Geography is a broad-based discipline and combines social and natural science issues and methods. In particular, the interactions between society and space characterise modern geography as an integrative spatial and environmental science. Its task is to develop concepts for understanding the solution of problems between humans and the environment. Geography addresses extremely current research issues and central future topics of mankind, such as climate change, environmental degradation or regional disparities. Its fields of application range from climate modelling and soil analysis to environmental and resource management through to urban and regional development.

 

 

© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

Profile

 

Degree: Bachelor of Science

Language of instruction: german

Start: Winter semester is recommended; however, start in summer semester is also possible.

Duration: 6 semesters standard period of study

Limited admission: no

Application deadline:

May 15 (summer semester)

and September 30 (winter semester)

 

to the Application

 

Course advice

Course flyer

Course schedule

Module catalogue

Examination regulations

Info sheet for freshers

 

 

Course contents

 

The accredited bachelor of science degree course in geography imparts the scientific fundamentals of all subareas of physical geography and human geography. The students set their own priorities by choosing their teaching sessions in physical geographical (climate, bio, hydrogeography, geomorphology, soil science) or human geographical (human-environment relationships, population, economy, city, power and space) topics.

 

Learning specific work methods by way of practical examples is essential for employment market opportunities. These include quantitative and qualitative methods, laboratory and field methods as well as, for example, remote investigation, geoinformatics, geostatistics, cartography, moderation, planning techniques and project management. The large breadth of the methodological education is a trademark of this course offer.

 

Starting a course in the winter semester is recommended, as starting in the summer semester could lead to study delays. The standard study period for the bachelor of science in geography is 6 semesters. Diverse master of science courses based on this are available to graduates in Augsburg or at numerous other universities.

 

 

Qualification objectives

 

  1. Deepening knowledge of geography
    Acquiring the most important scientific fundamentals across the whole width of the subject geography
  2. Extension of knowledge
    Widening and deepening knowledge and understanding beyond the limits of geography by choosing additional subjects from a broad curriculum
  3. Acquisition of strong methodical competence
    Knowledge about the width of the methods used, the acquisition and practising of fundamental methods and the competence of applying these methods in specific projects

    Acquisition of soft skills such as ability to work in a team, sense of responsibility, self-initiative and ability to communicate.

    Ability of critical reflective classification of social processes as cornerstones for subsequent applicability of the acquired knowledge in one’s career.

 

Stays abroad

 

A special feature of this course is the possibility of spending an integrated semester abroad. To this end, worldwide cooperation exist on a university and on a professional level. The compulsory work placement can also be carried out abroad.

Course structure

 

The course starts with an introduction to scientific work methods and the history of geography. At the same time, the fundamentals of physical and human geography as well as the methods of geography are taught. The first teaching sessions on regional geography can be attended in the second semester, in general these are the first field trips.

 

From the third semester, the methods are dealt with in greater depth and the fundamental knowledge is applied to specific events. The first optional subjects are also then taken. The choice of direction of specialisation and the teaching sessions chosen for it allow further study profiling. The work placement should be undertaken between the fifth and sixth semester. This is followed by the bachelor dissertation and possibly a further optional subject.

 

In the application, in-depth and to a certain extent the regional geography module groups, students can select a module from the teaching sessions offered based on their personal interests. Individual profile building also takes place in the optional subjects and the choice of work placement location as well as the topic of the bachelor degree dissertation.

 

B.Sc. course structure Geography PO2013 

 

© University of Augsburg

 

 

Areas of study

 

  • Biogeography
  • Soil science
  • Renewable energy
  • Geoinformatics
  • Hydrology
  • Climate research
  • Rural space
  • Landscape research
  • Political ecology
  • Urban geography
  • Transformations in the Global South
  • Economic geography

Optional subjects

 

We recommend that the optional subjects be taken from the third semester. You are fairly free in your choice of optional subjects. 4 optional subject modules should be taken in at least 2 optional subjects. It is possible to take 4 modules from 4 different optional subjects or from the minimum of 2 optional subjects. The following optional subject modules can be chosen at the University of Augsburg.

 

Optional subject modules, which are suitable for both areas of study:

 

  • Geoinformatics
  • Informatics
  • Mathematics for geographers
  • New energy sources
  • Resource strategy

 

Focus on human geography:

 

 

Focus on physical geography:

 

  • Soil science
  • Geobotanics
  • Geology
  • Hydrology
  • Physics of the atmosphere

Other optional subjects are possible (including at other universities), however, they require special approval by the examination board. If you have any questions concerning the content of the optional subjects, please contact the person responsible for the module (see  Module catalogue).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Search

Die Geographie ist eine breit gefächerte Disziplin, die gesellschafts- und naturwissenschaftliche Fragestellungen und Methoden verbindet. Insbesondere die Wechselwirkungen zwischen Gesellschaft und Raum kennzeichnen eine moderne Geographie als integrative Raum- und Umweltwissenschaft. Ihre Aufgabe ist die Entwicklung von Konzepten zum Verständnis der Lösung von Problemen zwischen Mensch und Umwelt. Die Geographie adressiert hoch aktuelle Forschungsfragen und zentrale Zukunftsthemen der Menscheit wie etwa Klimawandel, Umweltdegradation oder regionale Disparitäten. Ihre Anwendungsfelder reichen von der Klimamodellierung und Bodenanalytik über Umwelt- und Ressourcenmanagement bis zur Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung.

 

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

Steckbrief

 

Studienabschluss: Bachelor of Science

Unterrichtssprache: deutsch

Studienbeginn: Wintersemester wird empfohlen; jedoch auch Beginn im Sommersemester möglich.

