© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

Info Box

 

Academic degree: Master of Science

Course language: german

Program start: winter and summer semester

Duration: 4 semesters

Restriction on admission: yes

Application deadline:

15th of July (winter semester)

and 15th of January (summer semester)

 

Application

 

study program advisor

program flyer

course schedule

module description

study and examination regulations

 

Course contents

The accredited master’s degree course in climate and environmental sciences deals with the natural science fundamentals of the climate system and imparts a well-founded understanding of its dynamics. The focal topics are climate, environment and resource research. The accompanying environmental modules include hydrology, biogeography, soil and water resources, resources strategy and remote investigation. The course is characterised by comprehensive teaching of quantitative methods.

 

A particular feature is the integration of non-university research facilities in the course of study. In this away we enable proximity to current research and specifically strengthen employment prospects. Students are given the specific option of undertaking parts of the competence acquisition planned in the course in a non-university research facility. Our graduates are specifically prepared for national and international research and employment options.

 

Qualification objectives

  • Acquisition of advanced knowledge of scientific and methodological state-of-the-art research in the area of climate and environmental sciences 
  • Strengthening the understanding of scientific procedures and scientific writing in corresponding seminars, areas of study and/or masters dissertations.
  • Extending the acquisition of competence through substantial integration of non-university research facilities, which also specifically strengthens the link to front-line research and potential employment prospects.
  • Development of the ability to classify social processes critically and further development of the awareness of responsibility and the ability to communicate within the scope of the acquisition of non-university competence

Application information

Qualification for the masters of science course in climate and environmental sciences is demonstrated by successful completion of a bachelor degree course in the natural sciences area of climate and environmental sciences at a German university (e.g. geography, meteorology, ecoclimatology, hydrology, environmental physics, geoecology, landscape ecology, forestry and agricultural sciences) with an overall grade of at least 2,5 according to the general examination regulations of the University of Augsburg or another natural sciences degree equivalent to these courses, taken in Germany or abroad, with an equivalent overall grade. Applicants who have achieved examination results with 140 credits in a course, are enrolled on the master’s course in climate and environmental sciences under the resolutive condition that they complete a course with an overall grade of at least 2.5 by the end of the semester following the first-time enrolment on the master’s course in climate and environmental sciences.

 

A detailed list with the required application documents can be found on the online application portal of the University of Augsburg. It is possible to start the course in the winter and in the summer semester. You will be notified of the matriculation date with the letter of acceptance from the student record office. [ more info...] Applicants with foreign record of prior learning, please note that, depending on your country of origin, further requirements may have to be met. For information on these, please refer to the information sheet for bachelor courses, whose regulations count by way of analogy to the masters degree courses, especially regarding German skills.

 

Course structure

On the one hand, the course imparts advanced scientific and methodological knowledge in the area of climate research and on the other hand, it offers a specific range of compulsory optional modules in environmental sciences, whereby three of the four disciplines offered must be selected and taken according to individual focus. The range includes subject areas that are closely related to the accentuation of climate research and have emphasised significance in the context of climate research. A particular feature is the substantial integration of non-university research facilities in the qualification concept, which specifically strengthens the link to front-line research and potential employment prospects.

© University of Augsburg

Integration of non-university research facilities

Students of the master’s degree course in climate and environmental sciences are given the specific option of undertaking parts of the competence acquisition planned in the course in a non-university research facility. Students who make use of this opportunity should be involved in a current ongoing research project, participate in a workgroup of the relevant non-university research facility and in doing so acquire competencies in conceptualising, implementation and presentation of results of scientific project studies of current fields of research.

 

This acquisition of non-university competence can, to a limited extent (maximum of 30 credits), take the place of the usual acquisition of competence in the university in certain modules. In particular, modules K3 (major work placement) and K4 (advanced seminar), possibly also modules or module components in the environmental module group are suitable for this. The content of the modules concerned and non-university research work must correspond with each other. This alternative opportunity of acquiring competence must always be approved by the examination board on a case-by-case basis, in close coordination between the university and the research institution concerned and must include checking of achievement of objectives. This generally occurs in the form of a colloquium talk with scientific discussion and producing a poster suitable for a conference, both based on the content and activities of the non-university research placement. Its scope must correspond to the workload of the equivalent acquisition of competence in the university. In particular, this time can also be used as preparation for the master’s dissertation. Examples of already integrated non-university research facilities are:

 

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Oberpfaffenhofen
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Campus Alpin, Garmisch-Partenkirchen
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg
  • Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung, Potsdam
  • Deutscher Wetterdienst, Observatorium Hohenpeißenberg
  • Kommission für Erdmessung und Glaziologie der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, München
  • Landesanstalt für Umwelt, Messungen und Naturschutz Baden- Württemberg, Karlsruhe.

