Recognition and Enforcement of Non-EU Judgments

The fourth project of the EAPIL Young Research Network focuses on the national rules (of the EU Member States) on the recognition and enforcement of judgments in civil and commercial matters, applicable in cases falling outside the scope of the Brussels Ia Regulation, in particular, when the judgments in question are those rendered by the courts of third States. The aim of the project is to enable a comparison of the above-mentioned national rules. This comparison, in turn, will allow a broader comparison with the rules set forth in the Hague Convention of 2 July 2019 on the Recognition and Enforcement of Foreign Judgments in Civil and Commercial Matters.


The project is headed by Tobias Lutzi, Ennio Piovesani (University of Turin) and Dora Zgrabljić Rotar (University of Zagreb). Overall, it involves 34 researchers from 20 Member States, who are currently finalising their national reports.



  • Summer 2024: Preparation of the Comparative Report and concluding conference
  • until Feb 2024: Completion of the National Reports
  • November 2023: hybrid Workshop at the University of Turin
  • June 2023: online Workshop
  • March 2023: Call for Participants


Project Heads
National Reporters
  • Ivan Allegranti (University of Camerino)

  • Karin Arnold (University of Tübingen)

  • Tess Bens (University of Vienna)

  • Katažyna Bogdzevič (Mykolas Romeris University)

  • Claudia Cavicchioli (Linklaters, Paris)

  • Ramona Cirlig (Mușat & Asociații, Bucharest)

  • Paul Eichmüller (University of Vienna)

  • Aleksandrs Fillers (Riga Graduate School of Law)

  • Blas Piñar Guzmán (§yndēresis legal)

  • Tena Hoško (University of Zagreb)

  • Birgit van Houtert (Maastricht University)

  • Nicolas Kyriakidis (Cyprus)

  • Ilia Lassin (Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”)

  • Eva Litina (University of the Aegean)

  • Radovan Malachta (Masaryk University, Brno)

  • Giedrius Oziunas (Mykolas Romeris University)

  • Marco Pasqua (Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore, Milan)

  • Daniel-Florin Petrache (University of Bucharest)

  • Patrik Provazník (Masaryk University, Brno)

  • Ioannis Revolidis (University of Malta)

  • Konstantinos Rokas (Aristotle University of Thessaloniki)

  • Anna Maria Ruiz Martín (Geneva Business School and at the Open University of Catalonia)

  • Dafina Sarbinova (Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridski”)

  • Szilágyi Ferenc (Pázmány Péter Catholic University, Budapest)

  • Erik Sinander (University of Stockholm)

  • Athannasios Skontzos (Max Planck Institute Luxembourg)

  • Onerva-Aulikki Suhonen (University of Eastern Finland)

  • Ferenc Szilágyi (Pázmány Péter Catholic University)

  • Leon Theimer (Humboldt University, Berlin)

  • Cedric Vanleenhove (University of Ghent)

  • Anna Wysocka-Bar (Jagiellonian University in Kraków)