Academic Activities of the Celos-Members

May 2020

German-Polish seminar in Warszawa (Poland)

The fifth Polish-German comparative legal history seminar was planned for the summer semester 2020. From 27 to 30 May 2020, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker wanted to take a trip to Warsaw with Augsburg students and graduates. The group was to meet lecturers and fellow students from Poland as well as from Greece, Italy and the Czech Republic at the host institution of Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek (Warsaw University of Social and Human Sciences). The seminar topic was: "Legal handbook - A European perspective". The title aims at searching for similarities and differences in the system-defining developments of legal teaching, especially textbooks. The state measures taken to combat the Covid 19 pandemic prevented the encounter. It has been postponed to the summer semester 2021.

 

Foto: Pixabay

October 2019

Lecture tour to Palermo (Sicily)

At the invitation of Prof. Enrico Camilleri, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers visited the University of Palermo on 8 and 9 October 2019 and gave two lectures in English on "Legal Methods - A Comparison of the German and Italian Approach" and "The Legal Consequences of the Volkswagen Scandal - Better Enforcement of Private and Public Law".The university is one of the largest in Italy with about 50,000 students and 2,000 academic staff. Prof. Camilleri also participated this year as a lecturer in the Augsburg Summer Program.

 

 

Foto: privat

October 2019

German-Turkish symposium in Istanbul (Turkey)

On 4 October 2019, a symposium on current developments in German and Turkish liability law took place at the Faculty of Law of the University of Istanbul. The participating CELOS members gave the following lectures:

 

- Prof. Dr. Thomas Möllers: Enforcement in Consumer Protection and Capital Markets Law - Current Developments in Germany and Europe

- Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke: The liability of the employer and the modern technique

- Prof. Dr. Michael Kort: Possibilities of limiting the seller's liability when buying a company

 

In addition to professors from the University of Augsburg, speakers from the host university also reported on current developments in Turkish tort law. After the lectures there was a lively discussion. In the conference room were about 120 participants, mainly consisting of students, assistants, lecturers, professors and lawyers from Istanbul. At the end of the symposium, both sides confirmed and emphasised that the symposium had certainly made a good contribution to the German-Turkish legal dialogue and friendship.

 

 

Foto: Universität Istanbul

July 2019

European Cultural History Day

As a member of the Institute for European Cultural History at the University of Augsburg, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker was involved in the organisation of the interdisciplinary conference "Europe  -   Cultural Historical Horizons  - Day of European Cultural History". It took place on 1 July 2019 on the premises of the University of Augsburg. Prof. Dr. Becker gave a lecture on European legal history with the title "Augsburg in Europe -The Augsburg City Law of 1156 and Roman Law".

 

© University of Augsburg

May 2019

Results of the Conference “Enforcing Consumer and Capital Markets Law in Europe”

The second INspiRE conference on "Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward" was held in Augsburg on 23 and 24 May 2019. The Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "European Integration - Rule of Law and Enforcement" (INspiRE), funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union, deals with the enforcement of EU law in the Member States.

 

At the international conference "Enforcing Consumer and Capital Market Law in Europe", numerous experts discussed how the diesel emission scandal is being dealt with legally in different countries. It was shown that in the USA, Australia and Brazil public law sanctions and compensation of buyers are already being enforced much more successfully than in most European countries. Scientists, judges, but also representatives of supervisory authorities (BaFin and ESMA) and consumer associations intensively discussed how the respective law can be improved at national and European level to prevent future infringements. As in data protection law, European politicians should understand good law enforcement mechanisms not as an obstacle to location but as an economic advantage of location.

 

 

© University of Augsburg

November 2018

Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward

On 22 and 23 November 2018, the first INspiRE conference on "Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward", organised by Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers, Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Wollenschläger and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wurmnest, took place in Augsburg.

The Jean Monnet Centre of Excellence "European Integration - Rule of Law and Enforcement" (INspiRE), funded by the Erasmus+ Programme of the European Union, deals with the enforcement of EU law in the Member States.

