With its motto “Scientia et conscientia”, the University of Augsburg has committed itself to a guiding principle of increasing knowledge and being socially responsible. It thus defines itself as a place of exchange, participation and active contribution at all levels, both within the university context and in the (inter)national knowledge network. The University of Augsburg welcomes all people without restrictions and also shares knowledge regionally in a spirit of partnership.

 

The lecturers, students and employees at the University of Augsburg are currently more socio-demographically diverse than they were twenty years ago, although in an (inter) national comparison with other universities, they are much more homogeneous. Nonetheless, more and more people come together who belong to different age groups and different nationalities, who are studying with or without a general higher education entrance qualification, who come from different educational backgrounds and / or with different migration histories in their families, and who are completing their studies with a possible restriction.

 

The university is responding to the growing socio-demographic diversity by developing an increasingly strategic diversity management and sees itself as a learning organisation that benefits from the participation of many players. The milestones achieved so far include the establishment of an Office for Equal Opportunities, the signing of the Diversity Charter (2014), the establishment of the Standing Committee on Equal Opportunities and the adoption of the Equal Opportunities Concept (2018).
 

SENSITISE

A prerequisite for a positive diversity climate is sustainable sensitisation, self-reflection and awareness-raising of all people involved in university work and development. The development of the university not only requires a continuous readjustment of structures and processes, but also - based on scientific meta-analyses and studies - a set of values based on empathy, openness to change and civic responsibility.

DIFFERENTIATE

In the 21st century, knowledge can only be thought of without borders and as a universal society of all people involved in the knowledge process. Complementary to the basic attitude emphasising the equal treatment of all groups, the perception of differences also takes on a new quality. The vision of diversity is not an observation and compensation of deficits, but an energy that is fed from the sighting of potentials. It is precisely from the self-perception of diversity that the fruitful ability to innovate grows.

CORRECT

A major challenge is to recognise discrimination against minorities and to respond to it appropriately. Here, an institution is also dependent on victims or witnesses of discrimination coming forward to report it. Furthermore, it is also a matter of observing and anticipating contrary developments in the social context with regard to discrimination. Diversity management also includes taking a preventive approach.

ACTIVATE

An organisational culture of diversity and inclusion builds structures, promotes networking and supports all activities in which critically thinking, reflective people are prepared for scientific, economic, political and civil society tasks in complex democracies. The development of cultural and intercultural competences in curricular and extra-curricular formats or the application of diversity-sensitive research methods are considered to be just as relevant as the civic or cultural commitment of individual academics:

We are many

Members of the Commission for Gender Equality

© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

Search

Mit dem Wahlspruch Scientia et conscientia hat sich die Universität Augsburg zu einem Leitbild verpflichtet, Wissen zu mehren und gesellschaftlich zu verantworten. Sie definiert sich damit als einen Ort des Austausches, der Teilhabe und Mitgestaltung auf allen Ebenen, sowohl im inneruniversitären Kontext, als auch im (inter-)nationalen Wissensverbund. Die Universität Augsburg heißt alle Menschen ohne Einschränkungen willkommen und teilt Wissen auch regional partnerschaftlich.

 

Die Lehrenden, Studierenden und Mitarbeiter*innen der Universität Augsburg sind aktuell soziodemografisch diverser als noch vor zwanzig Jahren, wenn auch im (inter-) nationalen Vergleich mit anderen Hochschulen wiederum deutlich homogener. Gleichwohl treffen vermehrt Personen aufeinander, die verschiedenen Altersgruppen und unterschiedlichen Nationalitäten angehören, die mit und ohne allgemeine Hochschulreife ein Studium ergreifen, aus diversen Bildungsschichten und/oder mit unterschiedlichen Migrationsgeschichten in ihren Familien kommen, sowie ihr Studium mit einer möglichen Einschränkung absolvieren.

 

Auf die wachsende soziodemografische Diversität reagiert die Universität mit der Entwicklung eines zunehmend strategischer werdenden Diversitätsmanagements und versteht sich dabei als eine lernende Organisation, die von der Partizipation vieler Akteur*innen profitiert. Die bisher erreichten Meilensteine bestehen in der Einrichtung eines Büros für Chancengleichheit, die Unterzeichnung der Charta der Vielfalt (2014), die Gründung der Ständigen Kommission für Gleichstellungsfragen und die Verabschiedung des Gleichstellungskonzepts (2018).

SENSIBILISIEREN

Voraussetzung für ein positives Diversitätsklima ist eine nachhaltige Sensibilisierung, Selbstreflexion und Bewusstseinsbildung aller an der universitären Arbeit und Entwicklung beteiligten Personen. Die Entwicklung der Universität bedarf nicht nur einer kontinuierlichen Nachjustierung von Strukturen und Prozessabläufen, sondern - basierend auf wissenschaftlichen Metaanalysen und Studien - auch einer Wertehaltung, die auf Empathie, Offenheit für Veränderung und zivilgesellschaftlicher Verantwortung basiert.

UNTERSCHEIDEN

Wissen kann im 21. Jahrhundert nur ohne Grenzen und als universelle Gesellschaft aller am Wissensprozess beteiligten Menschen gedacht werden. Ergänzend zu der Grundeinstellung, bei der die Gleichbehandlung aller Gruppen betont wird, bekommt auch die Wahrnehmung von Unterschieden eine neue Qualität. Die Vision der Vielfalt ist nicht eine Beobachtung und Kompensation von Defiziten, sondern eine Energie, die sich aus der Sichtung von Potenzialen speist. Gerade aus dem Selbstverständnis von Diversität erwächst die befruchtende Innovationsfähigkeit.

KORRIGIEREN

Eine große Herausforderung besteht darin, die Diskriminierung von Minderheiten zu erkennen und angemessen darauf zu reagieren. Hier ist eine Institution auch darauf angewiesen, dass Betroffene oder Zeug*innen von Diskriminierung sich melden. Darüber hinaus geht es darum, auch konträre Entwicklungen im gesellschaftlichen Kontext hinsichtlich der Diskriminierung zu beobachten und zu antizipieren. Ein Diversitätsmanagement beinhaltet, sich auch präventiv auszurichten.

AKTIVIEREN

Eine Organisationskultur der Vielfalt und Inklusion bildet Strukturen, fördert Vernetzungen und unterstützt alle Aktivitäten, bei denen kritisch denkende, reflektierte Menschen auf wissenschaftliche, wirtschaftliche, politische und zivilgesellschaftliche Aufgaben in komplexen Demokratien vorbereitet werden. Die Entwicklung kultureller und interkultureller Kompetenzen in curricularen und außercurricularen Formaten oder die Anwendung diversitätssensibler Forschungsmethoden werden als ebenso relevant erachtet wie das zivile oder kulturelle Engagement einzelner Wissenschaftler*innen

Wir sind viele

Mitglieder der Kommission für Gleichstellungsfragen

 

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

Suche