The University of Augsburg, as a reform university, declared the advancement of all female university members as its goal 30 years ago. In the meantime, gender-related equality of opportunity is legally and institutionally secured in principle.

Even if a quantitative balance between men and women has not yet been achieved, women contribute their skills to the respective fields of activity with self-confidence. They set their own goals, value excellence in research and teaching, and support young female academics in achieving this as well.

 

For this reason, today's form of women’s advancement is no longer based on a deficit model, but addresses the multifactorial causes of the under-representation of women much more fundamentally, and proactively contributes to the fact that a minority has long since become a significant minority.

INCLUDE

The question of gender equality is a question for all people. Every renunciation and every restriction is met with new possibilities. In the academic world, where intellectual experiences are expanded and changed every day, it has always been about freedom and academic space. With this in mind, we want to include all those who help to shape this world and freedom - as academics, teachers and staff alike: We want to ask, communicate and inform. The "Gender - Equity" pages are a portal for this togetherness.

EDUCATE

Often it is simply due to a lack of knowledge. For our commitment to gender equality, we consult objective facts and collect knowledge about conditions and progress. We are also working on greater visibility. We want to report on successes, describe situations and show connections. That is why we provide information here about the state of gender research, projects, collaborations and networks.

PROMOTE

We promote equality with advice and action. We offer further training and funding for female researchers and develop concepts for equal opportunities at our university. We support academics in their further development with regard to the compatibility of research, teaching and individual family situations.

CHANGE

Gender equality is not a question of a private world view, but the task of all university members. The strategic responsibility for achieving this goal lies with organisational and personnel development. Together with all the contact persons at the University of Augsburg who are entrusted with these issues, we are working on strategies, concepts and the implementation of equal opportunities in order to eliminate existing disadvantages. To this end, we are represented on all the necessary committees.

Gender mainstreaming at the University of Augsburg

 

More than a quarter of a century ago, and even before the Bavarian Equal Opportunities Act of 1996, the University of Augsburg declared the advancement of all female university members to be a concern of the entire university.

Since 1990, it has been countering discrimination and promoting real equality for university members of all genders. This obligation was anchored as a basic principle in the 2001 concept for the advancement of women and equality. Since then, the concept has been updated in accordance with the regulations for academic staff (BayHSchG) and academic support staff (BayGlG).

 

On 19 November 2003, the Senate of the University of Augsburg adopted the gender mainstreaming project.

The aims of the project include:

•             Establishing gender equality permanently in all areas and at all levels of the university, and

•             Making the university a gender competent organisation.

Opening of the University of Augsburg Municipal Theatre in 1970 © University of Augsburg

 

Who does gender mainstreaming affect?

All members of the university are stakeholders. The main theme of gender mainstreaming is to create structures at the political level that enable gender equality. Women, men and people with different gender identities should not be made the same, but determinations or attributions that limit diversity should be relaxed.

Participation is important in order to be able to change something, starting with the management level and extending to all members of the university. Only together can measures be planned in a targeted manner and their effectiveness reviewed. The concept of gender mainstreaming is replacing the traditional advancement of women. Instead, the goal of gender equality comes to the fore. This means that the effects of all decision-making processes on women, men and people with other gender identities are examined in terms of equal opportunities. Through the “Amsterdam Treaty” of 1999, gender mainstreaming became authoritative for all countries of the European Union.

Female students of the University of Augsburg © University of Augsburg

 

Equal opportunities today

Equal opportunities in the education system is a question of fair access to education, participation in the education system and opportunities for advancement through education, regardless of religious, social or cultural background and gender identity. The commissioned staff at the University of Augsburg not only work on ensuring equal opportunities in the academic world, but also seek the interaction of all areas of organisational development for a university self-image that is oriented towards excellence in research, teaching and educational management.

Lecture by Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering Manteuffel at the Centre for Interdisciplinary Health Research at the University of Augsburg © University of Augsburg
“Men and women shall have equal rights. The state shall promote the actual implementation of equality between men and women and shall work towards the elimination of existing disadvantages." Article 3, paragraph 2-3 of the Basic Law

Search

Die Universität Augsburg hat als Reformuniversität bereits vor 30 Jahren die Förderung aller weiblichen Hochschulmitglieder zum Ziel erklärt. Inzwischen ist die geschlechterbezogene Chancengerechtigkeit rechtlich und institutionell prinzipiell abgesichert.

 

Auch wenn eine quantitative Ausgeglichenheit von Männern und Frauen noch nicht erreicht ist, bringen Frauen ihre Kompetenzen mit Selbstverständnis in die jeweiligen Aufgabenfelder ein. Sie bestimmen ihre Ziele selbst, legen Wert auf Exzellenz in Forschung und Lehre und unterstützen Nachwuchswissenschaftlerinnen darin, dies ebenfalls zu erreichen.


Deshalb geht die heutige Form der Frauenförderung nicht mehr von einem Defizitmodell aus, sondern setzt viel grundsätzlicher an den multifaktoriellen Ursachen der Unterrepräsentanz von Frauen an und trägt proaktiv dazu bei, dass aus einer Minorität längst eine signifikante Minorität geworden ist.

EINBEZIEHEN

Die Frage der Geschlechtergerechtigkeit ist eine Frage für alle Menschen. Jedem Verzicht und jeder Einschränkung stehen neue Möglichkeiten gegenüber. In der akademischen Welt, in der die geistigen Erfahrungen jeden Tag erweitert und verändert werden, geht es immer schon um Freiheit und wissenschaftliche Gestaltungsräume. Mit diesem Blickwinkel wollen wir alle, die diese Welt und Freiheit mitgestalten - als Wissenschaftler*in , Lehrende*r ebenso wie als Mitarbeiter*in - einbeziehen: Wir wollen fragen, kommunizieren und informieren. Die "Gender - Equity"-Seiten sind ein Portal für dieses Miteinander.