 

The first of two conferences was devoted to private enforcement of European anti-trust and state aid law. On the first day, recent developments, in particular after the transposition of the so-called anti-trust damages directive, as well as remaining hurdles in the enforcement of Art. 101, 102 TFEU in different EU Member States were highlighted. After a presentation of the project by Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers and Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wurmnest, Prof. Dr. Wulf-Henning Roth (Bonn) and Dr. Johannes Holzwarth (DG Competition) looked at the European level. For the following country reports, Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Franck (Mannheim), Dr. Erik-Jan Zippro (Amsterdam) and Prof. Dr. Florian Wagner-von Papp (University College London) presented the situation in Germany, the Netherlands, England and Wales. Dr. Rafael Amaro (Paris Descartes) and Prof. Dr. Enrico Camilleri (Palermo) presented the legal situation in France and Italy. Prof. Florian Bien (Würzburg), Dr Tatjana Mühlbach and Dr Ingo Brinker (both Munich) chaired the subsequent discussions.

 

On the second day, European state aid law and the open questions of private enforcement were discussed. Dr. Fernando Pastor-Merchante (IE University Madrid) presented the European perspective, Luca Rossi the view of the European Commission. Country reports on the situation in Germany, France, Italy, Spain and the Netherlands were presented by Prof. Dr. Sebastian Unger (Bochum), Prof. Dr. François Lichère (Jean Moulin Lyon III), Prof. Dr. Roberto Caranta and Benedetta Biancardi (both Turin), Prof. Dr. Luis Arroyo Jiménez (Castilla-La Mancha), as well as Prof. Dr. Willemien den Ouden (Leiden) and Prof. Dr. Jacobine van den Brink (Amsterdam) and provided an insight into specific national problems. Dr. Ulrich Soltész, Stéphane Hautbourg (both Brussels) and Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Wollenschläger led the discussion. 

 

The conference proceedings will be published in the Kluwer International Competition Law Series. 

 

 

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des ersten Konferenztages. © University of Augsburg

November 2018

German-Turkish symposium in Ankara (Turkey)

On 2 November 2018, a German-Turkish symposium on current developments in civil law was held in Ankara as part of a cooperation between TOBB University of Economics and Technology and the University of Augsburg. From the University of Augsburg, Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke, Prof. Dr. Raphael Koch, Prof. Dr. Michael Kort, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers and Dr. Erhan Temel attended the symposium. They gave lectures on consumer protection law, the law of business acquisitions and methodology.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers und Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke auf dem Podium zusammen mit den Gastgebern aus Ankara, Foto: TOBB Universität Ankara.

October 2018

Lectures by Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers in Palermo

At the invitation of Prof. Enrico Camilleri, who himself taught at the University of Augsburg as part of the Summer Program 2018, Prof. Möllers gave two lectures at the Università degli Studi di Palermo in October 2018. The lecture on Tuesday, October 2nd, was entitled "The duty of direct-conform interpretation and the contra legem border" and took place in the Department of Law, Society and Sport. On the following day, a second event was held on the topic "How lawyers are thinking".

 

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: privat

30 May 2018

German-Polish seminar in Poznan (Poland)

The fourth German-Polish comparative legal history seminar took place in the summer semester 2018. From 27 to 30 May 2018, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker took a trip to Poznań together with Augsburg students and graduates. There they met the host Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak (Adam Mickiewicz University Poznań) and Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek (Social and Human Sciences University of Warsaw) with their students and graduates. The binational seminar held at Poznań was titled: "Legal reasoning and continuity of Roman law tradition".

 

Together, the speakers and participants in the discussion looked for similarities and differences in the standardisation of and arguments for the practical handling of civil-law issues relating to classical Roman law, European common law and modern codifications, with a particular focus on parallels in the development of the two neighbouring legal systems of Poland and Germany. A continuation is intended.

 

 

© University of Augsburg

28 May 2018

Conference „Judicial legal training and its limits“

On 28 May 2018, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers took part in a conference organised by the University of Vienna 
and the Supreme Court (OGH) on the topic of "Judicial legal training and its limits". The venue was the banqueting hall of the Supreme Court at the Palace of Justice in Vienna. Prof. Dr. Möllers had been invited because of his relevant publications, such as his recent book on legal methodology. The conference dealt with the conditions and limits of judicial creation of law from the perspective of ordinary law, constitutional law and European law. The perspective of European law was examined by Prof. Dr. Möllers in his lecture "Judicial legal training and European law".
 

 

Justizpalast Wien, Foto: privat

March 2018

Keynote speech at the workshop on innovation, competitiveness & internationalisation in Turin

At the invitation of the International University College of Turin and the Banca Intesa Sanpaolo, Professor Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers travelled to Turin to take part in a workshop on the competitiveness of individual territorial production systems in the context of internationalisation and globalisation and the role of innovation and digitalisation within this context. He gave a keynote speech titled "Digitalization - Market Abuse by Short sell attacks and illegal research reports".

