Research

In the last decades, CELOS has been institutionally and financially supported by the European Union through two Jean Monnet Chairs and a Jean Monnet Center of Excellence on Enforcement in European Business Law (INspiRE). While the chairs distinguished the research and teaching quality of Prof. Dr. Möllers, the center of excellence had the focus to investigate the enforcement of law comparatively in the field of consumer, capital market and competition law. In one research project, the Volkswagen diesel scandal was taken as an opportunity to examine the effectiveness of legal sanctions on a comparative law basis.

 

Research activities include intensive exchange with colleagues from European member states such as France (Lyon) and Italy (Palermo) or Poland (Krakow, Poznan, Warsaw). In detail, this includes lectures, student seminars, guest lectures, guest professorships, but also numerous conferences of foreign colleagues with corresponding publications. The members of CELOS publish scientific articles, but also have an impact through lectures and conferences, through the Internet (database and podcasts). In recent years, they have also increasingly addressed an interested non-specialist audience with European topics and cooperate with the European Department of the City of Augsburg for this purpose.

 

The three research centers on Anglo-American law (Augsburg Research Centre of European and Anglo-American Law ( AREA), Chinese Law (Research Center of Innovation and Legal Studies between China and Europe - RICE) and Turkish Law ( Forschungsstelle für türkisches Recht), are united under the umbrella of CELOS to reflect the comparative law claim of CELOS. Consequently, there are extensive academic contacts outside the EU, such as with the USA (Pepperdine, Pittsburgh, Washington, North Carolina, Chicago, Santa Clara), South Africa (Johannesburg), the People's Republic of China (Beijing, Shanghai) and Turkey (Istanbul, Ankara).

 

A legal database on European business law ( Caplaw) was the first to systematically present the numerous European legal sources and for decades was a highly sought-after Internet site for those seeking legal advice. In the meantime, podcasts and judgment reviews can also be found there.

 

In order to maintain and expand information and research opportunities on European, international and foreign law, CELOS supports the acquisition of books in the University Library.

 

 

News (CELOS)

Fourth edition of the book „Juristische Methodenlehre“

01.09.2021

"Juristische Methodenlehre" by Professor Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers has fortunately already seen three editions since 2017 and was quickly out of print in each case. It has received numerous reviews in Germany and abroad after only a short time and is cited by case law and legal literature. An English-language version appeared in 2020 and a Chinese-language edition will follow with the 4th edition in 2021. Fortunately, it is now used at many universities to prepare for the First Staatsexamen and in trainee lawyers for the Second Staatsexamen. (...)

Contribution to Festschrift for Barbara Grunewald

29.06.2021

Professor Barbara Grunewald has worked intensively on civil law and corporate law over the past decades. On the occasion of her 70th birthday, a Festschrift has been dedicated to her. The Festschrift contribution by Professor Möllers deals with the new Sale of Goods Directive 2019/771, showing the various weaknesses of the European legislation.

Publication "The Weaknesses of the Sales of Goods Directive - Dealing with Legislative Deficits"

15.01.2021

The article „The Weaknesses of the Sale of Goods Directive – Dealing with Legislative Deficits” has been published in the online magazine „Jus Civile” (Italy). Using the example of the Sale of Goods Directive (EU) 2019/771, the article combines the law of sales with a series of questions on European methodology. It examines the European legislative technique with full harmonization as a regulatory objective and clarifies open questions of interpretation on the basis of legal principles. Finally, ecological and economic proposals are made, which are to be demanded de lege ferenda.

Publications

The results of the Center for European Legal Studies' work are regularly reflected in the directors' publications on European and international law.

Selected publications with European or international reference:

Search

Zur Forschung

In den letzten Jahrzehnten wurde CELOS durch zwei Jean-Monnet-Lehrstühle und ein Jean-Monnet-Exzellenzzentrum zur Rechtsdurchsetzung im europäischen Wirtschaftsrecht ( INspiRE) von der Europäischen Union institutionell und finanziell gefördert. Während die Lehrstühle die Forschungs- und Lehrqualität von Prof. Dr. Möllers auszeichneten, hatte das Exzellenzzentrum den Fokus, die Rechtsdurchsetzung rechtsvergleichend im Bereich des Verbraucher-, Kapitalmarkt- und Wettbewerbsrecht zu untersuchen. In einem Forschungsprojekt wurde der Volkswagen-Dieselskandal zum Anlass genommen, um rechtsvergleichend die Effektivität rechtlicher Sanktionen zu untersuchen.

