History of the Arts and Cultural History (M.A.)

Study content

The consecutive and interdisciplinary Master's programme in Art and Cultural History integrates the subjects Classical Archaeology, Art History, Musicology, European Ethnology/Volklore and European Regional History as well as Bavarian and Swabian Regional History. It offers an in-depth examination of the visually, acoustically and socially experienceable parts of cultural history. In the interplay of the disciplines involved, the degree programme deals with cultural practices, artistic forms of design, current ways of life and their deep cultural-historical dimensions in the past and present and, in addition to interdisciplinary perspectives, also imparts disciplinary specialised qualifications. In addition, depending on the individual specialisation, it opens up the possibility of further academic training in one of the sub-disciplines.

 

 

job prospects:

  • museums and exhibitions
  • archives
  • cultural management
  • public relations
  • education
  • integration work and intercultural communication
  • NGOs and foundations
  • business
  • publishing and journalism
  • tourism
  • science and research

specialties

Interdisciplinary programme with unique combination of subjects: classical archaeology, history of the arts, cultural history, music science, European ethnology/folklore and European regional history as well as Bavarian and Swabian regional history

Course of studies facts
name: History of the Arts and Cultural History
graduation type: Master of Arts (M.A.)
study mode: full time
start of studies: winter semester, summer semester
standard period of study: 4 semester
restriction: unrestricted
german language knowledge (at least): C 1
hints: Admission requirements according to § 4 of the exam regulations in the current consolidated form. Introductory events take place closely before the start of the lecture term: https://www.uni-aug…. Start of the lecture term: https://www.stmwk.b….
end of application summer semester: 15. March
end of application winter semester: 15. September

Application Documents

  1. Application for admission to the Master’s programme (you will receive this as PDF file after your online application)
  2. Bachelor’s degree certificate or comparable degree
    If the certificate is not yet available, proof must be provided of the exam results in this programme, the number of currently accumulated credit points in your studies and the required number of credit points for achieving a degree in your study programme (Transcript of Records). Students of the University of Augsburg attach a record of their moules and courses (printable fro the STUDIS portal)
  3. Proof of language skills in at least two modern foreign langauges on level B2 CEFR One of the two foreign languages can be substituted by proof of Latin language skills. In case of a specialisation in classical archaeology, acquiring Latin language skills his advised.

For points 2 and 3 simple copies are sufficient. The overviews over your grades (2) must be attached in the original.

  1. Application for admission to the Master’s programme (you will receive this as PDF file after your online application)
  2. Bachelor’s degree certificate or comparable degree as certified copy or certified translation by a translator sworn in Germany, if the originals are not written in German, English or French. (please note: China, Vietnam and Mongolia only with original APS certificate).
    If the certificate is not available, proof of the exam results achieved in this degree programme, the number of credit points included in the calculation of the average grade, as well as the number of credit points required for the completion of the corresponding degree programme must be enclosed (Transcript of Records), which must also be available in a certified translation.

  3. Proof of language skills in at least two modern foreign langauges on level B2 CEFR One of the two foreign languages can be substituted by proof of Latin language skills. In case of a specialisation in classical archaeology, acquiring Latin language skills his advised.
  4. Proof of German language skills

Proof for numbers 3 and 4 must be provided as certified copy or certified translation if the originals are not written in German, English or French.

Application address

Universität Augsburg
Studentenkanzlei
Universitätsstr. 2
86159 Augsburg

 

 

 

To the online application

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contact student counselling

Akademische Rätin
Europäische Ethnologie/Volkskunde

Search

Studieninhalt

Der konsekutiv und interdisziplinär angelegte Masterstudiengang Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte integriert die Fächer Klassische Archäologie, Kunstgeschichte, Musikwissenschaft, Europäische Ethnologie/Volkskunde und Europäische Regionalgeschichte sowie Bayerische und Schwäbische Landesgeschichte. Er bietet eine vertiefte Auseinandersetzung mit den visuell, akustisch und sozial erfahrbaren Anteilen der Kulturgeschichte. Im Zusammenspiel der beteiligten Disziplinen setzt sich der Studiengang mit kulturellen Praktiken, künstlerischen Gestaltungsformen, aktuellen Lebensformen und ihren kulturgeschichtlichen Tiefendimensionen in Vergangenheit und Gegenwart auseinander und vermittelt neben fachübergreifenden Perspektiven auch disziplinär spezialisierte Qualifikationen. Außerdem eröffnet er – abhängig von der individuellen Schwerpunktbildung – die Möglichkeit zur akademischen Weiterbildung in einer der Teildisziplinen.

