Research projects

The field of mobile health technologies (mHealth) is growing and changing rapidly. Technologies such as apps, wearables and sensors are increasingly becoming an essential part of a healthy lifestyle, prevention and disease control.

The aim of the international and interdisciplinary META project is a comprehensive analysis of the ethical, legal and societal aspects (ELSA) of these technologies. The project thus picks up elements of the Federal Republic of Germany's funding policy goals from the "Federal Government's Health Research Framework Programme". The project, funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research ( BMBF), investigates the opportunities, benefits, risks and challenges of mHealth as well as overarching aspects of the digital transformation at the individual, societal and global levels. Based on multidisciplinary research results, the META team also advises various mHealth stakeholders with the aim of supporting responsible, sustainable and user-oriented mHealth innovations. In addition, the team is developing a website to make their results accessible at a low level outside the scientific context. 

The project moved from  LMU Munich to the University of Augsburg in December 2020 with project leader Prof. Dr. med. Verina Wild.

Our project explores practices and community-based projects that support the health of migrant workers / migrants in the low-wage sector during the Covid 19 pandemic. It is a challenge to find out "what works" to improve the health of these groups in a specific place and social context. There are large gaps in knowledge about the health of migrant workers / migrants in the low-wage sector, which may contribute to the epistemic and structural inequities faced by some of these individuals. A significant amount of knowledge that could improve the management of the health of these groups is not published in academic journals, but is captured in the 'grey literature'. We are therefore investigating what can be learned from the collection, review and analysis of grey literature generated during the Covid 19 pandemic. In the project, we are developing a methodological toolkit for non-governmental organisations working with these low-income groups to systematically access the knowledge contained in the grey literature.

Funded under the Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response Ethics Network (PHEPREN) and the Ethics and Governance Unit, World Health Organization (WHO). Project coordinators: Nancy Berlinger (The Hastings Center, USA), Lisa Eckenwiler (George Mason University, USA), Verina Wild (PI, University of Augsburg, Germany).

Qualitative interview study on the ethics of restrictive infection control measures. More information on the upcoming project start, you will find here. Project management: Angus Dawson (University of Sydney), Jan-Christoph Heilinger (RWTH Aachen), Verina Wild (PI, University of Augsburg).

Non-invasive prenatal genetics and genomics in England, France and Germany Exploring practical ethical issues 'on the ground'

 

​The implementation of genomics in prenatal medicine raises important ethical questions about the meaning of risk, health, disease and disability, social inclusion and exclusion, and the scope of public health interventions or reproductive decisions. These questions require careful analysis within their specific practical context.

This project (ES/T00908X/1), funded by the UK Economic and Social Research Council, takes non-invasive prenatal testing (NIPT) - the analysis of cell-free foetal DNA in maternal blood - in England, France and Germany as a case study. The aim of this empirical bioethics project is to examine in depth the ethical issues arising from the introduction of NIPT into routine antenatal care in three different socio-cultural contexts within Europe.

To this end, our team uses document analysis, conceptual analysis and qualitative social science methods to examine the value systems and socio-political characteristics that shape the use, regulation, and public debate of NIPT in different national contexts. The contextual understanding of the practical-ethical issues raised by NIPT is important for the formulation of ethical and practical guidelines.

The project is being carried out under the leadership of Dr Ruth Horn (Associate Professor in Ethics) at the University of Oxford since October 2020. International cooperation partners are Prof. Dr Claudia Wiesemann (University of Göttingen) and Dr Carine Vassy (University of Paris 13, Iris).

COVID-19: Was bedeutet das für Sie?

 


The COVID 19 pandemic poses unprecedented challenges for policy makers, health authorities and societies. The social and economic impacts will likely be felt for years to come. In this situation, it is important to examine how people respond to the policies introduced and what actions they take on their own initiative in addition to the official government recommendations. What motivates citizens to follow, adapt or ignore the advice of the authorities? What do they do to protect themselves and others, and what role do technologies play in this? Who or what do people trust in these uncertain times? What do people need to feel safe in times of crisis?

The project explores these important questions in several European countries, including Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and the UK. We use a multi-site qualitative research design that includes in-depth and open-ended interviews.

This longitudinal qualitative study, which involves 'soft comparisons' between countries over a period of about six months, allows us not only to identify differences and similarities in how people responded to the pandemic and the resulting policy response, but also to understand why. These findings should provide valuable guidance for pandemic preparedness, prevention and mitigation in the countries we studied and beyond.

