Overview

The need for flexibility and robustness of production systems has increased significantly in recent years. Small batch production, changing markets, new information through the digitization of the production process and reactions to component failures are just a few reasons.
This project focusses on integrating self-organization into production systems (for example robots, mobile transport units) to increase their flexibility and robustness. This enables us to meet the requirements for production systems in the context of the Industry 4.0 movement. The digitalization of the production process allows us to represent production systems as software agents which can detect and handle failures autonomously. These software agents can also simulate failures to have a solution in place before the failure occurs. One strategy to react to failures is to swap roles once taken in the production process. Valid role configurations are determined through constraints, which result among other things from available capabilities/tools of the production systems. For this purpose, concepts and methodologies for the development of self-organizing systems were established at the Institute. They also include analysis of the formal correctness of the systems.

 

The foundations for our self-organizing production were laid in the DFG project "SAVE ORCA".

 

Videos

Self-organization is one of the key factors for modern industrial applications to achieve the wanted flexibility. We have to ensure their correct behavior as well as a high performance despite large scale systems.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, Head of ISSE

Team

Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Senior Researcher
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering
Director
Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

Institute for Software & Systems Engineering

The Institute for Software & Systems Engineering (ISSE), directed by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, is a scientific institution within the Faculty of Applied Computer Science of the University of Augsburg. In research, the institute supports both fundamental and application-oriented research in all areas of software and systems engineering. In teaching, the institute facilitates the further development of the faculty's and university's relevant course offerings.

Search

Überblick

Der Bedarf an Flexibilität und Robustheit von Produktionssystemen ist in den letzten Jahren deutlich gestiegen. Kleinserienfertigung, sich ändernde Märkte, neue Informationen durch die Digitalisierung des Produktionsprozesses und Reaktionen auf Komponentenausfälle sind nur einige Gründe.
Im Mittelpunkt dieses Projekts steht die Integration der Selbstorganisation in Produktionssysteme (z.B. Roboter, mobile Transporteinheiten), um deren Flexibilität und Robustheit zu erhöhen. Damit können wir die Anforderungen an Produktionssysteme im Rahmen der Industry 4.0-Bewegung erfüllen. Die Digitalisierung des Produktionsprozesses ermöglicht es uns, Produktionssysteme als Software-Agenten darzustellen, die Fehler selbstständig erkennen und behandeln können. Diese Softwareagenten können auch Fehler simulieren, um proaktiv eine Lösung zu finden, bevor der Fehler tatsächlich auftritt. Eine Strategie, um auf Fehler zu reagieren, ist der Rollentausch untereinander im Produktionsprozess. Gültige Rollenkonfigurationen werden zum Beispiel durch Constraints bestimmt, die sich unter anderem aus den verfügbaren Fähigkeiten/Werkzeugen der Produktionssysteme ergeben. Zu diesem Zweck wurden am Institut Konzepte und Methoden zur Entwicklung selbstorganisierender Systeme etabliert. Dazu gehört auch die Analyse der formalen Korrektheit der Systeme.

 

Der Grundstein für die selbstorganisierende Produktion wurde in dem DFG-Projekt „SAVE ORCA“ gelegt. 

 

Videos

Die Selbstorganisation ist einer der Schlüsselfaktoren für moderne industrielle Anwendungen, um die gewünschte Flexibilität zu erreichen. Wir müssen ihr korrektes Verhalten sowie eine hohe Leistung trotz einer Vielzahl an Mitspielern sicherstellen.

Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, Institutsdirektor ISSE

Team

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Akademische Rätin
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering
Institutsdirektor
Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Institut für Software & Systems Engineering

Das Institut für Software & Systems Engineering, geleitet von Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Reif, ist eine wissenschaftliche Einrichtung in der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik an der Universität Augsburg. Das Institut unterstützt sowohl Grundlagen- als auch angewandte Forschung in allen Bereichen der Software & Systems Engineering. In der Lehre ermöglicht es die weitere Entwicklung des relevanten Kursangebots von Fakultät und Universität.

Suche