Agenda, Foto: International University College of Turin

June 2017

Ius romanum, Polish law and German law in comparison

The Law Faculty of the University of Augsburg has maintained good connections to Poland for many years. For example, there is a connection with the Faculty of Law in Krakow; there are ERASMUS cooperations; and the Diocese of Augsburg supports stays of students from the University of Olsztyn (Allenstein) in Augsburg. These contacts inspired the idea of binational, historically comparative seminars. In the summer semester 2015, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker travelled with Augsburg students to Poznań (Poznan) to see Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak and in 2016 he travelled to Warszawa (Warsaw) to see Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek. In June 2017, the third binational seminar took place in Augsburg with the lecturers and students from Poznań and Warszawa. These German-Polish encounters will be continued.

 

© University of Augsburg

12 and 13 June 2017

Lectures by Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers in Palermo

As in the previous year, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers visited the Università degli Studi di Palermo at the invitation of Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri and gave two lectures on methodological work with legal principles and the constitution.

 

The lectures were held by Prof. Dr. Möllers within the context of the doctoral programme and titled "How to Work with the Constitution - the Perspective of a Private Lawyer" and "Hard Law - How to Work with Principles in Civil Law". Both lectures were met with broad interest among Italian students and academics.

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

June 2016

Binational seminar in Warsaw: Ius romanum and ius gentium, Polish law and German law - comparisons between old and present legal systems

Like in the summer of 2015, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker also organised a cross-border seminar on legal history and comparative law in the summer semester of 2016. The partner and host on the Polish side was Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek from the University of Social and Human Sciences in Warsaw. Following an introductory lecture by Prof. Dr. Becker, a total of 16 participants presented their seminar papers and dissertations on an intensive seminar day. The following day, the Augsburg travellers explored Warsaw and its institutions of importance for legal life, history, science and culture, starting with a visit to the Supreme Court of the Republic of Poland.

 

 

© University of Augsburg

11 to 17 May 2016

Guest lectures in Palermo

At the invitation of Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri , Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers stayed at the Università degli Studi di Palermo from 11 to 17 May 2016. The University of Palermo is one of the largest universities in Italy with around 50,000 students and 2,000 academic staff. Prof. Camilleri has been a lecturer at the Augsburg Summer Program for many years.

 

In Palermo, Prof. Dr. Möllers gave two english lectures on "Experimental Legislation in European Capital Market Law" and "Chances and Risks of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)".

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

October 2015

9th Krakow-Augsburg Symposium

The 9th Krakow-Augsburg Symposium took place on 23 and 24 October at the Jagiellonian University in Krakow. The symposia are the heart of a well-established cooperation and friendship between the Law Faculties of the Jagiellonian University in Krakow and the University of Augsburg. They are based on an initiative of Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jerzy Stelmach and Prof. em. Dr. Reiner Schmidt and take place every two years, alternating between Krakow and Augsburg.

They are always under a general theme. In 2015 the theme was "Creation of Standards".

A total of 18 participants examined the general topic from very different perspectives. Professor Möllers and Professor Becker from CELOS were involved and spoke about "Creation and enforcement of standards in European antitrust, company and capital market law" (Prof. Möllers) and "Systematic creation of civil codes" (Prof. Becker).The lectures will be published in an anthology in the "Krakauer-Augsburger Rechtsstudien".

Foto: privat

June 2015

German-polish seminar in Poznań

For many years, the Augsburg faculty has maintained close relations with faculties in Poland, especially with Jagiellonian University in Krakow, but also with academics from Poznan and Warsaw. In June 2015, with the support of the Society of Friends of the University of Augsburg, a first meeting on a student level took place. At the invitation of Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak, Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker travelled to the Adam Mickiewicz University in Poznan together with the participants of his seminar "Roman Law and the Codes of Poland and Germany". The topics of the seminar were centred around the principle of probity and were each discussed from the perspectives of contemporary Polish and German law. Prof. Franciszek Longchamps de Bérier (Cracow) and Prof. Rafał Wojciechowski (Wroclaw) also took part in the debates.

 

© University of Augsburg

March 2015

Guest lectures at the Université Jean Moulin in Lyon

At the invitation of Prof. Dr. Frédérique Ferrand, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers stayed at the Université Jean Moulin III in Lyon as a guest professor from 3 to 12 March 2015. Prof. Dr. Ferrand has been a lecturer in the Augsburg Summer Program for many years. In Lyon Prof. Dr. Möllers gave the lecture "Introduction to German Civil Law (BGB)" for French third-year students. The lecture was particularly aimed at students who will participate in an exchange programme with a German university in the following winter semester. He also gave a lecture entitled "The German Constitutional Court's Role in the EU: Driving Force or Illegitimate Lawmakers?".

