Nachfrage für einzelne Produkte durch die Anpassung von Preisen über die Zeit.

Last-Mile Logistics

 

Immer mehr Menschen verlegen ihren Lebensmittelpunkt in Städte. In Verbindung mit der wachsenden Bedeutung des E-Commerce führt dies zu einem exponentiellen Wachstum der Menge auszuliefernder Waren und damit zu einer erheblichen Umweltbelastung. Unter dem Begriff Last-Mile Logistics fasst man in diesem Kontext die Gestaltung und Optimierung der Transportaktivitäten privater Dienstleister innerhalb von Städten zusammen. Dabei gilt es, die gegebene Infrastruktur, Umweltaspekte wie Schadstoff- und Lärmemmissionen, aber auch das sich wandelnde Bestell- und Konsumverhalten von Kunden zu berücksichtigen.

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

Zu den untersuchten Fragestellungen zählen:

  • Wann sollte eine Airline welche Tickets zu welchem Preis anbieten? Wie lassen sich entsprechende Konzepte auf Automobilvermietungen, Hotels oder digitale Dienstleistungen übertragen?
  • Sollten Automobilvermieter und Hotels mit Upgrades arbeiten? Wenn ja, wer soll sie bekommen? Wie ändert sich die Verfügbarkeit von Produkten?
  • Wie lassen sich Tickets für Sport- und Konzertveranstaltungen optimal bepreisen? Was gilt für Dauerkarten?
  • Wann und in welchem Umfang sollten Preise beim Verkauf von Saisonware gesenkt werden? Wann sollten zusätzliche Rabattaktionen (z. B. drei für zwei) zum Einsatz kommen? Wie sollten diese ausgestaltet sein?
  • Lohnt es sich, flexible Produkte anzubieten, bei denen der Anbieter nach der Buchung über die genaue Leistungserbringung entscheiden darf (z. B. über die Route bei Kreuzfahrten)?
  • Wie lassen sich Erlöse durch Zusatzangebote (etwa Internetzugang bei Flügen) steigern? Welche Kunden sollten wann solche Angebote erhalten?

Zu den untersuchten Fragestellungen zählen:

  • Wie kann der Einsatz unterschiedlicher Transportmittel von Kleintransportern über Lastenfahrräder bis hin zu Drohnen zur Reduktion der Umweltbelastung beitragen?
  • Wo sind in diesem Fall sogenannte Micro-Depots zu errichten, in denen die Übergabe zwischen den Transportmitteln erfolgen kann? Welche Touren sind an einem bestimmten Liefertag mit welchen Transportmitteln zu fahren?
  • Welche Möglichkeiten zur Erlösgenerierung bzw. Kostensenkung ergeben sich für Paketdienste durch das Angebot unterschiedlicher Lieferoptionen, wie die Belieferung an die Haustür, in die Packstation oder den Kofferraum des Autos eines Empfängers?
  • Wie sind Wunschzeitfenster bei der Auslieferung von Lebensmitteln im Attended Home Delivery zu bepreisen, um effiziente Liefertouren zu ermöglichen?
  • Welche Möglichkeiten bestehen im Rahmen des Crowdshipping, Lieferungen durch Kunden oder selbständige Kuriere durchführen zu lassen?

Ausgewählte Projekte

Lufthansa Systems AG - Prognose von Passagierströmen

Durch die fortschreitende Liberalisierung des Luftverkehrs stehen sich auf zahlreichen Märkten Wettbewerber mit stark unterschiedlichen Geschäftsmodellen gegenüber. Daher wurde die Weiterentwicklung eines Prognosemoduls zur Vorhersage von Passagierströmen notwendig, das insbesondere der gestiegenen Preissensitivität von Privat- wie Geschäftskunden Rechnung trägt. Es galt insbesondere Endogenitäten in der Datengrundlage zu adressieren. Diese entstehen, da die beobachteten Preise durch das vom jeweiligen Wettbewerber eingesetzte Revenue Management beeinflusst werden, was zu einer wechselseitigen Abhängigkeit von Preis und Nachfrage führt.