Dr Ruth Horn is leading the French arm of this study, together with Dr Marie Gaille (CNRS). This research is part of a longitudinal, qualitative and multinational study on  solidarity in times of a pandemic led by Professor Barbara Prainsack from the University of Vienna.

In 2018, France and the UK announced increased collaboration between Genomics England and the French Médecine Génomique 2025 project to create a world-leading public service for genomic medicine. Successfully achieving this goal will require the development of joint approaches, not only to the standardisation of new technologies, but also to ethical standards in research and practice.

For the first time, two publicly funded health systems will incorporate the use of whole genome sequencing into routine patient care; yet each system is based on different values and principles that lead to different ways of implementing new genomic technologies into clinical practice. In order to develop common approaches to good ethical practice, we need a clear understanding of existing debates, regulations and practices, as well as the underlying norms in each country.

UK-FR GENE provides a platform for (previously) UK and French researchers and other stakeholders in the field to reflect on ethical and social issues of genomic technologies and their clinical application that arise in their respective national contexts. The aim is to identify pressing ethical issues in each country and understand their socio-cultural and normative underpinnings. Exploring these issues from a comparative perspective will allow us to shed new light on them and offer possible solutions adapted to each context. UK-FR GENE creates the opportunity to develop joint research agendas, collaborative projects and grant applications that will lead to important outcomes that influence ethical standards in the use of genomic technologies and their implementation in clinical practice in the UK and France.

UK-FR GENE was initiated in 2018 by Dr Ruth Horn, together with Dr Marie Gaille (CRNS).

We would like to expand the network to include researchers and stakeholders from Germany and other countries. Please contact Dr Ruth Horn if you would like to know more about our work.

The UK-FR GENE Position Statement can be found here:

The ethics of genomic medicine: redefining values and norms in the UK and France | European Journal of Human Genetics (nature.com)

Search

Forschungsthemen

Forschungsprojekte

BMBF Forschungsprojekt META (2018-2024) 

Das Feld der mobilen Gesundheitstechnologien (mHealth) wächst und verändert sich rasant. Technologien wie Apps, Wearables und Sensoren werden zunehmend zu einem wesentlichen Bestandteil eines gesunden Lebensstils, der Prävention und der Krankheitsbekämpfung.

Ziel des internationalen und interdisziplinären Projekts META ist eine umfassende Analyse der ethischen, rechtlichen und gesellschaftlichen Aspekte (ELSA) dieser Technologien. Das Projekt greift damit Elemente der förderpolitischen Ziele der Bundesrepublik Deutschland aus dem „Rahmenprogramm Gesundheitsforschung der Bundesregierung“ auf. Das vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung ( BMBF) geförderte Projekt untersucht die Chancen, Nutzen, Risiken und Herausforderungen von mHealth sowie übrgreifende Aspekte der digitalen Transformation auf der individuellen, gesellschaftlichen und globalen Ebene. Ausgehend von multidisziplinären Forschungsergebnissen berät das META Team auch verschiedene mHealth Akteure mit dem Ziel, verantwortungsvolle, nachhaltige und nutzer/innenorientierte mHealth Innovationen zu unterstützen. Zudem entwickelt das Team eine Webseite um ihre Ergebnisse auch niedrigschwellig außerhalb des Wissenschaftskontexts zugänglich zu machen. 

Das Projekt ist im Dezember 2020 mit der Projektleiterin Prof. Dr. med. Verina Wild von der LMU München an die Universität Augsburg umgezogen. 

 

WHO-Projekt: The Ethics of Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response: Migrant Workers’ Health and Covid-19 (2021)

Unser Projekt untersucht Praktiken und community-basierte Projekte, die die Gesundheit von Arbeitsmigrant*innen / Migrant*innen im Niedriglohnsektor während der Covid-19 Pandemie unterstützen. Es ist eine Herausforderung, herauszufinden, "was funktioniert", um die Gesundheit dieser Gruppen in einem bestimmten Ort und sozialen Kontext zu verbessern. Es bestehen große Wissenslücken über die Gesundheit von Arbeitsmigrant*innen / Migrant*innen im Niedriglohnsektor, die zu den epistemischen und strukturellen Ungerechtigkeiten beitragen können, denen einige dieser Personen ausgesetzt sind. Ein erheblicher Teil des Wissens, das den Umgang mit der Gesundheit dieser Gruppen verbessern könnte, wird nicht in akademischen Fachzeitschriften veröffentlicht, sondern in der "grauen Literatur" festgehalten. Wir untersuchen daher, was man aus der Sammlung, Durchsicht und Analyse grauer Literatur lernen kann, die während der Covid-19-Pandemie entstanden ist. Im Projekt erarbeiten wir ein Methoden-Toolkit für Nichtregierungsorganisationen, die sich für diese Gruppen im Niedriglohnsektor einsetzen, um systematischen Zugang zu dem in der grauen Literatur enthaltenen Wissen zu erhalten.