 

 

Université Lyon III Jean Moulin

11 to 17 May 2016

Guest lectures in Palermo


At the invitation of Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri , Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers stayed at the Università degli Studi di Palermo from 11 to 17 May 2016. The University of Palermo is one of the largest universities in Italy with around 50,000 students and 2,000 academic staff. Prof. Camilleri has been a lecturer at the Augsburg Summer Program for many years.

 

In Palermo, Prof. Dr. Möllers gave two english lectures on "Experimental Legislation in European Capital Market Law" and "Chances and Risks of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)".

 

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

February 2013

Guest professorship and lecture at the Université Jean Moulin in Lyon

On 11 February, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers gave a lecture titled "Regulation and Liability of Rating Agencies - More Efficient Law at European Level? - Regulation and Liability of Rating Agencies - A More Efficient European Law?" in the context of a guest professorship at the Université Jean Moulin III in France.

 

 

Université Lyon III Jean Moulin

Search

Aktivitäten der CELOS-Mitglieder

Mai 2020

Deutsch-Polnisches Seminar in Warszawa (Polen)

Für das Sommersemester 2020 war das fünfte polnisch-deutsche rechtshistorisch-rechtsvergleichende Seminar geplant. Vom 27. bis zum 30. Mai 2020 wollte Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker mit Augsburger Studierenden und Graduierten eine Reise nach Warszawa unternehmen. In der Gastgeberschaft von Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek (Sozial- und Humanwissenschaftliche Universität Warszawa) sollte die Gruppe Dozenten und Kommilitonen aus Polen sowie aus Griechenland, Italien und Tschechien begegnen. Das Seminarthema lautete: "Legal handbook - A European perspective". Der Titel zielt auf die Suche nach Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschieden in den systemprägenden Entwicklungen juristischer Lehre ab, insbesondere der Lehrbücher. Die zur Bekämpfung der Covid-19-Pandemie ergriffenen staatlichen Maßnahmen verhinderten die Begegnung. Sie ist auf das Sommersemester 2021 verschoben.

 

Foto: Pixabay

Oktober 2019

Vortragsreise nach Palermo (Sizilien)

Am 8. und 9. Oktober 2019 weilte Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers auf Einladung von Prof. Enrico Camilleri an der Universität Palermo und hielt zwei englischsprachige Vorträge zu den Themen „Legal Methods - A Comparison of the German and Italian Approach" und "The Legal Consequences of the Volkswagen Scandal - Better Enforcement of Private and Public Law”.

Die Universität ist mit rund 50.000 Studenten und 2.000 wissenschaftlichen Angestellten eine der größten Hochschulen Italiens. Prof. Camilleri hatte auch in diesem Jahr als Dozent beim Augsburg Summer Program teilgenommen.

 

 

Foto: privat

Oktober 2019

Deutsch-türkisches Symposium in Istanbul (Türkei)

Am 4.10.2019 fand an der juristischen Fakultät der Universität Istanbul ein Symposium zu aktuellen Entwicklungen im Deutschen und Türkischen Haftungsrecht statt. Die teilnehmenden CELOS-Mitglieder hielten folgende Vorträge:

- Prof. Dr. Thomas Möllers: Rechtsdurchsetzung im Verbraucherschutz- und Kapitalmarktrecht - Aktuelle Entwicklungen in Deutschland und Europa

- Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke: Die Haftung des Arbeitgebers und die moderne Technik

- Prof. Dr. Michael Kort: Möglichkeiten der Beschränkung der Verkäufer-Haftung beim Unternehmenskauf

Neben den Professoren der Universität Augsburg berichteten ebenfalls Referenten von der Gastgeberuniversität über die aktuellen Entwicklungen im türkischen Haftungsrecht. Nach den Vorträgen war eine rege Diskussion zu verzeichnen. Im Konferenzsaal waren ca. 120 Teilnehmer, die überwiegend aus Studenten, Assistenten, Dozenten und Professoren sowie Rechtsanwälte aus Istanbul bestanden. Nach dem Abschluss des Symposiums wurde von beiden Seiten bestätigt und betont, dass das Symposium sicherlich einen guten Beitrag zum deutsch-türkischen Rechtsdialog und zur Freundschaft geleistet hat.