Sixt AG - Kapazitätssteuerung im Car Rental Revenue Management

Im Rahmen des Projektes wurden Revenue Management Ansätze entwickelt, die spezifische Anforderungen aus dem Bereich der Automobilvermietung berücksichtigen. Hierzu zählt beispielsweise der intensive Gebrauch von Upgrades oder die Möglichkeit von Kapazitätsanpassungen zu verschiedenen Zeitpunkten des Planungshorizontes. Darüber hinaus erfolgte die Konzeption und Implementierung einer Simulationsumgebung, um die Verfahren unter einheitlichen Rahmenbedingungen im spezifischen Kontext des Projektpartners evaluieren zu können.

TUI AG, IBM Deutschland GmbH - Katalogpreisoptimierung in der Tourismusbranche

Der Reisekatalog stellt für viele Reiseanbieter immer noch den wichtigsten Vertriebs­kanal dar. Im Auftrag der IBM wurde für die TUI ein kundenorien­tier­tes Preissystem entwickelt, das sowohl die individuellen Kundenpräferenzen als auch die Spezifika des Kataloggeschäfts berücksichtigt. Hierfür werden analytische Methoden des Data Mining verwendet, um auf Grundlage der Transaktionsdaten eine Kundensegmentierung durchzuführen. Diese dient als Input für die mathematische Optimierung der Preise, die unter Berücksich­tigung weiterer Nebenbedingungen ein optimales Preissystem generiert.

Zeppelin Rental GmbH & Co. KG - Preisoptimierung im Equipment Rental

Dynamische Märkte wie der „Equipment-Rental-Markt“ sind geprägt durch konjunkturelle Zyklen. So steht ein dem Marktverhalten angepasstes dynamisches Pricing neben dem Asset-Management an erster Stelle. Im Rahmen des Pricing-Projektes mit der Zeppelin Rental wurde ein Vorgehen definiert, welches den Kunden noch stärker in den Vordergrund stellt und eine für den jeweiligen Kunden bestmögliche Preisfindung zum Ziel hat. Dabei wurden mittels statistischer Methoden und Data-Mining-Verfahren Kundensegmente abgeleitet und deren Bedürfnisse und Zahlungsverhalten analysiert. Die daraus gewonnenen Daten und Erkenntnisse dienen als Grundlage für die Weiterentwicklung des Pricing innerhalb der Zeppelin Rental.

Daimler AG - Modellierung von Kundenwahlverhalten

In sich schnell verändernden, hochkompetitiven Märkten gewinnt die explizite Beschäftigung mit dem Wahl- und Kaufverhalten von Konsumenten bei der Optimierung angebotener Leistungen oder Produkte zunehmend an Bedeutung. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurden in einer Studie verschiedene Discrete Choice Modelle (u. a. Logit, (Cross-) Nested Logit, Probit sowie Mixed Logit) zur Beschreibung des Kundenwahlverhaltens evaluiert. Besonderen Raum nahm die praktische Anwendung mit der effizienten Entwicklung entsprechender Modellspezifikationen und der für die Modellschätzung benötigten Datengrundlage ein. Abschließend wurden mögliche Einsatzfelder aus dem Automobilbereich aufgezeigt.

GLS Paketdienst GmbH & Co. OHG - Optimale Gestaltung von Lieferoptionen

Das in Deutschland versandte Paketvolumen steigt stetig. Dies führt dazu, dass speziell im B2C-Bereich die Lieferung an die Haustüre um weitere Lieferoptionen ergänzt wird. Dazu zählen vermehrt die Lieferung in Paketshops und Packstationen. Durch die Nutzung entsprechender Optionen im Zuge eines gezielten Nachfragemanagements lassen sich nicht nur Transportkosten, sondern auch in erheblichem Maße die resultierende Umweltbelastung reduzieren. Im Rahmen des Projekts werden Optimierungsmodelle zur wirtschaftlichen Bewertung der unterschiedlichen Optionen erstellt. Aufgrund der resultierenden Komplexität werden zudem Heuristiken zu ihrer Lösung entwickelt.

Suche