Here we have summarized the most frequently asked questions on the Business Analytics & Operations cluster for you.

All information is subject to change: no legal claims exist on the basis of the questions, answers, and links.

 

Specific questions for Business Administration

The cluster is named “Business Analytics & Operations”. The Major/Minor is named “Operations and Information Management”.

In module group G you must acquire at least 30 ECTS credits in total. If you attend fewer than six lectures and therefore also take fewer than six exams, you must acquire the missing ECTS credits with the help of cases.

The basic difference is that a seminar is assigned to module group H: Seminar, while cases courses belong to module group G: Major Operations & Information Management. A cases course is a project study course, which can be viewed as a practically oriented lecture. Important: You cannot have a cases course recognized as a seminar and vice versa, you cannot have a seminar recognized as a cases course. More information is available  here and in the module catalog.

In the  examination regulations, which apply since 2015, it states that you can and must include precisely one seminar paper with 5 ECTS credits towards your total credits. For a list of the seminars of the BA&O cluster, click  here.

No, they are not superfluous, because you can transfer the extra ECTS credits, which you acquired in lectures or case courses of the Major in O&IM, to your module group F: General Management & Economics and have them credited there. For more precise information, please get in touch with the contact of the Examination Office.

 

Lecture & Tutorial

For many courses there are resits, if they are not offered in a semester. However, this does not apply to all courses as a blanket rule. Refer to the curriculum of your degree program for a schedule of when you can attend the lectures and tutorials. Refer to the current module catalog to find out whether a resit in the following semester is offered for a course.

 

Cases (Bachelor’s) & Software Courses (Master’s)

Please refer to the curriculum of your degree program and the module catalog.

The number of participants is limited for cases and software courses and the registration procedure differs from chair to chair. However, in general you register before the semester begins. For details, please refer to the respective  websites of the chairs. A list of the case courses and software courses offered can be found  here.

You do not have a “right” to a place in a cases course or a software course. You can find out about the application procedure on the websites of the chairs. An overview of the cases courses and software courses offered is provided  here.

That is wholly dependent on the chair. It is possible that you will have to sit an examination (“Klausur” - exam as a written test under examination conditions), however, it is also possible for exercise sheets, which are worked on in small groups, to be graded. In some cases the grade is a combination of an exam and exercise sheets. Equally, it is also possible that you will have to write a paper in groups and/or give presentations. More precise information on grading can be found on the respective chair's website. An overview of the cases courses and software courses offered is provided  here.

 

Seminar

The seminar paper places are issued by each chair individually. For more precise information on the seminar papers, please refer to the websites of the chairs.

There is no rule that bindingly specifies that seminar papers and Bachelor’s theses must be written for the same chair. However, it is often useful to write a seminar paper and Bachelor’s thesis for the same chair. Information on requirements for the issue of theses can be found on the websites of the chairs

Firstly, it is possible that you are on the waiting list and move up as soon as a fellow student backs out. Visit the websites of the chairs to find out whether the chair to which you have applied has such a waiting list procedure and how it works. If it is still possible for you to write the seminar paper at a later date, apply again to the chair you want by the next entry date or consider applying to another chair.

If, for example, due to the “eight semester hurdle” (Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration or Economics), you are forced to start your seminar paper immediately, the person responsible for the cluster or the  course advice can help you.

If you take the Major in O&IM, in general you are able to write your seminar paper for a chair of the BA&O cluster. However, it cannot be guaranteed that every student can write their seminar paper for the chair of their choice. Find out about the requirements and application deadlines of the chairs of the BA&O cluster as early as possible.

 

Theses (Bachelor’s & Master’s theses)

The theses are issued by each chair individually. You will find information on the respective websites of the  chairs of the BA&O cluster. 

There is no rule that bindingly specifies that seminar papers and theses must be written for the same chair.

However, some chairs require that you have already written your seminar paper for them, in order to get a thesis place. However, the conditions of the chairs differ, which is why it is not absolutely necessary to pass the seminar paper in each chair. Information on the conditions of the respective chairs can be found on the websites of the  chairs.