AUFKLÄREN

Oft hängt es schlicht am fehlenden Wissen. Für unseren Einsatz um Gendergerechtigkeit ziehen wir objektive Fakten zu Rate und sammeln Wissen über Zustände und Fortschritte. Auch arbeiten wir an mehr Sichtbarkeit: Wir wollen über Erfolge berichten, Sachlagen schildern und Zusammenhänge aufzeigen. Daher informieren wir hier über den Stand der Genderforschung, über Projekte, Kooperationen und Netzwerke.

FÖRDERN

Wir fördern Gleichberechtigung mit Rat und Tat. Wir bieten Weiterbildung und Förderung für Forscherinnen an und entwickeln Konzepte zur Chancengerechtigkeit an unserer Universität. Wir unterstützen Wissenschaftler*innen bei ihrer Weiterentwicklung hinsichtlich der Vereinbarkeit von Forschung, Lehre und individueller Familiensituation.

VERÄNDERN

Gender-Gerechtigkeit ist keine Frage privater Weltanschauung, sondern die Aufgabe von allen Universitätsangehörigen. Die strategische Verantwortung für das Erreichen dieses Ziels liegt bei der Organisations- und Personalentwicklung. Gemeinsam mit allen damit betrauten Anprechpartner*innen an der Universität Augsburg für diese Fragen arbeiten wir an Strategien, Konzepten und der Umsetzung von Chancengleichheit, um bestehende Benachteiligungen aufzulösen. Dafür sind wir in allen notwendigen Gremien vertreten.

Gender Mainstreaming an der Universität Augsburg

 

Vor mehr als einem Vierteljahrhundert hat die Universität Augsburg und noch vor dem Bayerischen Gleichstellungsgesetz von 1996 die Förderung aller weiblichen Hochschulmitglieder zum Anliegen der gesamten   Universität erklärt.

Seit 1990 tritt sie Diskriminierungen entgegen und fördert die tatsächliche Gleichstellung von Universitätsangehörigen aller Geschlechter. Im Konzept zur Frauenförderung und Gleichstellung von 2001 wurde diese Verpflichtung als Grundprinzip verankert. Seither wurde das Konzept entsprechend den Regelungen für das wissenschaftliche (BayHSchG) und das wissenschaftsstützende Personal (BayGlG) fortgeschrieben.

Eröffnung Uni Augsburg Stadttheater 1970 © Universität Augsburg

 

Am 19. November 2003 hat der Senat der Universität Augsburg das Projekt Gender Mainstreaming beschlossen.

Zu den Zielen des Projektes gehört es:

  • die Gleichstellung der Geschlechter dauerhaft in allen Bereichen und auf allen Ebenen der Hochschule zu etablieren und
  • die Universität zu einer geschlechterkompetenten Organisation zu machen.
Student*innen der Universität Augsburg 2019 © Universität Augsburg

Wen betrifft Gender Mainstreaming?


Alle Angehörigen der Universität sind Beteiligte. Das Hauptthema von Gender Mainstreaming ist, auf politischer Ebene jene Strukturen zu schaffen, die Geschlechtergerechtigkeit ermöglichen. Frauen, Männer und Menschen mit anderen Geschlechtsidentitäten sollen nicht gleich gemacht werden, sondern Festlegungen oder Zuschreibungen, die eine Vielfalt begrenzen, sollen gelockert werden.

 

Um etwas verändern zu können, ist Partizipation wichtig: angefangen bei der Leitungsebene bis zu allen Angehörigen der Universität. Nur gemeinsam können Maßnahmen zielführend geplant und ihre Wirksamkeit überprüft werden. Das Konzept von Gender Mainstreaming löst die traditionelle Frauenförderung ab.  Stattdessen rückt das Ziel der Geschlechtergerechtigkeit in den Vordergrund. Dies bedeutet, dass die Auswirkungen aller Entscheidungsprozesse auf Frauen, Männer und Menschen mit anderen Geschlechtsidentitäten im Hinblick auf Chancengerechtigkeit überprüft werden. Durch den „Amsterdamer Vertrag“ von 1999 wurde Gender Mainstreaming für alle Länder der Europäischen Union maßgebend.

 

Chancengerechtigkeit heute

 

Chancengerechtigkeit im Bildungssystem ist eine Frage des gerechten Zugangs zu Bildung, der Teilhabe am Bildungssystem und der Aufstiegschancen durch Bildung, ungeachtet von konfessioneller, sozialer oder kultureller Herkunft und geschlechtlicher Identität. Die beauftragten Mitarbeiter*innen an der Universität Augsburg arbeiten nicht nur an einer Gegenwart der Chancengerechtigkeit im Wissenschaftsbetrieb, sondern suchen das Zusammenspiel  aller Bereiche der Organisationsentwicklung für ein universitäres Selbstverständnis, das sich an Exzellenz in Forschung, Lehre und Bildungsmanagement ausrichtet.

Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Sabine Doering Manteuffel am Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung an der Universität Augsburg © Universität Augsburg
„Männer und Frauen sind gleichberechtigt. Der Staat fördert die tatsächliche Durchsetzung der Gleichberechtigung von Frauen und Männern und wirkt auf die Beseitigung bestehender Nachteile hin." Art. 3, Abs. 2-3 des Grundgesetzes der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Suche