Diverse perspectives, important future fields

 

With approximately 80 publications per year in top-tier international journals, the Faculty of Business and Economics holds its own very successfully in international competition. Consequently, it has been ranked for many years among the top 15 faculties of business and economics at state universities in Germany. Among other bodies, research at the faculty is regularly sponsored by the European Union, the German Research Foundation, and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. The faculty is also very successful in promoting young researchers. Around 80 professors in Germany and abroad were educated at the Faculty of Business and Economics.

 

The members of the Faculty of Business and Economics play an active role in shaping the constant change in the business and economics sciences and regularly tap into innovative and relevant issues. They develop new methods, apply known methods at the highest level, and present the results of the research to the worldwide scientific community and interested institutions. With its research, the faculty is helping us to understand and explain complex interrelationships, forecast future developments at micro- and macro level, and solve specific decision-making problems. It is thereby shaping the discourse in the long term concerning key future fields such as digital business & entrepreneurship, health & society as well as sustainability. More information on specific projects and publications can be found on the respective the chair's websites.

Digital Business & Entrepreneurship

Digital business models shape markets and drive innovations, business start-ups as well as economic growth. Key research fields at the Faculty of Business and Economics include digital strategies and business models, questions relating to the knowledge economy and the sources of innovative business ideas as well as the mechanisms involved in their implementation. The resulting research findings are put into practice by numerous cooperations with public and private organizations. Business start-ups are supported and initiated by the Augsburg Center for Entrepreneurship (ACE) and the initiative “Leveraging Potentials in Augsburg (PiA)” sponsored by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, which are both led by members of the Faculty of Business and Economics.

Health & Society

Considerable cost increases as a result of demographic change and medical and technical progress as well as the simultaneous shortage of skilled workers increase the scarcity of health resources and therefore the necessity for allocating resources efficiently in order to safeguard a high-performance health system. The Faculty of Business and Economics has been making important contributions in this regard for a long time in the areas of regulation, process optimization, and digitalization. Among other means, the knowledge gained is fed into the political process by way of participation in academic advisory bodies of the Federal Ministry of Finance and of the Federal Office for Social Security. It is also, however, implemented practically in clinics.

Sustainability

Bringing about progression that is sustainable globally, through decarbonization, conservation of resources, and sustainable mobility, for example, is a key challenge for industry and society. In the last few decades, the Faculty of Business and Economics has made significant research contributions relating to energy, climate, resources, and the environment which are substantial bases and drivers for the processes that will help transform us into a sustainable society. Numerous researchers at the faculty deal intensively with sustainability-relevant issues and also transfer the results of their research to practical and political bodies such as the German Advisory Council on the Environment.

Pexels

The latest methods, sustainable solutions

 

New and complex issues require intelligent and not cursory answers. The Faculty of Business and Economics is facing up to this challenge by systematically applying the latest methods. One focal point with which the faculty has gained a strong reputation over the past decades relates to the application of quantitative methods from the areas of statistics, econometrics, and optimization. Today these methods are supplemented for example by artificial intelligence procedures, experiments in the faculty’s computer laboratory, and the targeted collection of data from markets. Using this broad range of methods, the faculty provides in-depth and comprehensible answers and elaborates sustainable solutions.

Competence Center for Global Business Management

 

Research activities as well as the promotion of young researchers at the faculty are bundled in the Competence Center for Global Business Management (GBM). Exploring global connections at micro- and macro level is the center’s key focus. In conjunction with the Augsburg Center for Global Economic Law and Regulation (ACELR), the Competence Center for Global Business Management (GBM) forms the cross-faculty Competence Center for Global Business and Law (GBL).

© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

Close linking of research and practice

 

A key objective of the research conducted at the faculty is to cooperate with the practical world and to forward findings to the general public. Partnerships with organizations and companies as well as cross-faculty centers such as the Center for Climate Resilience, the Competence Center for Global Business and Law, the Center for Interdisciplinary Health Research, the Center for Lifelong Learning and Transfer of Knowledge, the Environmental Science Center as well as the  Jakob Fugger Center establish the framework for multidisciplinary cooperation and knowledge transfer.

Search

Vielfältige Perspektiven, wichtige Zukunftsfelder 

 

Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät beweist sich mit ca. 80 Publikationen pro Jahr in weltweit führenden Journals (v.a. A+, A und B) sehr erfolgreich im internationalen Wettbewerb. Sie ist damit seit vielen Jahren unter den Top 15 der wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultäten an staatlichen Universitäten in Deutschland. Die Forschung an der Fakultät wird regelmäßig unter anderem durch die Europäische Union, die Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft und das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung gefördert. Sehr erfolgreich ist sie auch in der Nachwuchsförderung. ´Rund 80 Professor*innen in Deutschland und im Ausland wurden an der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät ausgebildet. 