Firstly, it is possible that you are on the waiting list and move up as soon as a fellow student backs out. Visit the websites of the chairs to find out whether the chair to which you have applied has such a waiting list procedure and how it works. If it is still possible for you to write the thesis at a later date, apply again to the chair you want by the next entry date or consider applying to another chair.

If, for example, due to the “eight semester hurdle” (Bachelor’s Degree in Business Administration and in Economics), you are forced to start your thesis immediately, the person responsible for the cluster or the  course advice can help you.

If you take the Major in O&IM, in general you are able to write your thesis for a chair of the BA&O cluster. However, it cannot be guaranteed that every student can write their thesis for the chair of their choice. Find out about the requirements and application deadlines of the chairs of the BA&O cluster as early as possible.

 

Miscellaneous

There is no "official" registration for the Major/Minor. You decide which Major/Minor you want to take when you register for the examination. By registering for the examination or registering for the relevant module group, you define which Major/Minor you select. 

A list of the BA&O cluster’s curriculum can be found  here. If you have any questions on registering for an examination, please get in touch with the  contact of the Examination Office.

No, you can choose yourself, in which semester you want to attend which course, when you write your seminar paper and your thesis and also whether and when you insert a possible semester abroad or an internship.

When you do your planning, note that certain courses are only given in the summer or winter term and that examinations are not necessarily offered in each semester. Further information can be found in the current module catalog. You should also bear in mind the requirements for seminar papers and thesis places, since some chairs, for example, expect you to take and pass specific classes or that you have already written the seminar paper for their chair. The precise times/dates of the classes are given in the module catalog.

You can find out about the transfer of credits for courses taken during your semester abroad on the website of the Center for International Relations (CIR).

Search

Die häufigsten Fragen zum Cluster Business Analytics & Operations haben wir für Sie hier zusammengefasst.

Alle Angaben ohne Gewähr: es besteht kein Rechtsanspruch auf Grundlage der Fragen, Antworten und Links.

 

 

Spezielle Fragen für BWL

Das Cluster heißt „Business Analytics & Operations“. Der Major/Minor heißt „Operations and Information Management“.

In der Modulgruppe G müssen Sie insgesamt 30 ECTS erbringen. Sollten Sie weniger als sechs Vorlesungen besuchen und somit auch weniger als sechs Klausuren schreiben, müssen Sie die fehlenden ECTS mithilfe von Cases erbringen.

Der grundlegende Unterschied ist, dass ein Seminar der Modulgruppe H: Seminar zugeordnet ist, während Cases-Veranstaltungen zur Modulgruppe G: Major Operations & Information Management gehören. Bei einer Cases-Veranstaltung handelt sich um ein Projektstudium, welches als eine praktisch-orientierte Vorlesung betrachtet werden kann. Wichtig: Sie können sich eine Cases-Veranstaltung nicht als Seminar anrechnen lassen und umgekehrt ein Seminar nicht als Cases-Veranstaltung. Mehr Informationen dazu finden Sie hier und im Modulhandbuch.

In der  Prüfungsordnung, die seit 2015 gültig ist, ist festgelegt, dass man genau eine Seminararbeit im Umfang von 5 ECTS einbringen darf und gleichzeitig auch muss. Zur Auflistung der Seminare des Clusters BA&O geht es hier.

Nein, überflüssig sind diese nicht, denn Sie können überschüssige ECTS, die Sie in Vorlesungen oder Cases-Veranstaltungen des Major O&IM erbracht haben, in Ihre Modulgruppe F: General Management & Economics umbuchen und dort anrechnen lassen. Für genauere Informationen kontaktieren Sie hierfür bitte die Ansprechpartner des Prüfungsamtes.

 

Vorlesung & Übung

Für viele Veranstaltungen gibt es Wiederholungsklausuren, wenn diese in einem Semester nicht gelesen werden. Dies gilt jedoch nicht pauschal für alle Veranstaltungen. Wann die Vorlesungen und Übungen besucht werden können, können Sie dem Lehrangebot Ihres Studiengangs entnehmen. Ob es für eine Veranstaltung eine Wiederholungsklausur im darauffolgenden Semester angeboten wird, kann dem aktuellen Modulhandbuch entnommen werden.

