Mathematics and Computer Science (B.Sc.)

Study Contents

 

Mathematical basics

A first important component of the degree programme is the mathematical basics. Analysis teaches the methods for examining functions (including derivatives, integrals) and for differential calculus, which are important for the representation of many real-world problems.Linear algebra teaches the concepts of vectors and matrices, which form the basis for many advanced algorithms at the interface between mathematics and numerics. In addition, the course provides insights into the areas of stochastics (mathematical modelling of probability, statistical methods for data handling), optimisation (calculation of the best possible results of mathematical models) and numerics (effective and reliable calculation methods).

 

Fundamentals of Computer Science

In computer science, the foundation lectures prepare students for the systematic development of programmes and logic. Starting with an introduction to algorithmic mathematics and computer science, the computer science lectures look at methods for designing and analysing efficient algorithms (action rules).

The formal basics are learned in the subject Discrete Structures and Logic and, building on this, in the Basics of Theoretical Computer Science.The programming knowledge is looked at from the practical side in a programming practical course and deepened on realistic problems.

 

Clusters and electives

The specialisation in the Mathematics and Computer Science degree programme takes place in so-called thematic clusters, each of which deals with an aspect of computer-oriented science from both a mathematical and a computer science perspective. These areas include, on the one hand, numerics and software engineering (algorithms for the reliable approximation of complex problems in natural science, technology or medicine), optimisation and algorithms (discrete or non-linear problems, Big Data), algebraic methods and formal methods (algebra, geometry and formal methods of software engineering), analysis and modelling (functional analysis, differential equations, control engineering), machine learning and self-learning systems (stochastics, statistics and artificial intelligence) and discrete-time systems (signal processing, embedded systems and communication systems).

 

Electives and Bachelor Thesis

The elective area offers a number of opportunities to expand knowledge and methods in different directions beyond the content of the clusters, including formal basics, further analysis methods, but also in application areas. These options are also available in the seminar and in the research module, where the independent preparation of scientific sources or the implementation of smaller parts of research projects are practised. In the Bachelor's thesis, students can independently apply the knowledge and methods acquired in the programme to concrete problems from practice or research and present the results.

 

It is recommended to start the programme in the winter semester.

 

 

job prospects:

  • Data Science/Big Data/KI
  • Insurance
  • Pharmaceutical Industry
  • Software Engineering
  • Medicine
  • Mobile Technologies
  • Process Automation
Course of studies facts
name: Mathematics and Computer Science
graduation type: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
study mode: full time
start of studies: winter semester, summer semester
standard period of study: 6 semester
restriction: unrestricted
german language knowledge (at least): B 2
hints: The deadline for enrolment is announced on our website: https://www.uni-aug… Introductory events take place shortly before the start of the lecture period: https://www.uni-aug… Lecture periods: https://www.stmwk.b…

Contact student counselling

Professor
High Performance Computing

Contact exam office

Christina Reimer
Studiengänge der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik
Referat I/5 Zentrales Prüfungsamt B

Search

Studieninhalte

Mathematische Grundlagen

Ein erster wichtiger Bestandteil des Studiums sind die mathematischen Grundlagen. Die Analysis vermittelt die Methoden zur Untersuchung von Funktionen (u.a. Ableitung, Integrale) und zur Differentialrechnung, die für die Darstellung vieler realer Problemstellungen wichtig sind.Die lineare Algebra lehrt die Konzepte der Vektoren und Matrizen, welche die Grundlage für viele fortgeschrittene Algorithmen an der Schnittstelle zwischen Mathematik und Numerik bildet.Zudem ermöglicht der Studiengang Einblicke in die Bereiche der Stochastik (mathematische Modellerierung der Wahrscheinlichkeit, statistische Verfahren zur Datenhantierung), Optimierung (Berechnung der bestmöglicher Ergebnisse von mathematischen Modellen) und Numerik (effektive und verlässliche Berechnungsmethoden).

