Materials Science and Engineering (B.Sc.)

Study content:

Metals, semiconductors, ceramics, polymers - from lightweight and fibre composites to bioactive materials, from novel magnetic and electrical functional materials for microelectronics to new energy materials - high-tech materials are found in many areas of everyday life.
How to produce such materials in a sustainable and resource-saving way, how to understand and investigate their properties and how to create protoypical functional models and test them under realistic conditions is what the Materials Science and Engineering degree programme in Augsburg deals with. A first focus is on the question of an atomistic understanding of the structure-property relationships of materials in order to be able to optimise them in a targeted manner. Secondly, the study programme also focuses on the question of the application of materials, the manufacture of components and the digitalisation of production.

Jointly organised by the Institute of Physics and the Institute of Materials Resource Management, it combines scientific and engineering aspects in one degree programme.
 

Career prospects:

  • materials research and development
  • product development
  • quality assurance
  • failure analysis
  • technical sales in industrial companies
  • automotive industry
  • aerospace industry
  • chemical industry
  • medicine
  • environmental protection
  • science and research
About the degree programme
Degree programme: Materials Science and Engineering
Official Designation: Materials Science and Engineering
Degree: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Study mode: Full-time
Language of instruction: German
Start of studies: winter semester, summer semester
Standard study duration: 6 semester
Admission type: Open admission
Minimum German language skills: B 2
Please note: The degree programme can be commenced in the winter semester or, in particularly suitable individual cases, to be examined by the examination board, in the summer semester. The enrolment deadline will be published on our website: https://www.uni-aug… Introductory events take place closely before the start of the lecture period: https://www.uni-aug… Start of the lecture period: https://www.uni-aug…

Contact the study advisory service

Group Leader Nanoscale Functional Oxides
Experimental Physics IV

Contact the examinations office

Annemarie Leichtle
Degree Programmes: Materials Science and Engineering
Unit I/5: Examinations Office B

Search

Materials Science and Engineering (B.Sc.)

Studieninhalt

Metalle, Halbleiter, Keramiken, Polymere – von Leichtbau- und Faserverbundwerkstoffen bis zu bioaktiven Materialien, von neuartigen magnetischen und elektrischen Funktionsmaterialien für die Mikroelektronik bis hin zu neuen Energiematerialien – High-Tech Materialien finden sich in vielen Bereichen des täglichen Lebens.
Wie man solche Materialien nachhaltig und ressourcenschonend herstellt, deren Eigenschaften versteht und untersucht sowie protoypische Funktionsmodelle erstellt und unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen testet, damit befasst sich der Studiengang Materials Science and Engineering in Augsburg. Ein erster Schwerpunkt liegt auf der Frage nach einem atomistischen Verständnis der Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen der Materialien, um diese gezielt optimieren zu können. Zweitens steht auch die Frage nach der Anwendung der Materialien, der Fertigung von Bauteilen und der Digitalisierung der Produktion im Fokus des Studiengangs.

 

Gemeinsam ausgerichtet vom Institut für Physik und dem Institut für Materials Ressource Management vereint er dabei naturwissenschaftlich geprägte und ingenieur-wissenschaftliche Aspekte in einem Studium.

 

 

Berufsperspektiven:

  • Materialforschung- und Entwicklung
  • Produktentwicklung
  • Qualitätssicherung
  • Schadensanalyse
  • Technischer Vertrieb in Industrieunternehmen
  • Automobilindustrie
  • Luft- und Raumfahrt
  • Chemische Industrie
  • Medizin
  • Umweltschutz
  • Wissenschaft und Forschung
Fakten zum Studiengang
Name: Materials Science and Engineering
Studienabschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Studienform: Vollzeit
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester, Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Zulassungsmodus: zulassungsfrei
Deutschkenntnisse (Mindestanforderungen): B 2
Hinweise: Das Studium kann zum Wintersemester oder in Ausnahmefällen, die vom Prüfungsausschuss zu prüfen sind, zum Sommersemester aufgenommen werden. Die Frist zur Einschreibung wird auf unserer Webseite bekannt gegeben: https://www.uni-aug… Einführungsveranstaltungen finden kurz vor Beginn der Vorlesungszeit statt: https://www.uni-aug… Vorlesungszeiten: https://www.stmwk.b…

Beruflich Qualifizierte und Bewerber/-innen mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung beachten bitte die einschlägigen Fristen.

Kontakt Fachstudienberatung

Arbeitsgruppenleiter Nanoscale Functional Oxides
Experimentalphysik IV

Suche