 

Zu den Forschungsaktivitäten gehört der intensive Austausch mit Kolleginnen und Kollegen aus den europäischen Mitgliedstaaten wie Frankreich (Lyon) und Italien (Palermo) oder Polen (Krakau, Posen, Warschau). Im Einzelnen gehören dazu Lehrveranstaltungen, studentische Seminare, Gastvorträge, Gastprofessuren, aber auch zahlreiche Tagungen ausländischer Kollegen mit entsprechenden Publikationen. Die Mitglieder des CELOS publizieren wissenschaftliche Beiträge, wirken aber auch über Fachvorträge und Fachtagungen, über das Internet (Datenbank und Podcasts). Sie wenden sich in den letzten Jahren mit europäischen Themen auch vermehrt an ein interessiertes außerfachliches Publikum und arbeiten hierfür mit dem Europareferat der Stadt Augsburg zusammen.

 

Unter dem Dach CELOS vereinigen sich die drei Forschungsstellen zum anglo-amerikanischen Recht (Augsburg Research Centre of European and Anglo-American Law - AREA), chinesischen Recht (Research Center of Innovation and Legal Studies between China and Europe - RICE) und türkischen Recht ( Forschungsstelle für türkisches Recht), um dem rechtsvergleichenden Anspruch von CELOS Rechnung zu tragen. Folglich bestehen umfangreiche wissenschaftliche Kontakte außerhalb der EU wie zu den USA (Pepperdine, Pittsburgh, Washington, North Carolina, Chicago, Santa Clara), Südafrika (Johannesburg), zu der Volksrepublik China (Beijing, Shanghai) und zur Türkei (Istanbul, Ankara).

 

Eine Juristische Datenbank zum Europäischen Wirtschaftsrecht ( Caplaw) stellte erstmals systematisch die zahlreichen europäischen Rechtsquellen dar und war jahrzehntelang eine stark nachgefragte Internetseite für den Rechtssuchenden. Inzwischen finden sich dort auch Podcasts und Urteilsbesprechungen.

 

Um die Informations- und Forschungsmöglichkeiten zum europäischen, internationalen und ausländischen Recht aufrecht zu halten und auszubauen, unterstützt das CELOS die Anschaffung von Büchern in der Universitätsbibliothek.

Aktuelles (CELOS)

The ECB and Its Watchers XXII, March 17th in Frankfurt

25.03.2022

At the conference "The ECB and Its Watchers" central bankers, financial market participants and academics discuss current issues of monetary policy and financial stability. The impact of the Ukraine war as well as the significance of climate change and the green transformation on monetary policy were at the forefront of this year's conference on March 17th in Frankfurt. (…)

Publikation in griechischer Zeitschrift Ευρωπαϊκό δίκαιο

24.03.2022

Der in der ZHR 6/2021 erschienene Artikel von Herrn Professor Möllers "Green Deal: Greenwashing, Information Overload und der vergessene Good Corporate Citizen als Investor" wurde zwischenzeitlich in die griechische Sprache übersetzt und ist in der aktuellen Ausgabe 4/2021 der griechischen Zeitschrift Ευρωπαϊκό δίκαιο (Europäisches Recht) erschienen.

Vierte Auflage der „Juristischen Methodenlehre“

01.09.2021

Das Werk „Juristische Methodenlehre“ von Professor Dr. Thomas M.J. Möllers hat seit 2017 erfreulicherweise bereits drei Auflagen erlebt und war jeweils schnell vergriffen. Es hat schon nach kurzer Zeit zahlreiche Rezensionen im In- und Ausland erhalten und wird von Rechtsprechung und Rechtsliteratur zitiert. Eine englischsprachige Fassung erschien 2020 und eine Ausgabe in chinesischer Sprache folgt mit der 4. Auflage 2021. Erfreulicherweise wird es inzwischen an vielen Universitäten zur Vorbereitung auf das Erste Staatsexamen und in der Referendarzeit für das Zweite Staatsexamen verwendet. (...)

Festschriftsbeitrag

29.06.2021

Professor Barbara Grunewald hat sich in den letzten Jahrzehnten intensiv mit dem Zivilrecht und dem Gesellschaftsrecht beschäftigt. Zum 70. Geburtstag ist ihr eine Festschrift im Otto Schmidt Verlag gewidmet worden. Der Festschriftsbeitrag von Professor Möllers beschäftigt sich mit der neuen Warenkaufrichtlinie 2019/771. Er zeigt die verschiedenen Schwächen der europäischen Gesetzgebung.

Neuerscheinung "Legal Thinking Consequences for the Role of Legal Methods in Legal Training"

31.01.2021

In der Ausgabe Nr. 6/2020 der italienischen online-Zeitschrift „Jus Civile“ ist der Beitrag „Legal Thinking –Consequences for the Role of Legal Methods in Legal Training“ erschienen. Professor Möllers bespricht darin die Notwendigkeit einer modernen juristischen Methodenlehre und stellt kritisch in Frage, ob die Grundlagen der Rechtswissenschaft in der juristischen Ausbildung genug Beachtung finden.

Publikationen

Die Ergebnisse der Arbeit des Center for European Legal Studies zeigen sich regelmäßig in den europarechtlichen und internationalen Publikationen der Direktoren.

Ausgewählte Publikationen mit europarechtlichem oder internationalem Bezug:

Suche