Atmospheric Exposure Monitoring Network (AEMN)

AEMS_2
Paul Gaebel

The measurement system of the Chair of Regional Climate Change and Health consists of a stationary air and climate measurement station, which is located on the premises of the University Hospital, and mobile as well as compact low-cost measurement sensors. The resulting air-hygienic and climatic data allow for a variety of research approaches that investigate the impact of environmental changes on health.

Atmospheric Exposure Monitoring Station (AEMS)

Air and Climate Measurement Station of the Chair of Regional Climate Change and Health, Medical Faculty of the University of Augsburg

 

The research focus Environment and Health of the University Medical Center Augsburg focuses on positive and negative influences of the environment on health. This research is also greatly influenced by climate change, which leads to major changes in the environment that have a direct impact on the health of the population. Environmental factors play a role in a number of diseases such as respiratory diseases and cardiovascular diseases such as heart attack and stroke. Air-hygienic and climatic information on a regional and local scale is linked to observations from clinical patient care in order to further develop diagnosis and therapy of diseases as well as preventive health measures.

 

Air and climate data measured with the help of this station:

 

Air constituents:
Ozone (O3), nitrogen oxides (NO, NO2, NOx), carbon monoxide (CO), fine dust (Particulate Matter PM1, PM2.5, PM4, PM10, PMtot).

 

Meteorological variables:
Air temperature, relative humidity, precipitation intensity, precipitation type, precipitation amount, air pressure, wind direction and wind speed.

Atmospheric Exposure low cost Monitoring AELCM

AELCM Messbox Christian Koller
Paul Gäbel
Paul Gäbel
Paul Gäbel

 

The analysis of the relationships between climate, air constituents and health usually focuses on urban environments due to elevated inner-city temperatures, higher levels of air pollution and higher numbers of people exposed to these environmental factors compared to rural areas. Ongoing urbanization, demographic aging and climate change lead to increased vulnerability, mediated by climatic extremes and air pollution. It should be noted that systematic analyses of specific local characteristics of health-related atmospheric conditions and air composition in urban environments are still very rare due to the lack of high-resolution observation networks. In recent years, low-cost sensors have been developed which potentially offer the possibility to detect atmospheric conditions at high spatial resolution and to monitor them at sites of exposed population.

 

Measuring box Atmospheric Exposure Low-Cost Monitoring (AELCM)

 

Cost-effective, prefabricated and modified enclosures with 3D-printed parts are the basis of our easy-to-assemble AELCM box, which protects our selected sensors from harmful environmental influences. The dimensions of the ABS enclosure are 37x27x15cm. We use active ventilation to supply the sensors with ambient air and numerical flow simulations to evaluate the ventilation process. The sensors are used modularly in plug-in cards to allow easy and fast repair in case of malfunction and to provide additional stability and reliability in mobile measurement campaigns. The measurement box can be operated either by mains power or by the built-in rechargeable batteries, which take over seamlessly in case of mains power failure. The data transfer to our server takes place in real time via an LTE-M communication module. Wireless data transfers in near proximity to the measurement boxes is possible using an internal FTP server, which is a feature of every AELCM box.

 

You can find more information here.

Search

Atmospheric Exposure Monitoring Network (AEMN)

AEMS_2
Paul Gaebel

Das Messsystem des Lehrstuhls für Regionalen Klimawandel und Gesundheit setzt sich aus einer stationären Luft- und Klimamessstation, die ihren Standort auf dem Gelände des Universitätsklinikums hat, und mobilen sowie kompakten low-cost Messsensoren zusammen. Die daraus gewonnenen lufthygienischen und klimatischen Daten ermöglichen eine Vielzahl von Forschungsansätzen, welche den Einfluss von Umweltveränderungen auf die Gesundheit untersuchen.