Dauer: 6 Semester Regelstudienzeit

Zulassungsbeschränkt: nein

Bewerbungsschluss:

15. Juli (Wintersemester)

und 15. Januar (Sommersemester)

 

zur Bewerbung

 

Studiengangsberatung

Studiengangsflyer

Studienverlaufsplan

Modulhandbuch

Prüfungsordnung

Infoblatt für Studienanfänger

 

 

Studieninhalte

 

Der akkreditierte Bachelor-Studiengang Geographie vermittelt die fachwissenschaftliche Grundlagen aller Teilgebiete der Physischen Geographie und der Humangeographie. Die Studierenden setzen eigene Schwerpunkte durch die Wahl ihrer Lehrveranstaltungen in physisch-geographischen (Klima-, Bio-, Hydrogeographie, Geomorphologie, Bodenkunde) oder humangeographischen (Mensch-Umwelt-Beziehungen, Bevölkerung, Wirtschaft, Stadt, Macht und Raum) Themenfeldern.

 

Von essentieller Bedeutung für die Arbeitsmarktchancen ist das Erlernen konkreter Arbeitsmethoden an praktischen Beispielen. Hierzu zählen quantitative und qualitative Methoden, Labor- und Feldmethoden sowie unter anderem Fernerkundung, Geoinformatik, Geostatistik, Kartographie, Moderation, Planungstechniken und Projektmanagement. Die große Breite der methodischen Ausbildung ist ein Markenzeichen dieses Studienangebots.

 

Ein Beginn ist zum Wintersemester empfohlen, da bei einem Beginn im Sommersemester Verzögerungen im Studium nicht ausgeschlossen werden können. Die Regelstudienzeit für den Bachelor of Science in Geographie beträgt 6 Semester. Darauf aufbauend stehen den Absolventen diverse Master-Studiengänge in Augsburg oder an zahlreichen anderen Universitäten offen.

 

 

Auslandsaufenthalte

 

Eine Besonderheit dieses Studiengangs ist die Möglichkeit ein integriertes Auslandssemester zu absolvieren. Dazu bestehen weltweite Kooperationen auf universitärer sowie auf fachlicher Ebene. Das verpflichtende Berufspraktikum kann ebenfalls im Ausland absolviert werden.

Aufbau des Studiums

 

Der Studiengang führt mit einer Propädeutik in die wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsweisen sowie die Fachgeschichte der Geographie ein. Parallel dazu werden die Grundlagen in physischer und Humangeographie sowie die Methoden der Geographie gelehrt. Im zweiten Semester können die ersten Lehrveranstaltungen zur regionalen Geographie absolviert werden, in der Regel sind dies die ersten Exkursionen.

 

Ab dem dritten Semester werden die Methoden vertieft und das Grundlagenwissen in spezifischen Veranstaltungen angewendet. Auch die ersten Wahlfächer sollen belegt werden. Die Wahl der Vertiefungsrichtung sowie die darin gewählten Lehrveranstaltungen erlauben eine weitere Profilierung des Studiums. Das Berufspraktikum soll zwischen dem fünften und sechsten Semester absolviert werden. Daran schließen sich die Bachelorarbeit sowie eventuell noch ein weiteres Wahlfach an.

 

In den Modulgruppen Anwendung, Vertiefung sowie teilweise Regionalgeographie können Studierende nach ihren Interessen aus dem Lehrveranstaltungsangebot eines Moduls auswählen. Eine eigene Profilbildung findet ebenfalls in den Wahlfächern sowie in der Wahl des Praxisortes sowie des Themas der Bachelorarbeit statt.

 

 

Studienaufbau B.Sc. Geographie PO2013

 

© Universität Augsburg

 

 

Studienschwerpunkte

 

  • Biogeographie
  • Bodenkunde
  • Erneuerbare Energien
  • Geoinformatik
  • Hydrologie
  • Klimaforschung
  • Ländlicher Raum
  • Landschaftsforschung
  • Politische Ökologie
  • Stadtgeographie
  • Transformationen im Globalen Süden
  • Wirtschaftsgeographie

Wahlfächer

 

Die Belegung der Nebenfächer wird ab dem dritten Semester empfohlen. Bei der Wahl der Nebenfächer sind Sie ziemlich frei. Es sollen 4 Nebenfachmodule aus mindestens 2 Nebenfächern absolviert werden. Dabei ist es möglich, 4 Module aus 4 verschiedenen Nebenfächern oder aus dem Minimum von 2 Nebenfächern zu belegen. Folgende Nebenfachmodule können an der Universität Augsburg gewählt werden.

 

Nebenfachmodule, die für beide Schwerpunkte geeignet sind:

 

  • Geoinformatik
  • Informatik
  • Mathematik für Geographen
  • Neue Energien
  • Ressourcenstrategie

 

Schwerpunkt Humangeographie:

 

  • Europäische Ethnologie
  • Kulturmanagement
  • Politikwissenschaft
  • Raumordnung & Landesplanung
  • Soziologie
  • Standortentwicklung
  • Volkswirtschaftslehre

 

Schwerpunkt Phyische Geographie:

 

  • Bodenkunde
  • Geobotanik
  • Geologie
  • Hydrologie
  • Physik der Atmosphäre

Weitere Nebenfächer (auch an anderen Universitäten) sind möglich, bedürfen aber der besonderen Genehmigung durch den Prüfungsausschuss. Bei Fragen zu den Inhalten der Nebenfächer wenden Sie sich bitte an den/die Modulverantwortlichen (siehe Modulhandbuch).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Suche