International Doctorate Program "Rethinking Environment"

The Augsburg-Munich International Doctorate Program “Rethinking Environment: The Environmental Humanities and the Ecological Transformation of Society” is based at the Environmental Science Center WZU (Augsburg) and the Rachel Carson Center (Munich). The program’s speaker is Professor. Dr. Matthias Schmidt (Human Geography, Augsburg), its deputy speaker Dr. Simone Müller (Global and Environmental History, Munich).

 

“Rethinking Environment: The Environmental Humanities and the Ecological Transformation of Society” starts on October 1, 2021 and is funded by the Elite Network of Bavaria.

 

The program invites graduate students from all over the world and from a broad range of fields. It offers a unique opportunity to pursue a doctoral degree by examining the ecological transformation of society from an interdisciplinary perspective and within an intellectually inspiring environment that brings together the international and regional expertise of its many partners and networks.

 

Participating disciplines include American Studies, Anthropology, Didactics of Geography, Economics, Environmental Ethics, Environmental Health Sciences, Environmental Humanities, Environmental Philosophy, History, Human Geography, Iberian and Latin American Studies, Science and Technology Studies, and Theology. Languages are English and German. The program is continuously supported by international guest professors, experienced practitioners, and creative artists/writers whose work focuses on environmental topics.

 

For questions please contact: PD Dr. Kirsten Twelbeck (twelbeck.idk@wzu.uni-augsburg.de) or Dr. Hanna Straß-Senol (hanna.strass-senol@rcc.lmu.de).

 

 

 
About IDK
Core Research Interests
Structure and Curriculum
People
Call for Applications
Apply

Submit your application for the International Doctoral Program "Rethinking Environment" by 04.15.2021 via our online form. Please prepare your application as one PDF file.

Go to Application Form

Search

Internationales Doktorand:innenkolleg „Um(welt)Denken“

Das vom Elitenetzwerk Bayern geförderte Internationale Doktorand:innenprogramm (IDK) "Um(Welt)Denken. Die Environmental Humanities und die ökologische Transformation der Gesellschaft" ist eine Kooperation zwischen der Universität Augsburg (Trägeruni) und der Ludwig-Maximilian-Universität München (LMU).  Angesiedelt ist es am Wissenschaftszentrum Umwelt WZU (Augsburg) und am Rachel Carson Center (München). Sprecher des Kollegs sind Prof. Dr. Matthias Schmidt (Universität Augsburg) und Dr. Simone Müller (LMU).

 

Das Programm hat am 1. Oktober 2021 begonnen.


Das Doktorand:innenkolleg richtet sich an Graduierte aus der ganzen Welt und integriert ein breites Spektrum an Fachgebieten. Aus dieser interdisziplinären Perspektive untersucht es die ökologische Transformation der Gesellschaft. Dazu bietet das Doktorand:innenkolleg ein spannendes intellektuelles Umfeld und führt die internationale und regionale Expertise der vielen Partner und Netzwerke beider Zentren auf in dieser Form einmalige Weise zusammen.


Die teilnehmenden Disziplinen sind wie folgt: Amerikanistik, Anthropologie, Didaktik der Geographie, Ökonomie, Umweltethik, Umweltgesundheitswissenschaften, Umwelthumanwissenschaften, Umweltphilosophie, Geschichte, Humangeographie, Ibero-Romanistik, Wissenschafts- und Technologiestudien und Theologie. Die Sprachen des Kollegs sind Englisch und Deutsch. Das Programm wird kontinuierlich von internationalen Gastprofessor:innen, erfahrenen Praktiker:innen und kreativen Künstler:innen/Autor:innen unterstützt, die sich mit Umweltthemen beschäftigen.


Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an: PD Dr. Kirsten Twelbeck (twelbeck.idk@wzu.uni-augsburg.de).

 

 

 

  • Zum Weiterlesen: Die Environmental Humanities an der Universität Augsburg und am WZU
  • Zusätzliche Informationen zu den Promovierendenprogrammen des Elitenetzwerks Bayern hier
 
Über das IDK
Forschungsschwerpunkte
Struktur und Curriculum

Suche