 

 

Foto: Universität Istanbul

Juli 2019

Tag der europäischen Kulturgeschichte

Als Mitglied des Instituts für Europäische Kulturgeschichte der Universität Augsburg war Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker an der Ausrichtung der interdisziplinären Konferenz "Europa. Kulturhistorische Horizonte. Tag der Europäischen Kulturgeschichte" beteiligt. Sie fand am 1. Juli 2019 in den Räumen der Universität Augsburg statt. Prof. Dr. Becker hielt dort einen Vortrag zur Europäischen Rechtsgeschichte mit dem Titel "Augsburg in Europa. Das Augsburger Stadtrecht von 1156 und das römische Recht".

 

© Universität Augsburg

Mai 2019

Ergebnisse der Tagung “Enforcing Consumer and Capital Markets Law in Europe”

Am 23. und 24. Mai 2019 fand in Augsburg die zweite INspiRE-Konferenz zum Thema „Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward“ statt. Das durch das Erasmus+ Programm der Europäischen Union geförderte Jean‐Monnet Centre of Excellence „European Integration – Rule of Law and Enforcement“ (INspiRE) befasst sich mit der Durchsetzung des EU-Rechts in den Mitgliedstaaten.

Bei der internationalen Tagung “Enforcing Consumer and Capital Market Law in Europe” diskutierten zahlreiche Experten, wie der Diesel-Abgas-Skandal in verschiedenen Staaten juristisch aufbereitet wird. Dabei zeigte sich, dass in den USA, Australien und Brasilien öffentlich-rechtliche Sanktionen und eine Kompensation der Käufer schon deutlich erfolgreicher durchgesetzt werden, als in den meisten europäischen Staaten. Wissenschaftler, Richter, aber auch Vertreter von Aufsichtsbehörden (BaFin und ESMA) und  Verbraucherverbänden diskutierten intensiv, wie das jeweilige Recht auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene verbessert werden kann, um künftige Rechtsverstöße zu verhindern. Wie im Datenschutzrecht sollte die europäische Politik gute Mechanismen der Rechtsdurchsetzung nicht als Standorthindernis, sondern als wirtschaftlichen Standortvorteil verstehen.

 

 

© Universität Augsburg

November 2018

Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward

Am 22. und 23. November 2018 fand in Augsburg die von Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers, Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Wollenschläger und Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wurmnest organisierte erste INspiRE-Konferenz zum Thema „Private Enforcement of European Competition and State Aid Law: Current Challenges and the Way Forward“ statt.

Das durch das Erasmus+ Programm der Europäischen Union geförderte Jean‐Monnet Centre of Excellence „European Integration – Rule of Law and Enforcement“ (INspiRE) befasst sich mit der Durchsetzung des EU-Rechts in den Mitgliedstaaten.

Die erste von zwei Konferenzen widmete sich der privaten Durchsetzung des europäischen Kartell- und Beihilfenrechts. Am ersten Tag wurden die Entwicklungen der jüngeren Zeit, namentlich nach Umsetzung der sog. Kartellschadensersatzrichtlinie, sowie verbleibende Hürden bei der Durchsetzung von Art. 101, 102 AEUV in verschiedenen EU-Mitgliedstaaten beleuchtet. Nach einer Vorstellung des Projekts durch Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers und Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wurmnest betrachteten Prof. Dr. Wulf-Henning Roth (Bonn) und Dr. Johannes Holzwarth (GD Wettbewerb) die europäische Ebene. Für die sich anschließenden Länderberichte stellten Prof. Dr. Jens-Uwe Franck (Mannheim), Dr. Erik-Jan Zippro (Amsterdam) und Prof. Dr. Florian Wagner-von Papp (University College London) den Stand in Deutschland, den Niederlanden sowie in England und Wales dar. Dr. Rafael Amaro (Paris Descartes) und Prof. Dr. Enrico Camilleri (Palermo) präsentierten die Rechtslage in Frankreich und Italien. Prof. Dr. Florian Bien (Würzburg), Dr. Tatjana Mühlbach und Dr. Ingo Brinker (beide München) saßen als Chairs den sich anschließenden Diskussionen vor.
Der zweite Tag widmete sich dem europäischen Beihilfenrecht und den dort offenen Fragen der privaten Rechtsdurchsetzung. Dr. Fernando Pastor-Merchante (IE University Madrid) stellte die europäische Perspektive dar, Luca Rossi die Sichtweise der Europäischen Kommission. Einblick in spezifisch nationale Probleme gaben Länderberichte zur Situation in Deutschland, Frankreich, Italien, Spanien und den Niederlanden von Prof. Dr. Sebastian Unger (Bochum), Prof. Dr. François Lichère (Jean Moulin Lyon III), Prof. Dr. Roberto Caranta und Benedetta Biancardi (beide Turin), Prof. Dr. Luis Arroyo Jiménez (Castilla-La Mancha) sowie Prof. Dr. Willemien den Ouden (Leiden) und Prof. Dr. Jacobine van den Brink (Amsterdam). Dr. Ulrich Soltész, Stéphane Hautbourg (beide Brüssel) und Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Wollenschläger leiteten die Diskussion. Der Tagungsband wird in der Kluwer International Competition Law Series erscheinen.