 

Cases (Bachelor) & Software-Courses (Master)

Das entnehmen Sie bitte dem  Lehrangebot Ihres Studiengangs und dem Modulhandbuch.

Die Teilnehmerzahl ist bei Cases und Software-Courses beschränkt und die Anmeldeverfahren je nach Lehrstuhl sind unterschiedlich. Die Anmeldung erfolgt jedoch in der Regel bereits vor Semesterbeginn. Details dazu entnehmen Sie bitte den jeweiligen Homepages der Lehrstühle. Eine Aufstellung der angebotenen Cases-Veranstaltungen und Software-Courses finden Sie hier.

Ein "Recht" auf einen Platz in einer Cases-Veranstaltung und einem Software-Course haben Sie nicht. Über die Bewerbungsverfahren können Sie sich auf den Homepages der Lehrstühle informieren. Zur Übersicht der angebotenen Cases-Veranstaltungen und Software-Courses geht es hier.

Das hängt ganz vom Lehrstuhl ab. Möglich ist eine Prüfung im Sinne einer Klausur, es können aber auch Übungsblätter, die in Kleingruppen bearbeitet werden, benotet werden. Teilweise setzt sich die Note auch aus einer Kombination von Klausur und Übungsblättern zusammen. Ebenso sind das Verfassen einer Arbeit in Gruppen und/oder das Halten von Präsentationen möglich. Genauere Informationen zur Benotung finden Sie auf der jeweiligen Lehrstuhl-Homepage. Zur Übersicht der angebotenen Cases-Veranstaltungen und Software-Courses geht es hier.  

 

Seminar

Die Seminararbeitsplatzvergabe läuft bei jedem Lehrstuhl individuell ab. Genauere Informationen zu Seminararbeiten entnehmen Sie bitte den Seiten der Lehrstühle.

Eine Regel, die verbindlich vorschreibt, dass Seminar- und Bachelorarbeit am gleichen Lehrstuhl geschrieben werden muss, gibt es nicht. Oftmals ist es jedoch sinnvoll, seine Seminar- und Bachelorarbeit am gleichen Lehrstuhl zu verfassen. Informationen zu Voraussetzungen der Vergabe von Abschlussarbeiten finden Sie auf den Homepages der  Lehrstühle

Zunächst gibt es die Möglichkeit, dass Sie auf der Warteliste stehen und nachrücken, sobald ein Kommilitone abspringt. Ob der Lehrstuhl, an dem Sie sich beworben haben, ein solches Nachrückverfahren hat und wie dieses funktioniert, erfahren Sie auf den  Seiten der Lehrstühle. Wenn es Ihnen noch möglich ist, die Seminararbeit zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zu schreiben, bewerben Sie sich zum nächsten Einstiegstermin erneut bei Ihrem Wunschlehrstuhl oder ziehen Sie eine Bewerbung bei einem anderen Lehrstuhl in Betracht.

Sollten Sie z.B. aufgrund der „Acht-Semester-Hürde“ (BWL- & VWL-Bachelor) gezwungen sein, unverzüglich mit der Seminararbeit zu beginnen, können Ihnen der Clusterverantwortliche oder die Studienberatung weiterhelfen.

Wenn Sie den Major O&IM belegen, wird es Ihnen in der Regel ermöglicht, an einem Lehrstuhl des Clusters BA&O Ihre Seminararbeit zu schreiben. Es kann jedoch nicht garantiert werden, dass jeder Studierende seine Seminararbeit an seinem Wunschlehrstuhl schreiben kann. Informieren Sie sich so früh wie möglich über die Voraussetzungen und Bewerbungsfristen der Lehrstühle des Clusters BA&O.

