Research Lab

© University of Augsburg
© University of Augsburg

The Media Reality Division operates the VirtuaLab, GameLab and ObservationLab, which are equipped with modern virtual reality applications, gaming stations and a mobile observation lab. In addition to being used for the department’s research projects, all three labs are also open to students for the implementation of their own research projects, for example in the areas of gaming or mixed reality. If you are interested in using the facilities simply contact our lab supervisor

 

The VirtuaLab features state-of-the-art virtual and augmented reality technology for both stationary and mobile use. In addition to two VR glasses (HTC Vive) and one AR-glasses (Microsoft HoloLens2), powerful computers and laptops are available to operate the data glasses.

The equipment also includes software for recording virtual sessions and a 360-degree camera for recording and evaluating VR/AR use. The VirtuaLab also includes various notebooks, iPhones (8 and X) and iPads to analyse mobile media appropriation and communication practices.

The GameLab currently has a high-end gaming PC, a Playstation 4 Pro for 4K recordings and a 55" flat screen TV. The game library (Steam) is continuously updated and provides a wide selection of single and multiplayer games that can be played individually or in groups. The GameLab also features a wide range of hardware and software for recording individual and collective gaming experiences.

With the "Mangold Mobil Observation Lab" a mobile recording and evaluation laboratory is available. It can be used for group discussions, interviews with experts and focus groups as well as for participating observations in order to record synchronized video and audio material. Facial expressions and gestures can also be evaluated automatically with the help of the Mangold Interact evaluation software.

 

GameLab and VirtuaLab are closely connected and therefore offer a maximum of flexibility to ensure customized solutions for a wide range of research projects. This provides diverse research opportunities, especially in combination with the ObservationLab.

 

 

 

 

contact

Researcher and PhD candidate
Media Reality

Search

Forschungslabor

© Universität Augsburg
© Universität Augsburg

Die Professur für Medienrealität betreibt das VirtuaLab, das GameLab und das ObservationLab mit modernen Virtual Reality Anwendungen, Gamingstationen und einem mobilen Beobachtungslabor. Neben der Nutzung für Forschungsprojekte des Arbeitsbereiches stehen alle drei Labs auch für Studierende offen. Diese können eigene Forschungsarbeiten beispielsweise im Bereich Gaming oder Mixed Reality umsetzen. Bei Interesse wenden Sie sich einfach an unseren Laborbetreuer.

 

Das VirtuaLab verfügt über hochmoderne Virtual und Augmented Reality Technologie, die sowohl stationär als auch mobil eingesetzt werden kann. Neben zwei VR-Brillen (HTC Vive) und einer AR-Brille (Microsoft HoloLens2) stehen leistungsstarke Computer und Laptops zur Verfügung, mit denen die Datenbrillen betrieben werden können.

 

Das Equipment umfasst außerdem Software zur Aufzeichnung virtueller Sessions und eine 360-Grad-Kamera mit dem die VR-/AR-Nutzung aufgenommen und ausgewertet werden kann. Das VirtuaLab enthält zudem verschiedene Notebooks, iPhones (8 und X) und iPads, um mobile Medienaneignung und Kommunikationspraktiken zu analysieren. 

Das GameLab verfügt derzeit über einen High-End-Gaming PC, eine Playstation 4 Pro für Aufnahmen in 4K sowie einen 55‘‘ Flachbildfernseher. Die Spielebibliothek (Steam) wird kontinuierlich aktualisiert und stellt eine große Auswahl von Single und Multiplayer Games bereit, die sowohl einzeln als auch in Gruppen gespielt werden können. Das GameLab enthält zudem ein breites Spektrum an Hard- und Software zur Aufzeichnung individueller und kollektiver Spielerlebnisse.

Mit dem "Mangold Mobil Observation Lab" steht ein mobiles Aufzeichnungs- und Auswertungslabor zur Verfügung. Dieses kann für Gruppendiskussionen, Interviews mit Expert_innen und Fokusgruppen sowie für teilnehmende Beobachtungen eingesetzt werden um Video- und Audiomaterial synchronisiert aufzunehmen. Mit Hilfe der Mangold Interact Auswertungssoftware können Mimik und Gestik zudem automatisiert ausgewertet werden.

 

GameLab und VirtuaLab sind eng miteinander verbunden und bieten damit ein Höchstmaß an Flexibilität, um maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für unterschiedlichste Forschungsprojekte zu gewährleisten. Gerade in Kombination mit dem ObservationLab ergeben sich zahlreiche Forschungsmöglichkeiten.

 

Kontaktperson

Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter
Medienrealität

Suche