 

Grundlagen der Informatik

In der Informatik bereiten die Grundlagenvorlesungen die systematische Entwicklung von Programmen und Logik vor. Ausgehend von einer Einführung in die Algorithmische Mathematik und Informatik werden in den Vorlesungen der Informatik Methoden zum Entwurf und der Analyse effizienter Algorithmen (Handlungsvorschriften) betrachtet.

Die formalen Grundlagen werden im Fach Diskrete Strukturen und Logik sowie darauf aufbauend in den Grundlagen der Theoretischen Informatik erlernt.Die Programmierkenntnisse werden in einem Programmierpraktikum von der praktischen Seite betrachtet und auf realistische Problemstellungen vertieft.

 

Cluster und Wahlbereiche

Die Vertiefung im Studiengang Mathematik und Informatik findet in sogenannten thematischen Clustern statt, die jeweils einen Aspekt computerorientierter Wissenschaft sowohl aus mathematischer als auch aus Sichtweise der Informatik behandeln.Diese Bereiche umfassen einerseits die Numerik und Softwaretechnik (Algorithmen zur zuverlässigen Approximation von komplexen Fragestellungen in Naturwissenschaft, Technik oder Medizin), Optimierung und Algorithmen (diskrete oder nichtlineare Problemstellungen, Big Data), Algebraische Methoden und formale Methoden (Algebra, Geometrie und formale Methoden des Software Engineerings), Analysis und Modellierung (Funktionalanalysis, Differentialgleichungen, Regelungstechnik), maschinelles Lernen und selbstlernende Systeme (Stochastik, Statistik und künstliche Intelligenz) und die Zeitdiskreten System (Signalverarbeitung, eingebettete Systeme und Kommunikationssysteme).

 

Wahlbereich und Bachelorarbeit

Der Wahlbereich bietet eine Reihe von Möglichkeiten, das Wissen und die Methoden gezielt in unterschiedliche Richtungen über die Inhalte der Cluster hinaus auszubauen, unter anderem in den formalen Grundlagen, weiteren Analyseverfahren, aber auch in Anwendungsgebieten. Diese Wahlmöglichkeiten gibt es auch im Seminar und im Forschungsmodul, wo das eigenständige Aufbereiten von wissenschaftlichen Quellen bzw. das Umsetzen kleinerer Anteile an Forschungsprojekten eingeübt werden. In der Bachelorarbeit können Studierende das im Studium erworbene Wissen und die erlernten Methoden selbständig auf konkrete Problemstellungen aus Praxis oder Forschung anwenden und die Ergebnisse vorstellen.

 

Der Studienbeginn wird zum Wintersemester empfohlen.

 

Berufsperspektiven:

  • Data Science/Big Data/KI
  • Versicherungen
  • Pharmaindustrie
  • Softwareengineering
  • Medizin
  • Mobile Technologien
  • Prozessautomatisierung
Fakten zum Studiengang
Name: Mathematik und Informatik
Studienabschluss: Bachelor of Science (B.Sc.)
Studienform: Vollzeit
Studienbeginn: Wintersemester, Sommersemester
Regelstudienzeit: 6 Semester
Zulassungsmodus: zulassungsfrei
Deutschkenntnisse (Mindestanforderungen): B 2
Hinweise: Die Frist zur Einschreibung wird auf unserer Webseite bekannt gegeben: https://www.uni-aug… Einführungsveranstaltungen finden kurz vor Beginn der Vorlesungszeit statt: https://www.uni-aug… Vorlesungszeiten: https://www.stmwk.b…

Beruflich Qualifizierte und Bewerber/-innen mit ausländischer Hochschulzugangsberechtigung beachten bitte die einschlägigen Fristen.

Kontakt Fachstudienberatung

Professor
High Performance Computing

Kontakt Prüfungsamt

Christina Reimer
Studiengänge der Fakultät für Angewandte Informatik
Referat I/5 Zentrales Prüfungsamt B

Suche