 

Abschlussarbeiten (Bachelor- & Masterarbeiten)

Die Vergabe läuft bei jedem Lehrstuhl individuell ab. Informationen finden Sie auf den jeweiligen Homepages der  Lehrstühle des Clusters BA&O. 

Eine Regel, die verbindlich vorschreibt, dass Seminar- und Abschlussarbeit am gleichen Lehrstuhl geschrieben werden müssen, gibt es nicht.

Bei manchen Lehrstühlen gibt es allerdings die Voraussetzung, dass man bei ihnen bereits die Seminararbeit geschrieben hat, um einen Abschlussarbeitsplatz zu bekommen. Die Bedingungen der Lehrstühle sind jedoch unterschiedlich, weshalb nicht an jedem Lehrstuhl eine bestandene Seminararbeit zwingend notwendig ist. Informationen zu den Bedingungen der jeweiligen Lehrstühle finden Sie auf den Homepages der  Lehrstühle.

Zunächst gibt es die Möglichkeit, dass Sie auf der Warteliste stehen und nachrücken, sobald ein Kommilitone abspringt. Ob der Lehrstuhl, an dem Sie sich beworben haben, ein solches Nachrückverfahren hat und wie dieses funktioniert, erfahren Sie auf den  Seiten der Lehrstühle. Wenn es Ihnen noch möglich ist, die Abschlussarbeit zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt zu schreiben, bewerben Sie sich zum nächsten Einstiegstermin erneut bei Ihrem Wunschlehrstuhl oder ziehen Sie eine Bewerbung bei einem anderen Lehrstuhl in Betracht.

Sollten Sie z.B. aufgrund der „Acht-Semester-Hürde“ (BWL- & VWL-Bachelor) gezwungen sein, unverzüglich mit der Abschlussarbeit zu beginnen, können Ihnen der Clusterverantwortliche oder die  weiterhelfen.

Wenn Sie den Major O&IM belegen, wird es Ihnen in der Regel ermöglicht, an einem Lehrstuhl des Clusters BA&O Ihre Abschlussarbeit zu schreiben. Es kann jedoch nicht garantiert werden, dass jeder Studierende seine Abschlussarbeit an seinem Wunschlehrstuhl schreiben kann. Informieren Sie sich so früh wie möglich über die Voraussetzungen und Bewerbungsfristen der  Lehrstühle des Clusters BA&O.

 

Sonstiges

Eine "offizielle" Anmeldung für den Major/Minor gibt es in dem Sinn nicht. Sie entscheiden sich bei der Prüfungsanmeldung, welchen Major/Minor Sie belegen möchten. Durch die Prüfungsanmeldung bzw. der Anmeldung in der entsprechenden Modulgruppe legen Sie fest, welchen Major/Minor Sie wählen. 

Eine Aufstellung des Lehrangebots des Clusters BA&O finden Sie hier. Bei Fragen zur Prüfungsanmeldung, wenden Sie sich bitte an die  Ansprechpartner des Prüfungsamtes.

Nein, Sie können selbst wählen, in welchem Semester Sie welche Veranstaltung besuchen, wann Sie Seminararbeiten und Ihre Abschlussarbeit schreiben und auch ob und wann Sie evtl. ein Auslands- oder Praktikumssemester einschieben.

Bei der Planung ist zu beachten, dass bestimmte Veranstaltungen nur im Sommer- oder Wintersemester gelesen werden und Prüfungen auch nicht zwingend jedes Semester angeboten werden. Nähere Informationen dazu finden Sie im aktuellen Modulhandbuch. Auch Voraussetzungen für Seminar- und Abschlussarbeitsplätze sollten Sie im Auge behalten, da manche Lehrstühle z.B. erwarten, dass bestimmte Veranstaltungen besucht und bestanden wurden oder die Seminararbeit bereits an ihrem Lehrstuhl geschrieben wurde. Die genauen Zeiten der Veranstaltungen entnehmen Sie bitte dem .

Über die Leistungsanrechnung von Kursen aus dem Auslandssemester können Sie sich auf der Homepage des Center for International Relations (CIR) informieren.

Suche