 

 

Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer des ersten Konferenztages. © Universität Augsburg

November 2018

Deutsch-Türkisches Symposium in Ankara (Türkei)

Am 2. November 2018 fand in Ankara im Rahmen einer Kooperation der TOBB Universität für Wirtschaft und Technik und der Universität Augsburg ein Deutsch-Türkisches Symposium zu aktuellen Entwicklungen im Zivilrecht statt. Von Augsburger Seite waren Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke, Prof. Dr. Raphael Koch, Prof. Dr. Michael Kort, Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers und Dr. Erhan Temel vertreten. Sie hielten Vorträge aus dem Verbraucherschutzrecht, dem Recht des Unternehmenskaufs und der Methodenlehre.

 

 

Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers und Prof. Dr. Martina Benecke auf dem Podium zusammen mit den Gastgebern aus Ankara, Foto: TOBB Universität Ankara.

Oktober 2018

Vorträge von Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers in Palermo

Auf Einladung von Prof. Enrico Camilleri, welcher selbst im Rahmen des Summer Program 2018 an der Universität Augsburg unterrichtete, hielt Prof. Möllers an der Università degli Studi di Palermo im Oktober 2018 zwei Vorträge. Der Vortrag am Dienstag, den 2. Oktober, trug den Titel „The duty of direct-conform interpretation and the contra legem border” und fand im Department of Law, Society and Sport statt. Ebenfalls dort fand am darauffolgenden Tag eine zweite Veranstaltung mit dem Thema „How lawyers are thinking“ statt.

 

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: privat

30. Mai 2018

Deutsch-Polnisches Seminar in Poznan (Polen)

Im Sommersemester 2018 fand das vierte polnisch-deutsche rechtshistorisch-rechtsvergleichende Seminar statt. Vom 27. bis zum 30. Mai 2018 unternahm Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker mit Augsburger Studierenden und Graduierten eine Reise nach Poznań. Dort trafen sie auf Gastgeber Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak (Adam-Mickiewicz-Universität Poznań) und Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek (Sozial- und Humanwissenschaftliche Universität Warszawa) mit ihren Studierenden und Graduierten. Das in Poznań gehaltene binationale Seminar trug den Titel: „Die juristische Methode und Fortsetzung der römisch-rechtlichen Tradition – Legal reasoning and continuity of Roman law tradition“. Gemeinsam suchten die Vortragenden und Diskutanten nach Übereinstimmungen und Unterschieden in der Normierung und im Argumentieren zur praktischen Bewältigung zivilrechtlicher Fragen nach klassischem römischem Recht, europäischem gemeinem Recht und modernen Kodifikationen mit besonderem Blick auf Parallelen in der Entwicklung der beiden benachbarten Rechtsordnungen Polens und Deutschlands. Eine Fortsetzung ist angestrebt.

 

 

© Universität Augsburg

28.Mai 2018

Tagung „Richterliche Rechtsfortbildung und ihre Grenzen“

Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers nahm am 28. Mai 2018 an der von der Universität
Wien und dem Obersten Gerichtshof (OGH) veranstalteten Tagung „Richterliche Rechtsfortbildung und ihre Grenzen“ teil. Veranstaltungsort war der Festsaal des Obersten Gerichtshofs im Justizpalast in Wien. Prof. Dr. Möllers war aufgrund seiner einschlägigen Veröffentlichungen, etwa in dem kürzlich erschienenen Buch zur Juristische Methodenlehre, eingeladen worden. Die Tagung beschäftigte sich mit den Voraussetzungen und Grenzen richterlicher Rechtsschöpfung aus einfachgesetzlicher, verfassungs- und europarechtlicher Sicht. Die europarechtliche Perspektive wurde von Prof. Dr. Möllers in seinem Vortrag „Richterliche Rechtsfortbildung und Europarecht“ beleuchtet.