Atmospheric Exposure Monitoring Station (AEMS)

Luft- und Klimamessstation der Professur für Regionalen Klimawandel und Gesundheit, Medizinische Fakultät der Universität Augsburg

Der Forschungsschwerpunkt Umwelt und Gesundheit der Universitätsmedizin Augsburg nimmt positive und negative Einflüsse der Umwelt auf die Gesundheit in den Blick. Großes Gewicht erhält diese Forschung auch durch den Klimawandel, der zu starken Veränderungen in der Umwelt führt, die sich direkt auf die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung auswirken. Umweltfaktoren spielen eine Rolle für eine Reihe von Erkrankungen wie zum Beispiel Atemwegserkrankungen und Herz-Kreislauf-Erkrankungen wie Herzinfarkt und Schlaganfall. Die lufthygienischen und klimatischen Informationen auf regionaler und lokaler Skala werden mit Beobachtungen aus der klinischen Krankenversorgung verknüpft, um Diagnose und Therapie von Krankheiten sowie Maßnahmen zur Gesundheitsvorsorge weiterzuentwickeln.

Mithilfe dieser Station gemessene Luft- und Klimadaten:

Luftinhaltsstoffe:
Ozon (O3), Stickoxide (NO, NO2, NOx), Kohlenstoffmonoxid (CO), Feinstaub (Particulate Matter PM1, PM2.5, PM4, PM10, PMtot).

Meteorologische Variablen:
Lufttemperatur, relative Feuchte, Niederschlagsintensität, Niederschlagsart, Niederschlagsmenge, Luftdruck, Windrichtung und Windgeschwindigkeit.

Atmospheric Exposure low cost Monitoring (AELCM)

AELCM Messbox Christian Koller
Paul Gäbel
Paul Gäbel
Paul Gäbel

 

Die Analyse der Beziehungen zwischen Klima, Luftinhaltsstoffen und Gesundheit konzentrieren sich gewöhnlicherweise auf urbane Umgebungen auf Grund von erhöhten, innerstädtischen Temperaturen, dem höheren Luftverschmutzungsgrad und der höheren Anzahl exponierter Menschen, die diesen Umwelteinflüssen ausgesetzt sind, verglichen zu ländlichen Arealen. Die fortlaufende Urbanisierung, die demographische Alterung und der Klimawandel führen zu einer erhöhten Vulnerabilität, vermittelt durch klimatische Extrema und Luftverschmutzung. Es ist anzuführen, dass systematische Analysen spezifischer lokaler Charakteristika der gesundheitsrelevanten atmosphärischen Bedingungen und der Luftzusammensetzung in städtischen Umgebungen immer noch sehr selten sind, auf Grund des Mangels von hochaufgelösten Beobachtungsnetzwerken. In den letzten Jahren wurden kostengünstige Sensoren entwickelt, welche potentiell die Möglichkeit eröffnen, atmosphärische Gegebenheiten unter hoher räumlicher Auflösung zu ermitteln und diese an Standorten von exponierten Bevölkerungsanteilen zu überwachen.

 

Messbox Atmospheric Exposure Low-Cost Monitoring  (AELCM)

Kostengünstige, vorgefertigte und über 3D-Druck selbstmodifizierte Gehäuse bilden die Grundlage unserer leicht zusammensetzbaren AELCM-Box, welche unsere ausgewählten Sensoren vor schädlichen Umwelteinflüssen schützt. Die Maße der aus ABS bestehenden Box sind 37x27x15cm. Wir nutzen eine aktive Ventilierung, um die Sensoren ausreichend mit Umgebungsluft zu versorgen, sowie numerische Strömungssimulationen, um die aktive Belüftung im Ganzen zu bewerten. Die Sensoren werden modular in selbstdesignte Platinen eingesetzt, um im Fall einer Fehlfunktion eine einfache und schnelle Reparatur zu ermöglichen und um bei mobilen Messkampagnen zusätzliche Stabilität und Verlässlichkeit zu gewährleisten. Die Messbox kann sowohl über Netzstrom oder über die eingebauten Akkus betrieben werden, die nahtlos übernehmen, falls der Netzstrom ausfällt. Die Datenübertragung zu unserem Server erfolgt in Echtzeit über ein LTE-M-Netzwerk. Die Daten sind auch kontaktlos an den Messboxen über einen FTP-Server herunterladbar.

 

Weitere Infos finden Sie hier.

Suche