Gefördert im Rahmen des Public Health Emergency Preparedness and Response Ethics Network (PHEPREN) and the Ethics and Governance Unit, World Health Organization (WHO). Projekt Koordinatorinnen: Nancy Berlinger (The Hastings Center, USA), Lisa Eckenwiler (George Mason University, USA), Verina Wild (PI, University of Augsburg, Germany)

 

VolkswagenStiftung Forschungsprojekt: Shelter in place? Improving the ethics of infection control measures in times of COVID-19 (2021-2022)

Qualitative Interviewstudie zur Ethik restriktiver Infektionsschutzmaßnahmen. Zum baldigen Projektstart finden Sie hier mehr Informationen. Projektleitung: Angus Dawson (University of Sydney), Jan-Christoph Heilinger (RWTH Aachen), Verina Wild (PI, Universität Augsburg)

 

ESRC Forschungsprojekt NIPT in England, Deutschland und Frankreich (2021-2024)

Non-invasive prenatal genetics and genomics in England, France and Germany Exploring practical ethical issues 'on the ground'

Die Implementierung von Genomik in die Pränatalmedizin wirft wichtige ethische Fragen über die Bedeutung von Risiko, Gesundheit, Krankheit und Behinderung, soziale Inklusion und Exklusion, sowie die Reichweite von Interventionen des öffentlichen Gesundheitswesens oder reproduktiven Entscheidungen auf. Diese Fragen bedürfen einer sorgfältigen Analyse innerhalb ihres spezifischen praktischen Kontexts.

Dieses vom UK Economic and Social Research Council geförderte Projekt (ES/T00908X/1) nimmt non-invasive Pränataltests (NIPT) – die Analyse von zellfreiem fötalen DNA im mütterlichen Blut – in England, Frankreich und Deutschland als Fallstudie. Ziel dieses empirischen Bioethik Projekts ist es, die ethischen Fragen, die sich aus der Einführung des NIPT in die routinemäßige Schwangerenvorsorge ergeben, in drei verschiedenen soziokulturellen Kontexten innerhalb Europas eingehend zu untersuchen.

Hierzu untersucht unser Team mit Hilfe von Dokumentenanalyse, konzeptioneller Analyse sowie qualitativer sozialwisschenaftlicher Methoden, die Wertesysteme und sozio-politischen Besonderheiten, die den Gebrauch, die Regulierung, und die öffentliche Debatte von NIPT in verschiedenen nationalen Kontexten prägen. Das kontextuelle Verständnis der praktisch-ethischen Fragen, die durch NIPT aufgeworfen werden, ist für die Formulierung ethischer und praktischer Richtlinien von Bedeutung.

Das Projekt wird seit Oktober 2020 unter Leitung von Dr. Ruth Horn (Associate Professor in Ethics) an der Universität Oxford ausgeführt. Internationale Kooperationspartner sind Prof. Dr. Claudia Wiesemann (Universität Göttingen) und Dr. Carine Vassy (Universität Paris 13, Iris).

 

 

Solidarität in Zeiten einer Pandemie: Was tun die Menschen, und warum?

COVID-19: Was bedeutet das für Sie?

Die COVID-19-Pandemie stellt politische Entscheidungsträger, Gesundheitsbehörden und Gesellschaften vor nie dagewesene Herausforderungen. Die sozialen und wirtschaftlichen Auswirkungen werden wahrscheinlich noch jahrelang zu spüren sein. In dieser Situation muss untersucht werden, wie die Menschen auf die eingeführten politischen Maßnahmen reagieren und welche Maßnahmen sie zusätzlich zu den offiziellen Regierungsempfehlungen aus eigener Initiative ergreifen. Was motiviert die Bürger, den Ratschlägen der Behörden zu folgen, sie anzupassen oder zu ignorieren? Was tun sie, um sich und andere zu schützen, und welche Rolle spielen dabei Technologien? Wem oder was vertrauen die Menschen in diesen unsicheren Zeiten? Was brauchen Menschen, um sich in Zeiten der Krise sicher zu fühlen?