 

 

Justizpalast Wien, Foto: privat

März 2018

Keynote speech beim Workshop on innovation, competitiveness & internSichernationalization in Turin

 

Auf Einladung des International University College of Turin und der Banca Intesa Sanpaolo reiste Professor Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers nach Turin, um an einem Workshop zu Fragen der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit einzelner territorialer Produktionssysteme im Rahmen der Internationalisierung und Globalisierung und welche Rolle die Innovationskraft und die Digitalisierung dabei spielen teilzunehmen. Er hielt eine Keynote Speech mit dem Titel „Digitalization – Market Abuse by Short sell attacks and illegal research reports“.

Agenda, Foto: International University College of Turin

Juni 2017

Ius romanum, polnisches Recht und deutsches Recht im Vergleich

Die Juristische Fakultät der Universität Augsburg unterhält seit vielen Jahre gute Kontakte nach Polen. Da ist die Verbindung mit der Krakauer Juristischen Fakultät; es bestehen ERASMUS-Kooperationen; und das Bistum Augsburg unterstützt Aufenthalte von Studierenden der Universität Olsztyn (Allenstein) in Augsburg. Aus diesen Kontakten entstand die Idee zu binationalen, historisch-vergleichenden Seminaren. Im Sommersemester 2015 reiste Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker mit Augsburger Studierenden nach Poznań (Posen) zu Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak und im Sommersemester 2016 nach Warszawa (Warschau) zu Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek. Im Juni 2017 fand in Augsburg das dritte binationale Seminar mit den Dozenten und Studierenden aus Poznań und Warszawa statt. Diese deutsch-polnischen Begegnungen werden fortgesetzt.

 

 

© Universität Augsburg

12. und 13. Juni 2017

Vorträge von Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers in Palermo

 

Wie im vergangenen Jahr besuchte Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers auf Einladung von Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri die Università degli Studi di Palermo und hielt zwei Vorträge zur methodischen Arbeit mit Rechtsprinzipien und der Verfassung.

 

Prof. Dr. Möllers hielt hier im Rahmen des Doktorandenkollegs zwei englischsprachige Vorträge zu den Themen „How to Work with the Constitution – the Perspective of a Private Lawyer“ und „Hard Law – How to Work with Principles in Civil Law.” Beide Vorträge stießen auf breites Interesse bei den italienischen Studierenden und Wissenschaftlern.

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

Juni 2016

Binationales Seminar in Warschau: Ius romanum und ius gentium, polnisches Recht und deutsches Recht – Vergleiche zwischen alten und heutigen Rechtsordnungen

Wie schon im Sommer 2015 veranstaltete Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker auch im Sommersemester 2016 ein grenzüberschreitendes rechtshistorisch-rechtsvergleichendes Seminar. Partner und Gastgeber auf polnischer Seite war Prof. Dr. Bronisław Sitek von der Sozial- und Humanwissenschaftlichen Universität Warschau. Auf einem intensiven Seminartag trugen nach einem Einführungsvortrag von Prof. Dr. Becker insgesamt 16 Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer aus den Forschungen zu ihren Seminararbeiten und Dissertationen vor. Anderntags erkundeten die Augsburger Reisenden Warschau und seine für Rechtsleben, Geschichte, Wissenschaft und Kultur bedeutsamen Einrichtungen, beginnend mit einem Besuch des Obersten Gerichts der Republik Polen.

 

 

© Universität Augsburg

11. bis 17. Mai 2016

Gastvorträge in Palermo

 

Vom 11. bis 17. Mai 2016 weilte Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers auf Einladung von Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri an der Università degli Studi di Palermo. Die Universität Palermo ist mit rund 50.000 Studenten und 2.000 wissenschaftlichen Angestellten eine der größten Hochschulen Italiens. Prof. Camilleri ist bereits seit vielen Jahren Dozent beim Augsburger Summer Program.

 

In Palermo hielt Prof. Dr. Möllers zwei englischsprachige Vorträge zum Thema „Experimental Legislation in European Capital Market Law“ und „Chances and Risks of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)“.

