Professorship of Processing of Complex Structured Materials for Demanding Environments

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Suelen Barg
© University of Augsburg

On the 1st of February 2021, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Suelen Barg joined the Institute for Materials Resource Management at the University of Augsburg. She took over the professorship for Processing of Complex Structured Materials for Demanding Environments.

 

Suelen Barg graduated in Materials Engineering from the Federal University of Santa Catarina in her homeland Brazil. Her doctoral thesis, which she completed at the University of Bremen, focused on colloidal processes for the production of technical ceramics. After her PhD, she worked as a Marie Curie Fellow at Imperial College London at the Centre for Advanced Structural Ceramics from 2010 to 2014. Here she investigated new methods to fabricate graphene-based materials into three-dimensional functional structures and bioinspired materials. Subsequently, she was a Lecturer and Senior Lecturer in the field of structural materials at the University of Manchester, where she led the research group Nanostructured Three-Dimensional Assemblies (Nano-3D) for six years. She is also co-founder of Nanoplexus.co.uk, a spinoff from the University of Manchester. In 2019, she and her founding team were awarded the Eli and Britt Harari Graphene Enterprise Award.

In her research, Suelen Barg focuses on the design and fabrication of novel nanostructured materials that have structural as well as functional properties. Target applications include future transportation systems and clean energy generation for a sustainable world of tomorrow. "The efficient use of materials and the development of resource-saving processes for the production of complex materials will be a central component of my research," says Suelen Barg. She is looking forward to interdisciplinary collaboration in the field of data-based modeling and simulation of materials developed for demanding applications.

Search

Professur für Processing of Complex Structured Materials for Demanding Environments

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Suelen Barg
© Universität Augsburg

Zum 1. Februar 2021 verstärkt Prof. Dr.-Ing. Suelen Barg das Institut für Materials Resource Management an der Universität Augsburg. Sie übernimmt die Professur für Processing of Complex Structured Materials for Demanding Environments.

 

Suelen Barg schloss ihr Studium Materials Engineering in ihrer Heimat Brasilien an der Federal University of Santa Catarina ab. In ihrer Doktorarbeit, die sie an der Universität Bremen anfertigte, beschäftigte sie sich mit kolloidalen Verfahren zur Herstellung technischer Keramiken. Nach ihrer Promotion arbeitete sie von 2010 bis 2014 als Marie Curie-Stipendiatin am Imperial College London am Centre for Advanced Structural Ceramics. Hier untersuchte sie neue Methoden zur Herstellung Graphen-basierter Materialien zu dreidimensionalen funktionalen Strukturen und bioinspirierten Werkstoffen. Anschließend war sie an der University of Manchester als Lecturer und Senior Lecturer auf dem Gebiet der Strukturmaterialien tätig und leitete dort sechs Jahre die Forschungsgruppe Nanostructured Three-Dimensional Assemblies (Nano-3D). Zudem ist sie Mitgründerin der Firma Nanoplexus.co.uk, einem Spinoff der University of Manchester. 2019 wurde sie mit ihrem Gründerteam mit dem Eli and Britt Harari Graphene Enterprise Award ausgezeichnet.

In ihrer Forschung konzentriert sich Suelen Barg auf die Entwicklung und Fertigung neuartiger nanostrukturierter Materialien, die strukturelle und gleichzeitig auch funktionelle Eigenschaften besitzen. Zielanwendungen sind zukünftige Transportsysteme und saubere Energiegewinnung für eine nachhaltige Welt von Morgen. „Die effiziente Nutzung von Werkstoffen und die Entwicklung ressourcenschonender Prozesse zur Herstellung komplexer Materialien werden ein zentraler Baustein meiner Forschung sein“, sagt Suelen Barg. Sie freue sich auf die interdisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit auf dem Gebiet der datenbasierten Modellierung und Simulation von Werkstoffen, die für anspruchsvolle Anwendungen entwickelt werden.

Suche