Das Projekt untersucht diese wichtigen Fragen in verschiedenen europäischen Ländern, darunter Österreich, Belgien, Frankreich, Deutschland, Italien, die Niederlande und das Vereinigte Königreich. Wir verwenden ein qualitatives Forschungsdesign mit mehreren Standorten, das Tiefen- und offene Interviews beinhaltet.

Diese qualitative Längsschnittstudie, die "weiche Vergleiche" zwischen den Ländern über einen Zeitraum von etwa sechs Monaten beinhaltet, ermöglicht es uns nicht nur, Unterschiede und Ähnlichkeiten in der Art und Weise, wie die Menschen auf die Pandemie und die daraus resultierende politische Reaktion reagierten, zu identifizieren, sondern auch zu verstehen, warum. Diese Ergebnisse sollten wertvolle Hinweise für die Pandemievorsorge, -prävention und -eindämmung in den untersuchten Ländern und darüber hinaus liefern.

Dr. Ruth Horn leitet den französischen Arm dieser Studie, zusammen mit Dr. Marie Gaille (CNRS). Diese Untersuchung ist Teil einer longitudinal, qualitativen und multinationalen Studie zu Solidarität in Zeiten einer Pandemie unter der Leitung von Professor Barbara Prainsack von der Universität Wien.

 

UK-FR GENE (Genomics and Ethics Network)

2018 kündigten Frankreich und Großbritannien eine verstärkte Zusammenarbeit zwischen Genomics England und dem französischen Projekt Médecine Génomique 2025 an, um einen weltweit führenden öffentlichen Dienst für genomische Medizin zu schaffen. Das erfolgreiche Erreichen dieses Ziels erfordert die Entwicklung gemeinsamer Ansätze, nicht nur zur Standardisierung der neuen Technologien, sondern auch zu ethischen Standards in Forschung und Praxis.

Zum ersten Mal werden zwei öffentlich finanzierte Gesundheitssysteme den Einsatz der Ganzgenomsequenzierung in die routinemäßige Patientenversorgung einbinden; dennoch basiert jedes System auf unterschiedlichen Werten und Prinzipien, die zu unterschiedlichen Wegen der Implementierung neuer genomischer Technologien in die klinische Praxis führen. Um gemeinsame Ansätze für eine gute ethische Praxis zu entwickeln, benötigen wir ein klares Verständnis der bestehenden Debatten, Vorschriften und Praktiken sowie der zugrunde liegenden Normen in den einzelnen Ländern.

UK-FR GENE bietet eine Plattform, auf der (bisher) britische und französische Forscher und andere Akteure auf diesem Gebiet über ethische und soziale Fragen der Genomik-Technologien und ihrer klinischen Anwendung nachdenken können, die im jeweiligen nationalen Kontext auftauchen. Ziel ist es, drängende ethische Fragen in jedem Land zu identifizieren und ihre soziokulturellen und normativen Grundlagen zu verstehen. Die Erforschung dieser Fragen aus einer vergleichenden Perspektive wird es uns ermöglichen, ein neues Licht auf sie zu werfen und mögliche Lösungen anzubieten, die an den jeweiligen Kontext angepasst sind. UK-FR GENE schafft die Möglichkeit, gemeinsame Forschungsagenden, Kooperationsprojekte und Förderanträge zu entwickeln, die zu wichtigen Ergebnissen führen werden, die ethische Standards bei der Nutzung genomischer Technologien und deren Implementierung in die klinische Praxis in Großbritannien und Frankreich beeinflussen.

UK-FR GENE wurde 2018 von Dr. Ruth Horn, zusammen mit Dr. Marie Gaille (CRNS), initiiert.

Gerne möchten wir das Netzwerk ausweiten und Forscher und Akteure aus Deutschland und anderen Ländern miteinschließen. Bitte kontaktieren Sie Dr. Ruth Horn, wenn Sie mehr über unsere Arbeit erfahren möchten.

Das UK-FR GENE Position Statement finden Sie hier:  The ethics of genomic medicine: redefining values and norms in the UK and France | European Journal of Human Genetics (nature.com)

 

Betreute Doktorarbeiten

Ömer Akif (TU/LMU): „mHealth in der Diabetologie: Eine quantitative Studie zu aktuellen und zukünftigen Möglichkeit und Herausforderungen“ 

Tanja Greiderer (LMU): Interviewstudie zur Arzt-Patienten Beziehung im Kontext von mHealth

Dominik Haselwarter (LMU): Ethics of medical care for asylum seekers in public hunger strike: A qualitative interview study.

Suche