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

Oktober 2015

9. Krakauer-Augsburger Symposium

Das bereits 9. Krakauer-Augsburger Symposium fand am 23. und 24. Oktober an der Jagiellonen-Universität in Krakau statt. Die Symposien sind das Herstück einer langjährigen Kooperation und Freundschaft zwischen den Juristischen Fakultäten der Jagiellonen-Universität in Krakau und der Universität Augsburg. Sie gehen auf eine Initiative von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Jerzy Stelmach und Prof. em. Dr. Reiner Schmidt zurück und finden im zweijährigen Turnus abwechselnd in Krakau und Augsburg statt. Sie stehen immer unter einem Generalthema. Im Jahr 2015 lautete es „Normschaffung“.

Insgesamt 18 Teillnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer haben das Generalthema aus ganz unterschiedlichen Perspektiven beleuchtet. Von CELOS waren Herr Professor Möllers und Herr Professor Becker beteiligt und sprachen über „Normschaffung und Normdurchsetzung im europäischen Kartell-, Gesellschafts- und Kapitalmarktrecht (Prof. Möllers) sowie über „Systematische Anlage von Zivilgesetzbüchern“ (Prof. Becker).

Die Vorträge werden in einem Sammelband in den „Krakauer-Augsburger Rechtsstudien“ publiziert.

Foto: privat

Juni 2015

Deutsch-polnisches Seminar in Poznań

Seit vielen Jahren unterhält die Augsburger Fakultät enge Beziehungen zu Fakultäten in Polen, vor allem zur Jagiełłonen-Universität Krakau, aber auch zu Wissenschaftlern aus Posen und Warschau. Im Juni 2015 fand mit Unterstützung der Gesellschaft der Freunde der Universität Augsburg eine erste Begegnung auf studentischer Ebene statt. Auf Einladung von Prof. Dr. Wojciech Dajczak reiste Prof. Dr. Christoph Becker mit den Teilnehmern seines Seminars „Römisches Recht und die Gesetzbücher Polens und Deutschlands“ zur Adam-Mickiewicz-Universität nach Posen. Die Themen waren um den Grundsatz der Redlichkeit gestellt und wurden jeweils aus den Blickwinkeln des heutigen polnischen und des heutigen deutschen Rechts erörtert. An den Aussprachen beteiligten sich auch Prof. Dr. Franciszek Longchamps de Bérier (Krakau) und Prof. Dr. Rafał Wojciechowski (Breslau).

 

 

© Universität Augsburg

März 2015

Gastdozentur an der Université Jean Moulin in Lyon

Vom 3. bis 12. März 2015 weilte Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers auf Einladung von Prof. Dr. Frédérique Ferrand als Gastprofessor an der Université Jean Moulin Lyon III. Prof. Dr. Ferrand ist bereits seit vielen Jahren Dozentin beim Augsburg Summer Program. Prof. Dr. Möllers hielt die Vorlesung "Einführung in das deutsche Zivilrecht (BGB)" für französische Studierende des dritten Studienjahrs. Die Veranstaltung richtete sich insbesondere an Studierende, die im darauffolgenden Wintersemester an einem Austauschprogramm mit einer deutschen Universität teilnehmen. Zudem hielt er einen Vortrag mit dem Titel "The German Constitutional Court's Role in the EU: Driving Force or Illegitimate Lawmaker?".

 

 

Université Lyon III Jean Moulin

11. bis 17. Mai 2016

Gastvorträge in Palermo

 

Vom 11. bis 17. Mai 2016 weilte Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers auf Einladung von Prof. Avv. Enrico Camilleri an der Università degli Studi di Palermo. Die Universität Palermo ist mit rund 50.000 Studenten und 2.000 wissenschaftlichen Angestellten eine der größten Hochschulen Italiens. Prof. Camilleri ist bereits seit vielen Jahren Dozent beim Augsburger Summer Program.

 

In Palermo hielt Prof. Dr. Möllers zwei englischsprachige Vorträge zum Thema „Experimental Legislation in European Capital Market Law“ und „Chances and Risks of the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)“.

 

Università degli Studi di Palermo, Foto: Universität Palermo

Februar 2013

Gastprofessur und Vortrag an der Université Jean Moulin in Lyon

Am 11. Februar hielt Prof. Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers den Vortrag "Regulierung und Haftung von Ratingagenturen - effizienteres Recht auf europäischer Ebene? - Regulation and Liability of Rating Agencies - A More Efficient European Law? im Rahmen einer Gastprofessur an der Université Jean Moulin III in Frankreich.

 

 

Université Lyon III Jean Moulin

Suche