Ozone downscaling

RESEARCH DESCRIPTION

Downscaling of ground-level ozone for Europe

Start date: 2021
End date: ongoing
Funding: Faculty of Medicine, University of Augsburg
Project responsibility on site: Prof. Dr. Elke Hertig

 

An important research focus of the Professorship for Regional Climate Change and Health is the investigation of the interrelationships and effects of ground-level ozone (partly in combination with air temperature extremes) on human health. There are already numerous completed and ongoing projects in this regard [ link].

 

In order to strengthen the data basis for future research projects in this field, the professorship aims at a statistical downscaling of ground-level ozone, which also allows assessments until the end of the 21st century under climate change.

 

For this purpose, data from more than 700 European ozone monitoring stations from the European Air Quality Portal are available. Using statistical downscaling methods (e. g. lasso regression), a model will be built for each of the stations that links atmospheric conditions with ground-level ozone concentrations. Target variables (predictands) are the daily maximum 8-hour mean and the daily maximum 1-hour ozone values. The atmospheric predictors air temperature, humidity, and wind are taken from the ERA5 reanalysis. In addition, the monthly ozone values from the CAMS global reanalysis will be included as predictors.

 

To realize the projection of future ozone concentrations, a multi-model ensemble from climate model data of the Coupled Model Intercomparison Project Phase 6 (CMIP6) is used, which includes an interactive representation of the atmospheric chemistry. Downscaled ozone projections for the years 2041-2060 and 2081-2100 will be calculated for two different scenarios (ssp245 and ssp370). The climate model data, before being applied in the downscaling models, will be subjected to univariate or multivariate bias correction (quantile delta mapping).

 

The projected ozone data will serve as a basis for the working group in further Europe-wide studies, including epidemiological exposure-impact studies with risk assessments for mortality, morbidity or in relation to specific diseases, such as for instance myocardial infarction frequencies.

 

Project responsibility:

Prof. Dr. Elke Hertig, Regional Climate Change and Health, Faculty of Medicine, University of Augsburg

Search

Ozon-Downscaling

Forschungsbeschreibung

Downscaling von bodennahem Ozon für Europa

Projektstart: 2021
Projektende: laufend
Projektträger: Medizinische Fakultät, Universität Augsburg
Projektverantwortung vor Ort: Prof. Dr. Elke Hertig

 

Ein wichtiger Forschungsschwerpunkt der Professur für Regionalen Klimawandel und Gesundheit liegt in der Erforschung der Zusammenhänge und Auswirkungen von bodennahem Ozon (teils in Kombination mit Temperaturextremen) auf die menschliche Gesundheit. Hierzu gibt es bereits zahlreiche abgeschlossene und aktuelle Projekte [ Link].

 

Um die Datengrundlage für zukünftige Forschungsprojekte in diesem Bereich zu stärken, strebt die Professur ein statistisches Downscaling von bodennahem Ozon an, das auch Abschätzungen bis Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts unter Fortgang des anthropogen verstärkten Treibhauseffekts erlaubt.

 

Hierfür stehen Daten von über 700 europäischen Ozon-Messstationen aus dem European Air Quality Portal zur Verfügung. Mit Hilfe von statistischen Downscaling-Methoden (z. B. basierend auf Lasso-Regression) soll für jede dieser Stationen ein Modell erstellt werden, das die atmosphärischen Einflussgrößen mit den bodennahen Ozonkonzentrationen verknüpft. Zielgrößen (Prädiktanden) sind die täglich maximalen 8-Stunden-Mittelwerte unddie täglich maximalen 1-Stunden-Werte des Ozons. Die meteorologischen Prädiktoren Lufttemperatur, Feuchte und Wind entstammen der ERA5- Reanalyse, zusätzlich fließen die monatlichen Ozonwerte der globalen CAMS Reanalyse als Prädiktoren ein.

 

Um die Abschätzung der zukünftigen Ozonkonzentrationen zu realisieren, wird auf ein Multimodellensemble aus Klimamodelldaten des Coupled Model Intercomparison Project Phase 6 (CMIP6) zurückgegriffen, die eine interaktive Chemiemodellierung beinhalten. Für zwei unterschiedliche Szenarien (ssp245 und ssp370) werden lokale Ozonprojektionen für die Jahre 2041-2060 und 2081-2100 berechnet. Die Klimamodelldaten werden, bevor sie in den Downscalingmodellen Anwendung finden, einer uni- bzw. multivariaten Biaskorrektur (quantile delta mapping) unterzogen.

 

Die projizierten Ozondaten sollen der Arbeitsgruppe in weiteren europaweiten Studien als Grundlage dienen, unter anderem in epidemiologischen Expositions-Wirkungs-Studien mit Risikobewertungen zur Mortalität, Morbidität oder in Bezug auf konkrete Erkrankungen, wie zum Beispiel Herzinfarkthäufigkeiten.

 

 

Projektverantwortliche:

Prof. Dr. Elke Hertig, Professur für Regionalen Klimawandel und Gesundheit, Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Augsburg

Suche