 

Employment prospects

Global climate change and its diverse consequences on different spatial and timescales are classified as being the most significant and consequential environmental problems of the 21st century. This topic is extremely closely related to most subdisciplines of the area of geosciences and geography. The outlined importance of climate and environmental science tasks implies an increasing demand for expertise in this field; this not only applies in the area of basic research and the applied science (e.g. climate consequence research, development of adaptation and attenuation strategies), but also in diverse affected areas of industry, authorities, political organisations, societies and associations.

Search

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

 

Studiengangsberatung

Studiengangsflyer

Studienverlaufsplan od Modulübersicht (von der Fionaseite?)

Fakten zum Studiengang
Name: Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften
Studienabschluss: Master of Science (M.Sc.)
Studienform: Vollzeit
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester/Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit: 4 Semester
Zulassungsmodus: zulassungsfrei
Deutschkenntnisse (Mindestanforderungen): C 1
Hinweise: Zugangsvoraussetzungen gemäß § 6 der Prüfungsordnung in der aktuellen konsolidierten Fassung.
Bewerbungsschluss Sommersemester: 15. Januar *
Bewerbungsschluss Wintersemester: 15. Juli *

* Ausnahmen für grundständige Studiengänge bei Bewerber/-innen mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangs­berechtigung und Beruflich Qualifizierten.

Studieninhalte

Der akkreditierte Masterstudiengang Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften befasst sich mit den naturwissenschaftlichen Grundlagen des Klimasystems und vermittelt ein fundiertes Verständnis seiner Dynamik. Schwerpunkte liegen auf Klima-, Umwelt- und Ressourcenforschung. Die begleitenden Umweltmodule beinhalten Hydrologie, Biogeographie, Boden- und Wasserressourcen, Ressourcenstrategie und Fernerkundung. Der Studiengang zeichnet sich durch eine umfassende Vermittlung quantitativer Methoden aus.

 

Ein besonderes Merkmal ist die Einbindung außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen in den Studienverlauf. Damit ermöglichen wir die Nähe zur aktuellen Forschung und stärken gezielt Beschäftigungsperspektiven. Den Studierenden wird konkret die Möglichkeit eingeräumt, an einer außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung Teile der im Studium vorgesehenen Kompetenzaneignung zu absolvieren. Unsere Absolventen werden gezielt auf nationale und internationale Forschungs- und Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten vorbereitet.

 

Bewerbungsinformationen

Die Qualifikation für den Masterstudiengang Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften wird nachgewiesen durch den Abschluss eines Bachelorstudiengangs aus dem naturwissenschaftlichen Bereich der Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften an einer deutschen Hochschule (wie z.B. Geographie, Meteorologie, Ökoklimatologie, Hydrologie, Umweltphysik, Geoökologie, Landschaftsökologie, Forst- und Agrarwissenschaften) mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens 2,5 nach der Allgemeinen Prüfungsordnung der Universität Augsburg oder einen sonstigen, diesen Studiengängen gleichwertigen, in- oder ausländischen naturwissenschaftlichen Abschluss mit einer gleichwertigen Gesamtnote. BewerberInnen, die in einem Studiengang Prüfungsleistungen im Umfang von 140 Leistungspunkten erbracht haben, werden unter der auflösenden Bedingung in den Masterstudiengang Klima- und Umweltwissenchaften immatrikuliert, dass sie den Abschluss eines Studiengangs mit einer Gesamtnote von mindestens 2,5 bis zum Ende des auf die erstmalige Immatrikulation in den Masterstudiengang Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften folgenden Semesters nachweisen.

 

Eine detailierte Liste mit den erforderlichen Bewerbungsunterlagen finden Sie auf dem Online-Bewerbungsportal der Universität Augsburg. Der Studienbeginn ist jeweils zum Winter- und Sommersemester möglich. Der Immatrikulationstermin wird Ihnen mit dem Zulassungsbescheid der Studentenkanzlei mitgeteilt. [ mehr Infos...] Bewerberinnen und Bewerber mit ausländischem Vorbildungsnachweis beachten bitte, dass je nach Herkunftsland weitere Anforderungen erfüllt werden müssen. Informationen hierzu entnehmen Sie bitte dem Informationsblatt für Bachelor-Studiengänge, dessen Regelungen insbesondere auch bei den Deutschkenntnissen analog für Master-Studiengänge zählen.

