M.Sc. Jan Münch

Research Associate
Faculty of Business and Economics
Phone: +49 821 598 - 4445
Fax: +49 821 598 - 4432
Email: jan.muench@uni-a.de
Room: 1408 (J)
Visiting hours: Tue. 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; please register via e-mail
Address: Universitätsstraße 16, 86159 Augsburg

Join me on:

Curriculum Vitae

Jan Münch studied Business Administration in his Bachelor's and Master's degree at the University of Augsburg with a specialization in "Strategy and Information". Already in his bachelor studies he focused on the curriculum of the chair of Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit. In his bachelor thesis entitled "Entry strategies for platform-based markets in the age of digitization", he examined various strategies that companies utilize for entering platform-based markets. 

 

After completing his bachelor's degree, Jan Münch worked for Andreas Schmid Group for several years as Operations Manager and was significantly involved in the creation of a Corporate Innovation Lab. In his last position as authorized officer, he was responsible for the digitalization of the core organization, investments in early-stage start-ups and the development of new, digital-driven business units.

 

Alongside his professional career, Jan Münch completed a master's degree and further expanded his expertise in the field of information systems research at the chair of Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit. In the course of his master's thesis entitled "The impact of corporate entrepreneurship on dynamic capabilities", he shed light on the influence of corporate entrepreneurship initiatives - such as corporate labs - on the digital dynamic capabilities of their parent organization.

 

In a voluntary capacity, Jan Münch has been involved with Rotaract Germany for many years. Rotaract is part of the globally distributed Rotary Organization and is contributing to society in a charitable way beyond just collecting donations, especially with hands-on projects. He was president of the Rotaract Club Augsburg from 2018 to 2019. 

 

Since May 2022, Jan Münch is a research associate at the Chair of Information Systems and Management at the University of Augsburg.

 

His scientific interests lie primarily in sustainability aspects of digitalization as well as in the field of digital entrepreneurship.

Publications

2021

2021

Frenzel, Adeline, Muench, Jan C., Bruckner, Moritz, & Veit, Daniel (2021). Digitization or digitalization? – Toward an understanding of definitions, use and application in IS research.
PDF | BibTeX | RIS | URL

Teaching

Bachelor-Level

  • IT Innovation Research, Seminar
    Seminar advisor
  • Digital Transformation Research, Seminar
    Seminar advisor

Search

Jan Münch M.Sc.

Wiss. Mitarbeiter
Wirtschaftswissenschaftliche Fakultät
Telefon: +49 821 598 - 4431
E-Mail: jan.muench@uni-a.de
Raum: 1408 (J)
Sprechzeiten: Di. von 11:00 Uhr bis 12:00 Uhr nach Anmeldung per E-Mail
Adresse: Universitätsstraße 16, 86159 Augsburg

Join me on:

 

Lebenslauf

Jan Münch studierte Betriebswirtschaftslehre im Bachelor und Master an der Universität Augsburg mit dem Schwerpunkt „Strategy and Information“. Schon im Bachelorstudium richtete er seinen Fokus auf die Lehrangebote des Lehrstuhls von Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit aus. In seiner Bachelorarbeit mit dem Titel "Entry strategies for platform-based markets in the age of digitization" untersuchte er verschiedene Strategien, die Unternehmen zum Eintritt in plattformbasierte Märkte nutzen. 

 

Bereits nach seinem Bachelorabschluss war Jan Münch mehrere Jahre für die Andreas Schmid Group als Operations Manager tätig und in dieser Position wesentlich an der Entstehung eines Corporate Innovation Labs beteiligt. Er verantwortete zuletzt in der Funktion als Prokurist die Digitalisierung der Kernorganisation, Investments in frühphasige Start-ups und den Aufbau neuer, digitalgetriebener Geschäftsbereiche. 

 

Seine berufliche Laufbahn ergänzte Jan Münch parallel durch ein Masterstudium und baute seine Expertise im Bereich Information Systems Research am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Daniel Veit weiter aus. Im Rahmen seiner Masterarbeit mit dem Titel "The impact of corporate entrepreneurship on dynamic capabilities" beleuchtete er den Einfluss von Corporate Entrepreneurship Initiativen wie z.B. Corporate Labs auf die digitalen dynamischen Fähigkeiten von Unternehmen.

 

Ehrenamtlich ist Jan Münch seit vielen Jahren bei Rotaract Deutschland engagiert. Rotaract ist Teil der international verbreiteten Rotary Organization und bringt sich über eine reine Sammlung von Spendengeldern insbesondere mit Hands-On Projekten wohltätig in die Gesellschaft ein. Er war von 2018 bis 2019 Präsident des Rotaract Club Augsburg. 

 

Seit Mai 2022 ist Jan Münch wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl für Information Systems und Management der Universität Augsburg.

 

Seine wissenschaftlichen Interessen liegen vorrangig in Nachhaltigkeitsaspekten der Digitalisierung sowie im Bereich Digital Entrepreneurship.

OPUS Publikationen

2020 | 2019

2020

Bruckner, Moritz, Straub, Adrian, & Veit, Daniel (2020). Initial coin offerings, how do investors decide? A systematic literature review.
PDF | BibTeX | RIS | URL
Bruckner, Moritz, Frenzel, Adeline, & Veit, Daniel (2020). Trust building and risk mitigation via smart contracts on Amazon Mechanical Turk.
PDF | BibTeX | RIS | URL

2019

Bruckner, Moritz, Veit, Daniel, Steininger, Dennis M., & Thatcher, Jason Bennett (2019). Revisiting signaling theory for initial coin offerings.
BibTeX | RIS | URL

Publikationen und Vorträge

Lehre

Bachelor-Level

  • IT Innovation Research, Seminar
    Betreung von Seminararbeiten
  • Digital Transformation Research, Seminar
    Betreung von Seminararbeiten

Suche