 

Die Mitglieder der Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät gestalten den stetigen Wandel in den Wirtschaftswissenschaften aktiv mit und erschließen regelmäßig innovative und relevante Fragestellungen. Sie entwickeln neue Methoden, wenden bekannte Methoden auf höchstem Niveau an und präsentieren die Ergebnisse der Forschung der weltweiten Scientific Community und interessierten Institutionen. Die Fakultät trägt mit ihrer Forschung dazu bei, komplexe Zusammenhänge zu verstehen und zu erklären, zukünftige Entwicklungen auf Mikro- und Makroebene zu prognostizieren und konkrete Entscheidungsprobleme zu lösen. Sie prägt dabei nachhaltig den Diskurs über wichtige Zukunftsfelder wie Digital Business & Entrepreneurship, Health & Society sowie Sustainability. Mehr Informationen zu konkreten Projekten und Publikationen finden Sie auf den jeweiligen Lehrstuhlseiten

Digital Business & Entrepreneurship

Digitale Geschäftsmodelle prägen Märkte und treiben Innovationen, Unternehmensgründungen sowie das Wirtschaftswachstum. Zentrale Forschungsfelder sind digitale Strategien und Geschäftsmodelle, Fragestellungen der Wissensökonomie und der Quellen innovativer Geschäftsideen sowie die Mechanismen ihrer Umsetzung. Die resultierenden Forschungsergebnisse werden durch zahlreiche Kooperationen mit öffentlichen und privaten Organisationen in die Praxis transferiert. Durch das Augsburg Center for Entrepreneurship (ACE) und die vom Bundeswirtschaftsministerium geförderte Initiative Potentiale heben in Augsburg (PiA), die beide von Mitgliedern der Wirtschaftswissenschaftlichen Fakultät geleitet werden, werden Unternehmensgründungen unterstützt und initiiert.

Health & Society

Erhebliche Kostensteigerungen durch den demografischen Wandel und den medizinisch-technischen Fortschritt sowie der gleichzeitige Fachkräftemangel verstärken die Knappheit von Gesundheitsressourcen und damit die Notwendigkeit einer effizienten Ressourcenallokation zur Sicherung eines leistungsfähigen Gesundheitssystems. Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät leistet dazu seit langem wichtige Beiträge in den Bereichen Regulierung, Prozessoptimierung und Digitalisierung. Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse werden unter anderem über die Mitwirkung in wissenschaftlichen Beratungsgremien des Bundesministeriums der Finanzen und des Bundesversicherungsamtes in den politischen Prozess eingespeist, aber auch praktisch in Kliniken umgesetzt.

Sustainability

Die Realisierung einer global nachhaltigen Entwicklung, etwa durch Dekarbonisierung, Ressourcenschonung und nachhaltige Mobilität, ist eine zentrale Herausforderung für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten wesentliche Forschungsbeiträge in den Bereichen Energie, Klima, Ressourcen und Umwelt geleistet, die maßgebliche Grundlagen und Treiber für Transformationsprozesse hin zu einer nachhaltigen Gesellschaft sind. Zahlreiche Forschende an der Fakultät beschäftigen sich intensiv mit nachhaltigkeitsrelevanten Themen und transferieren ihre Forschungsergebnisse auch in Praxis- und Politikgremien wie etwa den Sachverständigenrat für Umweltfragen der Bundesregierung.

Pexels

Neueste Methoden, nachhaltige Lösungen 

 

Neuartige und komplexe Fragestellungen erfordern kluge und nicht verkürzende Antworten. Die Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät stellt sich dieser Herausforderung durch die konsequente Anwendung neuester Methoden. Ein Schwerpunkt, mit dem sich die Fakultät über die vergangenen Jahrzehnte hohe Reputation erworben hat, liegt auf der Anwendung quantitativer Ansätze aus den Bereichen Statistik, Ökonometrie und Optimierung. Heute werden diese ergänzt zum Beispiel durch Verfahren der künstlichen Intelligenz, Experimente im fakultätseigenen Rechnerlabor und die gezielte Erhebung von Daten in Märkten. Mit Hilfe dieses breiten Methodenspektrums gibt die Fakultät fundierte und nachvollziehbare Antworten und erarbeitet nachhaltige Lösungen.

Kompetenzzentrum: Global Business Management

 

Im Kompetenzzentrum Global Business Management (GBM) werden Forschungsaktivitäten sowie die Förderung junger Wirtschaftswissenschaftler an der Fakultät gebündelt. Im Fokus steht die Erforschung globaler Zusammenhänge auf Mikro- und Makroebene. Gemeinsam mit dem Center for Global Economic Law and Regulation (ACELR) bildet das Kompetenzzentrum GBM das fakultätsübergreifende Kompetenzzentrum Global Business and Law (GBL).

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

Enge Vernetzung von Wissenschaft und Praxis

 

Ein zentrales Ziel der Forschung an der Fakultät ist die Zusammenarbeit mit der Praxis und die Weitergabe von Erkenntnissen an die Öffentlichkeit. Partnerschaften mit Organisationen und Unternehmen sowie fakultätsübergreifende Zentren wie Global Business and Law, das Zentrum für interdisziplinäre Gesundheitsforschung und das Zentrum für Weiterbildung und Wissenstransfer bilden den Rahmen für multidisziplinäre Zusammenarbeit und Wissenstransfer.

Suche