 

Studienaufbau

Der Studiengang vermittelt zum einen fortgeschrittene Kenntnisse fachwissenschaftlicher und methodischer Art im Bereich der Klimaforschung und bietet zum anderen ein spezifisches Spektrum an Wahlpflichtmodulen aus dem Bereich der Umweltwissenschaften an, wobei drei der vier angebotenen Disziplinen nach individueller Schwerpunktsetzung auszuwählen und zu belegen sind. Das Spektrum umfasst Themenbereiche, die eng mit der Akzentuierung Klimaforschung verbunden sind und hervorgehobene Bedeutsamkeit im Kontext der Klimafolgenforschung besitzen. Als besonderes Merkmal ist die substanzielle Einbindung außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen in das Qualifizierungskonzept zu erwähnen, wodurch die Anbindung an spezifische Forschungsfronten und potenzielle Beschäftigungsperspektiven gezielte Verstärkung erfährt.

© Universität Augsburg

Einbindung außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen

Den Studierenden des Master Klima- und Umweltwissenschaften wird die Möglichkeit eingeräumt, an einer außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung Teile der im Studium vorgesehenen Kompetenzaneignungen zu absolvieren. Die Studierenden, die diese Möglichkeit wahrnehmen, sollen in ein laufendes Forschungsprojekt eingebunden werden, in einer Arbeitsgruppe an der betreffenden außeruniversitären Forschungseinrichtung mitwirken und dabei Kompetenzen in der Konzeptionierung, Durchführung und Ergebnisdarlegung von wissenschaftlichen Projektstudien auf aktuellen Forschungsfeldern erwerben.

 

Diese außeruniversitäre Kompetenzaneignung kann in begrenztem Umfang (maximal 30 Leistungspunkte) an die Stelle der üblichen universitären Kompetenzaneignung in bestimmten Modulen treten. Geeignet dafür sind insbesondere die Module K3 (Großes Praktikum) und K4 (Oberseminar), ggf. auch Module oder Modulbestandteile in der Umweltmodulgruppe. Inhaltlich müssen sich betroffene Module und außeruniversitäre Forschungsbetätigung entsprechen. Diese alternative Möglichkeit der Kompetenzaneignung muss in jedem Einzelfall vom Prüfungsausschuss genehmigt sein, in enger Abstimmung zwischen Universität und aufnehmender Institution erfolgen und eine Überprüfung der Zielerreichung beinhalten. Dies geschieht i.d.R. durch einen Kolloquiumsvortrag mit wissenschaftlicher Aussprache sowie die Erstellung eines tagungsgeeigneten Posters, beides bezogen auf die Inhalte und Aktivitäten des außeruniversitären Forschungsaufenthalts. Dessen Umfang muss dabei dem Workload der äquivalenten universitären Kompetenzaneignung entsprechen. Insbesondere kann diese Zeit auch als Vorbereitung für die Masterarbeit genutzt werden. Beispiele bereits eingebundener außeruniversitärer Forschungseinrichtungen sind:

 

  • Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Oberpfaffenhofen
  • Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Campus Alpin, Garmisch-Partenkirchen
  • Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg
  • Potsdam-Institut für Klimafolgenforschung, Potsdam
  • Deutscher Wetterdienst, Observatorium Hohenpeißenberg
  • Kommission für Erdmessung und Glaziologie der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, München
  • Landesanstalt für Umwelt, Messungen und Naturschutz Baden- Württemberg, Karlsruhe.

 

Beschäftigungsaussichten

Der globale Klimawandel und seine vielfältigen Konsequenzen auf unterschiedlichen räumlichen und zeitlichen Skalen werden als bedeutendste und folgenträchtigste Umweltproblematik des 21. Jahrhunderts eingestuft. Dieses Themenfeld steht in engstem Zusammenhang mit den meisten Teildisziplinen aus dem Bereich der Geowissenschaften und der Geographie. Die skizzierte Bedeutung von klima- und umweltwissenschaftlichen Aufgabenstellungen impliziert eine steigende Nachfrage nach Expertise auf diesem Gebiet; dies gilt nicht nur im Bereich der Grundlagenforschung und der angewandten Wissenschaft (z.B. Klimafolgenforschung, Entwicklung von Anpassungs- und Dämpfungsstrategien), sondern auch in vielfältig betroffenen Bereichen der Wirtschaft, bei Behörden, politischen Organisationen, Gesellschaften und Verbänden.

Suche