Welcome to the website of the Buisness Analytics & Operations cluster!
 

The BA&O cluster (formerly the Operations & Information Management cluster) teaches skills in topics such as Operations Research, Business Analytics, and Operations Management.

Exemplary questions

As a customer it is easy to order a smartphone on the internet. But for the manufacturer this raises complex issues. Where is the most cost-effective location for my company? How many employees do I need? In what quantities do I store and produce smartphones? At what price do I offer smartphones? How is the delivery of the smartphones organized? When do I need to exchange information with suppliers and dealers? The techniques and methods of Business Analytics & Operations are used to answer these and similar questions.

Solution approaches

Operations management deals with the sustainable planning and analysis of service and production processes using quantitative methods. In addition to teaching theoretical content in lectures, application-oriented software courses are offered, e.g. the cases courses in the bachelor's program, in which theoretical knowledge is put into practice. Students of the Business Analytics & Operations (BA&O) cluster receive a comprehensive basic education with specific analytical skills.

Career prospects

Attending the cluster’s courses prepares students for employment in all industries, especially in the logistics, production, procurement, revenue management, and operations management. Areas of activity are found especially in the interface between operations and information technology. Graduates usually start their careers in strategic and specialist management consultancies as well as in service and production companies, such as airlines or the automotive industry.

News

July 27, 2020

Chair of Statistics becomes part of the Cluster BA&O

The Chair of Statistics of Prof. Yarema Okhrin will complement the offer of the cluster in the master's program with the English-language course "Machine Learning". The practical implementation is done with R. Further information see here:

Professors and Chairs of the Cluster

Health Care Operations / Health Information Management
Analytics & Optimization
Quantitative Methods
Business and Information Systems Engineering - Management Support
Production & Supply Chain Management

Study offer

Study offer for
Study offer for
Frequently Asked Questions

Contact

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Prof. Dr. Jens O. Brunner: Health Care Operations / Health Information Management

Cluster-specific performance recognition

Basic information and advice on the recognition of academic achievements from abroad can be found on the website of the Center for International Relations of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

 

To the crediting of credits (in German)

Search

Herzlich willkommen!

Wir begrüßen Sie auf der Informationsseite des Clusters Business Analytics & Operations (BA&O)!

Das Cluster BA&O (ehemals: Cluster Operations & Information Management) vermittelt Kompetenzen zu Themen wie Operations Research, Business Analytics und Operations Management.

Fragestellungen

Als Kunde ist es einfach, im Internet ein Smartphone zu bestellen. Doch für den Hersteller ergeben sich hieraus komplexe Fragestellungen. Wo ist der kostengünstigste Standort meines Unternehmens? Wie viele Mitarbeiter benötige ich? In welchen Mengen lagere und produziere ich Smartphones? Zu welchem Preis biete ich Smartphones an? Wie wird die Auslieferung der Smartphones organisiert? Zu welchem Zeitpunkt müssen Informationen mit Lieferanten und Händlern ausgetauscht werden? Zur Beantwortung dieser und ähnlicher Fragen werden die Techniken und Methoden des Business Analytics & Operations eingesetzt.

Lösungsansätze

Das Operations Management beschäftigt sich mit der nachhaltigen Planung und Analyse von Dienstleistungs- und Produktionsprozessen mithilfe von quantitativen Verfahren. Neben der Vermittlung von theoretischen Inhalten in Vorlesungen werden anwendungsorientierte Softwarekurse, z.B. die Cases-Veranstaltungen im Bachelorstudium, angeboten, in denen das theoretische Wissen praktisch umgesetzt wird. Studierende des Clusters Business Analytics & Operations (BA&O) erhalten eine umfassende Grundlagenausbildung mit spezifischen Fähigkeiten im analytischen Bereich.

Berufliche Perspektiven

Der Besuch von Veranstaltungen des Clusters bereitet auf eine Beschäftigung in allen Branchen insbesondere in den Bereichen Logistik, Produktion, Beschaffung, Revenue Management sowie Operations Management vor. Tätigkeitsbereiche finden sich dabei insbesondere in der Schnittstelle zwischen Operations und Informationstechnologie. Den Berufseinstieg finden Absolventen in der Regel in strategischen und fachspezifischen Unternehmensberatungen sowie in Dienstleistungs- und Produktionsunternehmen, etwa bei Fluggesellschaften oder in der Automobilbranche.

Aktuelles

27. Juli 2020

Lehrstuhl für Statistik wird ab dem Wintersemester 2020/21 Teil des Clusters BA&O

Der Lehrstuhl für Statistik von Prof. Okhrin wird das Angebot des Clusters im Master mit der englischsprachigen Veranstaltung "Machine Learning" ergänzen. Die praktische Umsetzung wird mit R erfolgen. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier:

13. April 2020

Eingeschränktes Lehrangebot im Sommersemester 2020

Der Vorlesungsbetrieb in diesem Sommersemester beginnt am 20.04.2020, jedoch vorerst ausschließlich digital und nicht in Präsenzform. Dies bedeutet, dass einige Veranstaltungen auch aus unserem Lehrprogramm nicht stattfinden können. Eine aktuelle Übersicht über online, mittels Digicampus, angebotene Veranstaltungen des Clusters finden Sie hier:

Professoren und Lehrstühle des Clusters

Health Care Operations / Health Information Management
Analytics & Optimization
Quantitative Methoden in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften
Wirtschaftsinformatik und Management Support
Production & Supply Chain Management

Studienangebot

Lehrangebot des Clusters
Lehrangebot des Clusters
Frequently Asked Questions

Ansprechpartner für Clusterfragen

Sebastian Kling M.Sc.
Wiss. Mitarbeiter
Prof. Dr. Jens O. Brunner: Health Care Operations / Health Information Management

Clusterspezifische Leistungsanerkennung

Grundlegende Informationen und Hinweise zur Anerkennung von im Ausland erbrachten Studienleistungen sind der Webseite des Center for International Relations der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät zu entnehmen.

 

Zur Leistungsanrechnung

Suche