 

 

Berufsperspektiven:

  • Museums- und Ausstellungswesen
  • Archive
  • Kulturmanagement
  • Öffentlichkeitsarbeit
  • Bildungswesen
  • Integrationsarbeit und interkulturelle Kommunikation
  • NGOs und Stiftungen
  • Unternehmen
  • Verlage und Journalismus
  • Tourismus
  • Wissenschaft und Forschung

Besonderheiten

Interdisziplinärer Studiengang mir einzigartiger Fächerkombination: Klassische Archäologie, Kunstgeschichte, Musikwissenschaft, Europäische Ethnologie/Volkskunde und Europäische Regionalgeschichte sowie Bayerische und Schwäbische Landesgeschichte

Fakten zum Studiengang
Name: Kunst- und Kulturgeschichte
Studienabschluss: Master of Arts (M.A.)
Studienform: Vollzeit
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester, Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Zulassungsmodus: zulassungsfrei
Deutschkenntnisse (Mindestanforderungen): C 1
Hinweise: Zugangsvoraussetzungen gemäß §§ 4, 30 der Prüfungsordnung in der aktuellen konsolidierten Fassung.
Bewerbungsschluss Sommersemester: 01. März
Bewerbungsschluss Wintersemester: 01. September

Bewerbungsunterlagen

  1. Antrag auf Zulassung zum Masterstudiengang (erhalten Sie nach Abschluss der Online-Bewerbung als PDF)
  2. Bachelorzeugnis oder vergleichbarer Studienabschluss in einfacher Kopie.
    Falls das Zeugnis nicht vorliegt, ist ein Nachweis über die in diesem Studiengang erzielten Prüfungsergebnisse, die Anzahl der Leistungspunkte sowie die Anzahl der für den Abschluss des entsprechenden Studiums notwendigen Leistungspunkte beizufügen (Transcript of Records). Studierende der Universität Augsburg legen eine Modul- und Lehrveranstaltungsbestätigung vor (Ausdruck über das Studis-Onlineportal).
  3. Nachweis der Sprachkenntnisse in zwei modernen europäischen Fremdsprachen auf dem Niveau B1 GER (falls Sprachkenntnisse nicht durch den Abschluss nachgewiesen sind)
  4. Nachweis der Lateinkenntnisse
     

Nachweise zu den Nummern 2 bis 4 sind in einfacher Kopie beizufügen, Notenübersichten im Original.

  1. Antrag auf Zulassung zum Masterstudiengang (erhalten Sie nach Abschluss der Online-Bewerbung als PDF)
  2. Bachelorzeugnis oder vergleichbarer Studienabschluss in beglaubigter Kopie bzw. beglaubigter Übersetzung von einer/m in Deutschland be-/vereidigten Übersetzer/in, wenn die Originale nicht auf Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch verfasst sind. (Bitte beachten: China, Vietnam und Mongolei nur mit Original der APS-Bescheinigung)
    Falls das Zeugnis nicht vorliegt, ist ein Nachweis über die in diesem Studiengang erzielten Prüfungsergebnisse, die Anzahl der Leistungspunkte, die in die Berechnung der Durchschnittsnote eingehen sowie die Anzahl der für den Abschluss des entsprechenden Studiums notwendigen Leistungspunkte beizufügen (Transcript of Records), die ebenfalls in beglaubigter Übersetzung vorliegen müssen.
  3. Nachweis der Sprachkenntnisse in zwei modernen europäischen Fremdsprachen auf dem Niveau B1 GER (falls Sprachkenntnisse nicht durch den Abschluss nachgewiesen sind oder durch Muttersprache).
  4. Nachweis der Lateinkenntnisse
  5. Nachweis der deutschen Sprachkenntnisse

Nachweise zu den Nummern 3 bis 5 sind als beglaubigte Kopien ggf. be-/vereidigte Übersetzungen beizufügen, wenn Sie nicht auf Deutsch, Englisch oder Französisch ausgestellt sind.

Bewerbungsadresse

Universität Augsburg
Studentenkanzlei
Universitätsstr. 2
86159 Augsburg

 

 

Zur Online-Bewerbung

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kontakt Fachstudienberatung

Akademische Rätin
Europäische Ethnologie/Volkskunde

Suche