Geoinformatics solves space-related problems using computer-assisted applications. On a global level, geoinformation scientists deal with, for example, simulation of climate change, at a regional level with the management and monitoring of private power grids, on a local level with personalised mobility apps. Nowadays, 80 % of all decisions are based at least on a spatial component and need the collection, analysis and visualisation of geodata to do this; i.e. a deep understanding for digital processing of spatial information. To this end, in the interface between informatics and geography, geoinformatics provides a well-founded and comprehensive education for effective solution of global problems that our society faces.

 

GIS Kurs Juni 2019 © University of Augsburg
GeoDome Spiegel Juni 2019 © University of Augsburg
GeoDome Juni 2019 © University of Augsburg
Datenerfassung mit Survey auf Pad Juni 2019 © University of Augsburg
Course of studies facts
name: Geoinformatics
graduation type: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
study mode: full time
start of studies: winter semester, summer semester
standard period of study: 6 semester
restriction: unrestricted
german language knowledge (at least): C 1

Course contents

In addition to the fundamental courses, the accredited bachelor of science course in geoinformatics offers diverse practically-orientated events. In addition to the learning content for the chosen subject, the course also imparts general learning content such as teamwork, work organisation and project management.

 

Starting a course in the winter semester is recommended, as starting in the summer semester could lead to study delays. Following a standard study period of 6 semesters, you can acquire a university Bachelor of Science degree in geoinformatics. Based on this, you can then take a master of science course in geoinformatics.

 

Interdisciplinarity

The bachelor of science course in geoinformatics is interdisciplinary and is therefore offered jointly by the Institute for Informatics and by the Institute for Geography. The professors work on national and international research projects, publish worldwide and cooperate with numerous universities, research facilities and firms at home and abroad. Students of geoinformatics receive intensive support, not only from experts of the Institute for Informatics but also the experts of the Institute for Geography. Close relationships also exist with the Environmental Sciences Centre (Wissenschaftszentrum Umwelt), the Schneefernerhaus environmental research station as well as the Centre for Interdisciplinary Health Reseach (Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung).

 

Stays abroad

A special feature of this course is the possibility of spending an integrated semester abroad. To this end, in particular European as well as worldwide cooperation exist on a university and on a professional level. The compulsory work placement can also be carried out abroad.

Course structure

© University of Augsburg

Professional fields

Study of geoinformatics provides a well-founded and at the same time diverse academic education. Following your successful graduation, diverse fields of work are open to you, for example:

 

  • Urban and regional planning,
  • Waste management
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Logistics, navigation and traffic,
  • Telecommunication and eCommerce,
  • Marketing, leisure and tourism,
  • Agriculture and forestry,
  • Landscape planning,
  • Emergency management and disaster response,
  • Water and energy supply,
  • Risk assessment for insurance firms and much more.

Our bachelor degree enables the graduates to use geoinformatics tools in the different fields of application.

 

 

Search

Die Geoinformatik löst raumbezogene Probleme mit computergestützten Anwendungen. Auf globaler Ebene beschäftigen sich Geoinformatiker zum Beispiel mit der Simulation des Klimawandels, auf regionaler Ebene mit dem Management und der Überwachung privater Stromnetze, auf lokaler Ebene mit personalisierten Mobilitäts-Apps. Heute stützen sich bereits 80 % aller Entscheidungen auf mindestens eine räumliche Komponente und brauchen dafür die Erhebung, Analyse und Visualisierung von Geodaten, also auch ein tief gehendes Verständnis für digitale Verarbeitung räumlicher Informationen. Die Geoinformatik vermittelt dazu im Schnittstellenbereich von Informatik und Geographie eine solide und umfassende Ausbildung zur effektiven Lösung der weltumspannenden Probleme, die auf unsere Gesellschaft zukommen.

 

GIS Kurs Juni 2019 © Universität Augsburg
GeoDome Spiegel Juni 2019 © Universität Augsburg
GeoDome Juni 2019 © Universität Augsburg
Datenerfassung mit Survey auf Pad Juni 2019 © Universität Augsburg
Fakten zum Studiengang
Name: Geoinformatik
Studienabschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Studienform: Vollzeit
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester/Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Zulassungsmodus: zulassungsfrei
Deutschkenntnisse (Mindestanforderungen): C 1
Hinweise: Für den Studienbeginn wird das Wintersemester empfohlen.
Bewerbungsschluss Sommersemester: 03. April 2020 *
Bewerbungsschluss Wintersemester: 11. Oktober 2019 *

* Ausnahmen für grundständige Studiengänge bei Bewerber/-innen mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangs­berechtigung und Beruflich Qualifizierten.

Studieninhalte

Der akkreditierte Bachelorstudiengang Geoinformatik bietet neben den Grundlagenkursen vielfältige praxisorientierte Veranstaltungen. Zu den fachlichen Lerninhalten vermittelt der Studiengang überfachliche Lerninhalte wie Teamwork, Arbeitsorganisation und Projektmanagement.

 

Ein Beginn ist zum Wintersemester empfohlen, da bei einem Beginn im Sommersemester Verzögerungen im Studium nicht ausgeschlossen werden können. Nach einer Regelstudienzeit von 6 Semestern können Sie den Universitätsgrad Bachelor of Science in Geoinformatik erwerben. Darauf aufbauend können Sie einen Master-Studiengang in Geoinformatik besuchen.

 

Interdisziplinarität

Der Bachelorstudiengang Geoinformatik ist interdisziplinär und wird daher vom Institut für Informatik und vom Institut für Geographie gemeinsam angeboten. Die Professoren arbeiten an nationalen wie internationalen Forschungsprojekten, publizieren weltweit und kooperieren mit zahlreichen in- und ausländsichen Universitäten, Forschungseinrichtungen und Firmen. Studierende der Geoinformatik werden sowohl von Experten aus dem Institut für Informatik als auch von Experten aus dem Institut für Geographie intensiv betreut. Enge Beziehungen bestehen zudem zum Wissenschaftszentrum Umwelt, zur Umweltforschungsstation Schneefernerhaus sowie zum Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung.

 

Auslandsaufenthalte

Eine Besonderheit dieses Studiengangs ist die Möglichkeit ein integriertes Auslandssemester zu absolvieren. Dazu bestehen insbesondere europäische aber auch weltweite Kooperationen auf universitärer sowie auf fachlicher Ebene. Das verpflichtende Berufspraktikum kann ebenfalls im Ausland absolviert werden.

Aufbau des Studiums

Studienaufbau B.Sc. Geoinformatik PO2011

© Universität Augsburg

Berufsfelder

Das Studium der Geoinformatik ist eine fundierte und gleichzeitig vielseitig angelegte akademische Ausbildung. Nach Ihrem erfolgreichen Abschluss stehen Ihnen vielfältige Betätigungsfelder offen, zum Beispiel:

 

  • Stadt- und Regionalplanung,
  • Abfallwirtschaft
  • Umweltmonitoring
  • Logistik, Navigation und Verkehr,
  • Telekommunikation und e-commerce,
  • Marketing, Freizeit- und Tourismus,
  • Land- und Forstwirtschaft,
  • Landschaftsplanung,
  • Katastrophenschutz,
  • Wasser- und Energieversorgung,
  • Risikobewertung bei Versicherungen und viele mehr.

Unser Bachelor-Abschluss befähigt die Absolventen dazu in den verschiedenen Anwendungsfeldern Geoinformatik-Werkzeuge einzusetzen.

 

 

Suche